We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hot Mess” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Rebel House

The Rebel House
297 East Palmetto Park Rd, Boca Raton, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 624 Restaurants in Boca Raton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: http://www.southfloridafoodandwine.com/2012/06/a-pictorial-first-peek-at-rebel-house-boca-raton.html
Stamford CT
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“A Hot Mess”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

First, the good. Younger than average Boca crowd, a good bar scene, decent group of people trying to celebrate and have a good time. I'd say come here for the drinks and the scene which is just as good as most places on Atlantic Avenue. The food is just not very good. I think the issue is that the chef is trying too hard to combine too many flavors to make the menu interesting. The end result is a bunch of choices that are not appealing or that taste good. Everything we ate is over sauced and over salted. As for the service, although it was a busy holiday week, the waitstaff couldn't keep up. They say they deliver the food as it is ready but I think it is an excuse for the kitchen which also can't keep up. We were a party of 4 and the 4th entree came out 15 minutes after everyone else was done. The waitstaff was courteous and apologetic but even after being in business a year, they still don't have their acts together. It's a cool scene and I am glad not to have to run to Atlantic Avenue all the time, but I am not sure I would go back except maybe for a drink. Disappointing because the concept is good but the execution is not and they've had enough time to work out the kinks.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    53
    19
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Food is good - service is not.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I've been here 3 times and every time they sit us in a corner in anticipation of a crowd and then rush us out for the next patron. They are not shy about asking you to leave either. They actually discouraged us from ordering dessert because they had someone else waiting for our table!!! I won't go again.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coral springs
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My husband and I went there on a Sunday night with a HUGE party! There was roughly 30 of us! The menu was preordered (wings, amazing salads, some kind of tuna tartar, the list goes on and on) outstanding kudos to the chef! Jimmy and I believe Mike were our servers and they couldn't have done a better job! They even knew majority of our names. Keep up the work! We live in coral springs and will be returning soon!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun and great scene!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great bar with all the fresh herbs and great wine list. Really enjoyed the interesting takes on the fried rice and grilled cheese. Got the osso bucco which was cooked perfectly!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hip & vibrant - food is just ok. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This is a hip happening place, and has a coolness factor. Food is just ok, nothing special or inventive. The flavors are just not there and they have a somewhat presumptuous approach to the menu. Just because they source locally does not equate to hight quality or flavors. A few adjustments starting with a decent salad offering, improving ingredient quality and a chef who can cook something without bacon would be a good direction to make this what it could be.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rebel House also viewed

 

Been to The Rebel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rebel House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.