We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best gelato in boca” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonny's Gelato Cafe

Sonny's Gelato Cafe
2151 N Federal Hwy, Boca Raton, FL 33431-7707
561-362-0447
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 653 restaurants in Boca Raton
Cuisines: Dessert, Italian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Sao Carlos, Sp
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best gelato in boca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I lived in Boca for few years, and gelato here was always good. I did try sandwiches (regular) and espresso coffee (not bad either). However, the best is gelato (in my opinion the best in Boca).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    43
    15
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coconut Creek, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Will have to go back for the gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were supposed to meet friends and family, but they had to back out at the last minute, so it wound up just the two of us for dinner.

Service is excellent. Just the right balance of being well taken care of without over intrusion. I got the sense that every single customer is treated as though they're extremely important. That's so rare. The atmosphere is perfect. You can dress up a little or come in shorts and a tee and you feel right at home either way.

I had the chicken pesto panini and a recommended glass of chianti. She had the Sicilian panini. All was excellent. Pricing is right on the mark.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

As all the other reviews have stated this place is the BEST.
We have visited a few times each week and love the flavor s we. Have tried. the best gelato since Flrence, Italy. And the servers are N.Y funny.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Fantastic Gelato!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

What a find! We went twice for gelato and were sorry we couldn't go again! They have a great selection of flavors and are very willing to let you sample as many as you would like. Some of the flavors are unusual, like Spicy Chocolate which has habanero peppers in it (they insist you sample it first)! The blackberry flavor was very strong and tasted like the berries had just been picked--yum!

We have had lots of gelato in many places (including Italy), and Sonny's rates right up with the best of them. And the prices are reasonable--a large cup with 4 scoops, plenty for 2 to share, is $5.25.

Both inside and outdoor seating are available. They also serve lunch and dinner meals, but we weren't there for anything but the gelato. Judging from the crowd in the evening, their meals are good also. On the evening we went, there was an strolling musician in the outdoor area.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best Gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Looking for some dessert after dinner. Stop in at Sonny's gelato cafe. Many great choices to choose from. You can taste any of the selections before your final choice. Also they have great bakery items & an Expresso bar. The gelato is the best around.
They also have food selections as they are open for lunch and dinner. You can dine inside or outside. Dining outside is a most pleasant experience. Once u try this place you'll be back many times.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's Gelato Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sonny's Gelato Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonny's Gelato Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.