We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of red steakhouse - CLOSED

red steakhouse
1901 Military Trail, Boca Raton, FL 33431
(561) 353-9139
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Glades / Military
Description: An unparalleled dining experience, RED, The Steakhouse, is touted by critics as a universal favorite. After premiering in South Florida in 2008 and becoming an established mainstay among South Beach elite, RED has made its grand debut in Boca Raton and is raising the bar on the culinary scene. Choose from a variety of the finest of cuts Certified Angus BeefR, fresh fish flown in daily from all over the world, local ingredients, imported specialties, seasonally selected vegetables and a wine list featuring over 500 personally selected bottles, including two private labels. With a trend setting appeal, quality, sophisticated ambience and inimitable cuisine - there is no denying that RED is haute.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

The food was amazing, the atomosphere was great. The only problem I had was we had reservations for my neighbors 90th bday and we had to wait quite a long time to be seated. Anyone knows that having a 90 year old wait is liking having a 2 year old wait for anything. Other then that it was great. I think the hostesses should have made her more comfortable and they really could careless.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    2
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Closed for good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This restaurant closed last month. This restaurant closed last month. This restaurant closed last month.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
644 reviews 644 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Closed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Red was very good but Boca didn't need another steakhouse. It's sister restaurant next door Rosso closed months before red.

They still have a Miami Beach location

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“no more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

restaurant closed It was never very busy enen though the food was actually decent. Maybe too many steakhouses in Boca

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very, very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The steaks were nice but this restaurant charges top steakhouse prices and does not offer the service! We arrived for our reservation and were shown to our table by a very pleasant hostess, so far so good! We then sat for 10 minutes without any attention whatsoever! No water, no drink order, no bread absolutely nothing. I asked a waiter to send over the manager and again nothing! Finally I saw the manager walking the restaurant and called him order and told him the situation, in fairness to him he took charge for the drinks orders and water. At that point we finally saw our waiter for the first time, he introduced himself and proceeded to tell us the specials. He omitted to tell us that several of the menu items were not available until we tried to order them. On a side note we had our 7 year old daughter with us this restaurant does not offer any kids dishes whatsoever so for her to have her own meal it was a $40 steak! Once we ordered the food it came in a timely manner and was cooked well the steaks were tasty but the side sauces Au poivre and mushroom were, frankly, tasteless. The deserts were very nice and probably the best part of the meal. Oh did I mention that I had to pour my own wine each time there was an empty glass. This was, including tip, a $400 meal for 4 people at those prices everything should be 5 star white glove and it was frankly light years from that. If you are looking for a high end steakhouse in Boca I would not recommend Red it was disappointing to say the least. On a final note after the initial interaction with the Manager we did not see him again he did not check back with us once, sad really these are the basics

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed red steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage red steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.