We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waitstaff inefficiency” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Table 42 - CLOSED

Table 42
399 SE Mizner Boulevard, Boca Raton, FL 33432
561-826-2625
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Waitstaff inefficiency”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We ordered hamburgers for dinner and told our waitress, Brittany, that my husband cannot eat seeds,so please use two bottom buns for the cheeseburger instead for the sesame seed top. Of course, the platter came with a sesame top, so we sent it back. After waiting for some time, she brought it back and, luckily, my husband looked at the bottom bun. It was the sesame bun. This could have been a disaster ending up with a hospital stay. Nobody seemed to care the least, the "we're sorry" from the staff was indifferent. No matter how good a restaurant , it is only as good as it waitstaff and we will not forget this visit, for all the wrong reasons.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Average Food, Poor Management, Won't go Back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had dinner here tonight with relatives who live near the restaurant. We arrived at 5:25, early for a 6 p.m. reservation. The restaurant was virtually empty. We chose to sit outside, as it was a very pleasant evening. The food was O.K., but nothing more than O.K. After we ordered our dinner and drinks, a plate was brought out with five pieces of focaccia bread. Since there were 5 people in our group, the bread was eaten immediately and we asked for some more to be brought. After several requests, the bread was finally brought out. When the food arrived, we again asked for another piece of bread, as one of our party wanted it with her dinner. After asking the server who brought the food to bring the bread, then our waiter, then the hostess, and then the manager, several minutes later the manager came back and apologized, explaining that their bread was baked in the pizza oven and when pizzas were ordered that took priority and no one in the restaurant could be served bread until the pizzas had been taken out of the oven. In addition, when we ordered dessert, we asked for fresh fruit for one of our party who is diabetic. The regular dessert that was ordered was brought to the table (key lime pie with strawberries) to be shared by several people, however, no forks were brought to the table. We asked for forks when the pie was brought and again asked the hostess and then one of our party went inside the restaurant to ask the manager where the forks were since we still did not have any forks. Finally the hostess brought some and the manager appeared with more forks awhile later. In addition, the fresh fruit was never brought for the person who ordered it and we repeatedly asked that it be brought out. Finally, the waiter came back and told us that they only had 5 strawberries in the restaurant and they needed to save those for garnishes on drinks.
We were very dissapointed with this restaurant and, based upon our experience don't understand how it has good reviews.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had Frank who is a great waiter and we had Excellant service. The food was very good and the salad was very fresh. The red loops on the lights are dirty and dusty and should be taken down and washed. While service was great the manager of the night Monday 1/27/2014 was terrible. When he was not yelling and being nasty to the wait staff, he was sitting in the bar area talking to two people. It was very busy and there were better things he could have been doing. Like WORKING and helping out the staff.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca
1 review
“Great Service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We love Frank, he has been there forever and always makes sure everything comes out right. They have a new manager who is really nice and helpful too, food is always %100... this place has been there a while and has always been consistent. I recommend it to any everyone!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Spot!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We had such a nice lunch on the patio!! We had custom made salads, sandwiches and calamari. The complimentary bread and tomato dip were mouth watering and a wonderful way to start our florida vacation!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Table 42 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Table 42, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.