We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and rooms, missing something” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boca Raton Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Save Saved
You added Boca Raton Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boca Raton Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   501 E Camino Real, Boca Raton, FL 33431-0825   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $199
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Boca Raton
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and rooms, missing something”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

In town for tennis tournament. Spent over a week at the hotel. The rooms are beautiful. The lobby and common spaces are a amazing. The grounds are terrific. I didn't make it down it the beach club. Hit the restaurants at the hotel. The guacamole was yummy. Of course the food on site is pricey but that's what happens in resorts.

Bernie, in customer service, was always helpful. And we had a good waitress at the restaurant near the golf shop, however, I will say there was something missing with the other staff members. I would expect a more professional staff...from top to bottom. It wasn't there. There was an edge.

I would return. Overall I really enjoyed it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton R, General Manager at Boca Raton Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your tennis tournament at the Resort! Thank you for remembering Bernie for your review. I love hearing when our team members are going above and beyond. I appreciate you letting us know about your experience with the rest of our staff. This is certainly a training opportunity for us. Quality customer service is crucial in a 5 star luxury resort. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future to show you the hospitality you deserve.

All the best,
Kelly Vohs
General Manager
Boca Raton Resort & Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    380
    237
    114
    119
See reviews for
359
361
53
585
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We recently spent a week at the Boca Raton Resort and also at the Beach Club. The service was amazing and the staff went out of their way to provide outstanding service. Ruker at the Seagrille was wonderful and went above and beyond, and Stephanie Rothman at the Luna Bar was also wonderful, so cheerful and polite and remembered us during each visit. We enjoyed Joseph from NY at Lucca's restaurant. The entire staff provided great service and the rooms were wonderful and the grounds are amazing and beautiful.
The only downside is that our Hilton Honors Gold status didnt really buy us anything, so there was little advantage to choosing the Hilton/Waldorf hotel for any preferred status. Bottled water was set out in the lobby for everyone each day, we were paying for our daily internet (normally free) through the $27 resort fee we paid like every other guest, and the continental breakfast for 2 we always get (and got there 3 years ago) was not granted to us as Hilton Gold Members ("we don't do that here"). We moved from a suite in the Tower to a similar suite at the Beach Club for the last two nights, which was nice for us, but we paid $100 per night, so it wasn't really an upgrade as a Hilton Honors entitlement. So we felt a bit cheated and that none of the standard Hilton Honors benefits were really benefits on this particular vacation. They did grant us late check out, so that was helpful. Besides that, a wonderful vacation and a beautiful resort that I highy recommend for a family vacation.

Room Tip: Suites are large and nice. Beach club is modern and the Tower is nice, but not walking distance to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton R, General Manager at Boca Raton Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Betsy,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us. While I'm happy you enjoyed your stay, I'm very sorry you were disappointed with your HHonors perks. We are so grateful for your loyalty to the Hilton brand, and it is so important to us that you feel appreciated. I know you mentioned that you received complimentary breakfast when you stayed with us three years ago, however I just wanted to clarify for anyone reading this review that we were not a Hilton hotel until September 2013. I hope you understand that we are ecstatic to have you in our Hilton Family. I hope we will see you again at the Boca Raton Resort & Club in the future!

Thank you,
Kelly Vohs
General Manager
Boca Raton Resort & Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clairsville, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My family which consisted of 2 teenagers and my mother just spent an amazing week at the Boca Raton Resort and Spa. The whole entire resort is absolutely gorgeous! From the grounds, to the many pools, our room and all the restaurants...I can not say enough. We stayed in the Towers room 1964 which had an amazing view of both the ocean and the waterway where we watched gorgeous yachts go up and down during the evening hours. The staff were all complete professionals....I would like to say a special thank you to Dana at the Beach Club Bar and Grille.
You can tell she loves her job and she was always so happy and friendly each day. She also helped us find some awesome restaurants in both the resort and the city of Boca Raton.

Room Tip: The towers room 1964...amazing view, oversized room, slept 4 very comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton R, General Manager at Boca Raton Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Callie,

Thank you for your positive remarks. I'm so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! I love the view from the rooms in the Tower. It sounds like you all had a very relaxing vacation. We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Kelly Vohs
General Manager
Boca Raton Resort & Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

It is a shame to spend time at such a spectacular property and encounter such awful service. We went for the weekend and loved the setting. The beach is beautiful, the architecture and landscape are truly amazing. The views are breathtaking. However, the operations, the management, the staff ... are generally TERRIBLE! We had to remind our server at dinner that we were at a 5 star hotel, as he muttered under his breath and seemed to dread having to serve. While the food that we ate was delicious, the manner in which it was presented, the attitude of the staff ... was disastrous. It was as if no one cared, as if no one on staff had any experience working at a luxury hotel ... it was all quite strange -- especially since this is part of the Waldorf Astoria brand. We expected so much more but were sadly disappointed and will not return. There are just too many other superb properties in South Florida that we cannot imagine giving business to this hotel. Wish it was not the case but ... overall a bad experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton R, General Manager at Boca Raton Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am devastated to learn that you received poor customer service during your stay with us. As a traveler myself, I understand how quality service can really go a long way in a business. We are looking into the specific examples you gave and will be conducting a training refresher on luxury service. I am going to follow up with you in a private message to discuss further and make things right.

All the best,
Kelly Vohs
General Manager
Boca Raton Resort & Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Diamond member with Hilton. It was our 30 year anniversary and we decided to stop over in Boca from our Belize visit. We visited this hotel on 2 previous occasions over the past 5 years, and had a good experience. This visit was a disaster. We used over 500,000 Hilton points for 3 nights. Booked a specific room in the renovated Tower 6 months in advance. Upon arrival at 8:00 p.m. our room wasn't ready. That was bad enough, but when they put us in a different area of the hotel, we immediately contacted the manager. Of course they did not have a room available in the Tower. They did attempt to accommodate us by providing access to the Executive Lounge. The bar staff was rude including arguing about our Diamond privileges. We just felt like 2nd class citizens during the entire stay. After sending a complaint to the hotel after our visit, they offered us 2 free nights. Why would we want 2 free nights of poor service?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton R, General Manager at Boca Raton Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Keith,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay, and thank you for your loyalty to the Hilton brand. I sincerely apologize for the service you received at the Boca Raton Resort & Club. All guests at this resort deserve 5 star service. I do hope you will give the resort another chance. Despite the issues discussed in your review, I hope you had a wonderful 30th anniversary.

All the best,
Kelly Vohs
General Manager
Boca Raton Resort & Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

service and grounds were excellent. the best fitness center ever at a hotel. Shuttle to beach club, good resturants, like the beach bar and bar at the resturant. Pool was small but grounds were beautiful, great bar at beach club and lots of water sports offer, with full golf course.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton R, General Manager at Boca Raton Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Suzie,

Thank you for your review! I'm so glad that, even though you were traveling on business, you had a chance to experience our fun activities like water sports and golf. We look forward to seeing you agan next time!

All the best,
Kelly Vohs
General Manager
Boca Raton Resort & Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The resort is beautiful and have all the facilities you can think of. Every thing is very clean and beautiful. The staff is extremely kind. Perfect resort for couples and families. Excellent value for your money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton R, General Manager at Boca Raton Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so very much for your comments. I am so happy you had a positive experience at the Boca Raton Resort & Club! We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Kelly Vohs
General Manager
Boca Raton Resort & Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boca Raton Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boca Raton Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 501 E Camino Real, Boca Raton, FL 33431-0825
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Boca Raton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boca Raton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Boca Raton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boca Raton
#6 Business Hotel in Boca Raton
#7 Family Hotel in Boca Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boca Raton Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Tingo, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Boca Raton Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boca Raton Resort, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Boca Raton
The Waldorf Astoria Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boca Raton Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.