We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lotsa food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matteo's of Boca Raton

Matteo's of Boca Raton
233 South Federal Highway, Boca Raton, FL 33427
(561) 392-0773
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Matteo's of Boca Raton is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #132 of 682 Restaurants in Boca Raton
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Matteos bring's a taste of Italy right here at home. The Sorrentino & Sbarro families from New York have been serving delicious platters of Italian comfort food for the past 25 years, and continue to do so at all of their nine landmark locations from New York to Florida. Eating dinner at Matteos is always an event whether with that special someone, the family or everyone you know. Contact us for your next party. Take out will never be the same once you take our intensely fresh cooking home to enjoy.
ny
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“lotsa food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good food and plenty of it. Go with friends to share. Even then you'll end up taking a doggy bag home.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    4
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roslyn, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Went there for a 90th birthday party. The food was excellent and so was the service. We were steered in the right direction when I had to order for 15 people. I would recommend this place. My one problem was that it was very loud. Go for the food not the ambiance . Also the food is delivered "family style"

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“The wine was good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Another busy Boca restaurant where the owners/managers run around looking stressed while their understaffed workers do their best to keep up. It took 40 minutes to get a bottle of sparkling water to the table. You really can't blame the waiters, the old folks that frequent this place like to chat and review each menu item before making a choice and the busboys have been told that they can only clear plates, not bring water to the table. The food? If you go in expecting really good Italian food you will be disappointed. The food is okay and the portions are huge. I won't be back here, but if you're going I would recommend sticking with real simple dishes. The salad was good and our wine was great.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“fantastic italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Matteo;s is one of the best italian restaurants in south florida and the portions are humongous and should be shared,,,
my favorite menu items are the artichoke, the chopped salad with cheese and salami, the veal francese and the spaghetti with meat sauce..
the waiters aren't the friendliest but come for the food, and make a reservation..

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Matteo's Bring a hearty appetite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We went with friends last night, started with the baked clams- OUTSTANDING, they were wonderful. Full of garlic and very tasty. In addition to the clams we ordered the chopped salad, not impressed, as they used head lettuce. However from there our friends ordered the fried zucchini - it had a very light breading and was not greasy at all. From there we ordered a full order of eggplant parmesan , ( very good ) and chicken with peppers and sausage.. While the dish was abundant, the peppers were of all colors, sausage was good, but I found the chicken to be overdone. The service was amazing, everything was delivered hot and to order. The one thing we thought was strange was the whole order had to be placed at once, we could not order our salad and appetizer and then the main course, but had to order all at once, found this to be weird.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matteo's of Boca Raton also viewed

 

Been to Matteo's of Boca Raton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matteo's of Boca Raton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.