We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Go! Authentic Italian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caruso Ristorante - CLOSED

Caruso Ristorante
187 S.E. Mizner Blvd #38 & 39, Boca Raton, FL 33432
561-367-7488
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: US1
Oxford, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Must Go! Authentic Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The manager came around a couple of times to see how we were doing. We were serenaded during dinner. We had our 2 year old granddaughter with us who had her heart set on pizza. They do not serve pizza but they "whipped one up" for her. It was delicious! Food was delicious.... but the ambiance and service made it unbelievable. Will definitely return!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, ca
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Huge portions of delicious food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Loved the food! Huge portions. Great eggplant parm, very thin eggplant in a very very nice sauce. Service was only okay. Food was worth it. Portions would have been enough for 3 people!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, CA
1 review
“Each dish is impeccably crafted on the spot and is consistently spot on.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Having only visited Caruso's Ristorante once before to ring in a New Year, I suggested a return visit to a journalist who writes for the Handelsblatt, the German equivelant of the Wall Street Journal.

While awaitng our table an apertif was suggested in the adjacent Bar Rouge. The size of a walk in closet; the mini bar and ample private chefs table boasts an impeccable selection of hand-crafted single malts, grappas and cognacs.

For the multi-course meal to follow expectations may be kept exceedingly high. The proficient waitstaff, donned in starchy white shirts and floor length aprons, is at the ready to serve a superlative selection of authentic Italian dishes paired with an inventive wine and prosecco list provided by Fabio of Tuscany Distributors.

The menu selections are predicated on seasonal availability and represent a vast variety of distinct Italian regions. Each dish is impeccably crafted on the spot and is consistently spot on. On this particular night the Farrotto with fresh Porcini was redolent with black truffles enough to make one swoon. With offerings from Milano to Molise the au courant guests dip and dive while sopping up the last morsels of marrow spooned from the Ossobuco alla Milanese con Risotto alo Zafferano. Talk about signature dishes.

Caruso’s is an ‘insiders’ place that wishes to remain decidedly under the hoi polli’s heat seeking radar. Signage at Carusos would be redundant. This is a destination restaurant, no GPS required. Guests gravitate to Carusos by way of global word-of-mouth. For example, one regular is the founder of Arizona Iced Tea. He mentions the place to a CEO golf buddy whose friend, L’Pro Eddie Merrins happens to be in from Bel Air to be inducted in the PGA Hall of Fame. Whether in from Bel Air, Manhattan, Rome or Aspen, “Check out Carusos Ristorante in Boca” is a constant refraim among those in the know.

In an intimate room that seats 45 guests, the commraderie is palatable. Gina Caruso , a northern Italian beauty, by way of Chicago, takes strident steps to work the room like a seasoned maestro. She is donned in a form fitting Pucci dress with deep green eyes to match. She keeps her guests enthralled with an expression so attentive that one would believe they are her reason for living.

The coming and going of gourmands, foodies, scions, luminaries and movie producers could easily fill a page in Vanity Fair. As the night gained momentum the dinner parties became a bit more boisterous. A steady stream of new arrivals became instant members of an extended family that harkens back to the mid last century when Gina's grandfather founded the original Caruso's in Chicago.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A touch of modern Italy that's sure to please”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

With gift coupon in hand, we ventured to Boca Raton, land of a thousand restaurants. We arrived early and for about an hour, we were the only customers. We were greeted warmly and, of course, had our choice of tables. The menu is varied with traditional dishes cooked in the style of different districts in Italy. First we were presented with excellent breads with olive oil already on the table. I started with the a very tasty tortellini soup. We then shared the fettuccine bolognese- it's ok but not the best meat sauce I've had. My date had the petti di pollo alla Napoleton and I picked the vitella a la marsala. The chicken dish was very good but the veal was outstanding.
Service at Caruso's is very attentive and helpful. We'll be back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Delicious Freshed Cooked Food! Better than Mom!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011 via mobile

First time here. Highly recommend! Great Sweet Potato Chicken soup purée and great walnut, arugula and pear salad.

Also, I had Veal Saltimbocca with spinach and potatoes. It was fantastic!
My sister had shrimp and scallop scampi with sautéed mushrooms. It was flavored perfectly.

This meal was so good and our server was so attentive and pleasant, we will be back!!!

Please try this great restaurant.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caruso Ristorante also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caruso Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.