We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was expecting more...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Morimoto

Morimoto
501 E. Camino Real, Boca Raton, FL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 624 Restaurants in Boca Raton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
647 reviews 647 reviews
457 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
427 helpful votes 427 helpful votes
“I was expecting more...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I was really looking forward to having a meal at Morimoto's on this recent trip to Boca Raton. I am a fan of Chef Morimoto and I was kind of expecting to be "wowed".
First off the restaurant is tiny and right off the lobby of the Boca Raton Resort. It is colorful with a screen over the sushi giving the illusion of a huge aquarium. It is modern and was kind of fun.
I waitress was very nice and made us feel welcome.
The one thing that did happen during our dinner was that the female manager came out on the floor and was trying to schedule a meeting with the staff for future dates. The restaurant was pretty empty, but at least 3 tables had guests and someone was sitting at the bar. She was really loud and was talking across the restaurant getting everyone to commit on a meeting time and date. I understand this is important restaurant business, but please do it in private and off the floor. It was really annoying.
Next I can't complain about the sushi, it seemed fresh, I got what I ordered, but there was zero WOW factor. It was exactly the same as what I get at my little sushi joint back home. The prices were higher, but presentation and quality of the food was the same.
Maybe I was expecting too much, although I ate my meal, liked the service and decor it was not a meal I will remember a month for now - very average (except for the price).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fresh and amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Let me say that if you are a sushi lover you will taste the difference in the amazing fresh sushi!! You need to be a member of the Boca Raton Resort or you need to be a guest of the hotel to eat here. It is more expensive that I am used to paying but you get what you pay for! Chef Morimoto is friendly and he never minds a quick picture .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“sushi for you sushi for mi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

not the least expensive sushi and atmosphere is lacking but a good small casual place to dive into after a day in the sun. Edamame was good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful room with with excellent food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I had the pleasure of eating here while staying at the hotel. The sushi was definitely better than most sushi restaurants I have been to, and I do eat a lot of Sushi. It was definitely pricier than most, too. Some of the presentation was just beautiful. We had a sampling of different things, including uni, quail eggs and octopus. The hamachi was like butter!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
418 reviews 418 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Fantastic culinary experience with chef in house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Nestled in the Boca Raton Resort, Morimoto's provides the quintessential sushi bar experience. The chef himself was in the house preparing food. This was a special treat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morimoto also viewed

 
Boca Raton, FL
Boca Raton, FL
 

Been to Morimoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morimoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.