We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just for a night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boca Raton Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Save Saved
You added Boca Raton Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Boca Raton Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   501 E Camino Real, Boca Raton, FL 33431-0825   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $249
Ranked #5 of 26 hotels in Boca Raton
Miami
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just for a night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I only needed a 1 night stay in town. The older part of the property had a lot of character and charm. Our room was in this wing and though the buidling was old the property is updated and the room was nice - just a bit small. It ws very clean with everything you need - large closet - cozy robe - iron - Keurig coffee machine with comp coffee.This hotel has a lot of courtyards - places to sit and relax - pools - by the water. Several places to eat and even late at night. We grabbed a bite at the Luna Bar after the concert around 11:30 PM - a bit $$$ (a beer was $7.00) - but you are paying for convenience - the burger ($16.00) and the pizza ($15.00) was excellent. The front desk and valet were very nice and helpful with info on the area. I would recommend.

Room Tip: Take time to walk around the property and admire some of the quaint features from way back...if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    602
    328
    215
    107
    110
See reviews for
299
311
49
485
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This old school, hotel/club has undergone a number of renovations and building additions over the years. Thus this resort is a large sprawling, sometimes confusing, complex with a hodge-podge assortment of architecture, i.e. - Spanish colonial cloister, 1970s pink tower, and the modern glass and chrome beach club. The old cloister is still charming with arched colonnades and beautiful tropical landscaping, though portions of the interior have been redone in “Miami modern” making for an interesting mix of décor – sleek and modern versus ornate and gilded age. Overall, I found the service to be good, but keep in mind this hotel caters to large business organizations, so lots of diverse guests in an around the hotel and grounds. The room and bath were basic luxury but quite comfortable and clean. As a beach bum, the biggest inconvenience for me was the ten-minute shuttle ride to the beach club. The beach was quite nice but beach set-ups so-so. The pools and club deck were enjoyable, but it did get crowded. For best lounging, head to the southern-most pool and ask for Collin. He was GREAT waiter/attendant!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the cloister if you like old world traditional feel. If you like chrome and glass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Beautiful grounds but hospitality leaves a lot to be desired. Good for the off season price and if you use amenities, but staff is unknowledgeable and inattentive.... hotel caters to conference and convention crowd.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BocaGuestRelations, General Manager at Boca Raton Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I apologize that our service levels did not live up to our expectations and luxury standards. This feedback will assist us in our future training opportunities. However, we would like to gather more information so we can take the necessary steps to prevent your disappointment from happening again. Please feel free to connect with us at any time. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel and spa is perfect. Enjoy a massage and relax in the spa for hours. Food delicious and amazing staff. Great to get away for a staycation. They always have Florida resident rates. This place is worth it. Getting a cabana one day is a must. Make sure you ask for Carmen. She is the absolute friendliest person ever! Truly cares about making sure you are loving your stay and are relaxed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We just returned from a five day family vacation at the Boca Raton resort and had a fabulous time. Warmly welcomed by the most helpful bell man ever, he told us about the property and gave us his recommendations both on and off the resort as he took us to our room in the Tower. The room was fabulous with gorgeous views of the marina and ocean beyond. Travelled with two teenage girls and the bathroom was large enough to accommodate all of us.

We took the boat to the beach club two of the five days too enjoy the ocean and activity there. Had two fabulous lunches at the poolside restaurant. You cannot go wrong with the salads. So yummy! The first and last day, we preferred to stay at the quieter pool by the tower and enjoyed the ping pong table and lunch. We ate off the resort for two business suppers with husband's clients in Mizner Park but enjoyed a fabulous meal the last evening at Cielo listening to live music and enjoying the sunset views. We ate breakfast at the palm court several mornings, which was terrific, and opted for Serendipity's grab and go breakfast offerings of fruit and yogurt on the other mornings.

Our experience of the hotel and staff was first rate. Everyone had a smile for us, and the bellman greeted us each morning by name. We will definitely be returning! Thank you Boca Raton Resort!!!

I agree with others though about one thing, the daily parking rate was high when you are a guest of the hotel. It is hard to justify the $27/day especially when the resort is so wonderful that you don't really need to leave it. Unlike some others' comments ~ when we did need to get to the car is was brought quickly with no problem at all.

Room Tip: We were in the tower and the views are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I was there at a convention and thought the accommodations were one of the best! I have been travelling with this group 2 to 3 times a year for the last 5 years all over in & out of the country. This is now one of my favorite places to stay . I also agree with other reviewers, it is better than the Breakers. It has the feel of a Greenbrier or La Reserve de Beaulieu in the setting of Boca Raton.

Our room was in the Cloisters and even the hallways felt inviting and substantial without being gaudy or overly decorated. You can tell the hotel is old, but to me it is a timeless classic in a good way (in the way that people would remark that it would cost a true fortune to replace).

Although it is a huge hotel (1,000 rooms?) It felt cozy with many small shops, quaint bars, restaurants, hallways and seating areas. The newer top floor suites of the Tower had spectacular views and an intimate feel.

The ballrooms were elegant and although they had those hideous dividers that most ballrooms have (we didn't use them on this trip) - The Boca Raton Resort ballrooms felt solidly luxurious and not chintzy in any way. Okay - and on the picky side, even the dinner knives were nice and SHARP! Yay! No ripping my meal apart with a dull knife.

TV was a little weird - to use, but "free" internet was much appreciated. We were on the fourth floor of the Cloisters and had a nice view of well manicured palm tree tops - pretty enough. The room was a decent size, the bathroom on the small side. (Too cramped for 2 people to share at the same time. But then again, I like solo time in the bathroom even if to just brush my teeth!). Closet space was generous enough, but not conducive to two people trying to use the closet area at the same time. Again, this wasn't a problem for me.

The hotel staff was very accommodating and friendly, for the most part.

I would like to visit this hotel as a guest of a smaller group in the future - it seems to offer a lot of activities I didn't take advantage of, i.e. bicycle rentals, gyms, spa, several restaurants, the Beach Club, etc. I did take advantage of sleeping-in late each morning on this trip, without being aroused by loud noises outside my door! However, the house cleaning staff attempted to enter the room even when the "do not disturb" lock was in position.... ? Not sure how to remedy that situation since there were no ugly "Do Not Disturb" signs for the door - but the lock position should have been enough.... Oh well, that would not stop me from wanting to visit again.

We did not rent a car, since all convention activities were on site, but the drive into the resort was very nice and uncomplicated. However, at check-out time on Sunday, the area looked a little crazy although well orchestrated. Once our car arrived, e were given prompt attention and help with our bags.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Before you drive up the tree-lined driveway, you see The Tower. The Cloisters is the stately, formal entrance to this grand property. Our room was in the Tower and we were pleased. We were part of a large group attending four days of social events. We didn't see the rooms in the Cloisters but our friends who stayed there complained of mold. Walking past first floor rooms, the odor was very strong in some places.
Staff was very attentive and friendly. The resort is pricey. There is a $22/day resort fee which does include free wi-fi, in-room coffeemaker, ice (but not bottled water; two bottles were available in our room at $7 each! Walgreens, CVS and a supermarket are all close by. Call a taxi and go there rather than use the mini-bar.). Access to the Fitness Center is included but we didn't go. Bellman fees are included but it seems everyone still tips (our bellman even told us the fee included his tip but we still tipped him; you are only going to use the bellman twice--at most--so why get charged every day?). We did go to the Boca Beach Club for one of our events. This is a much newer property.
Meals were very good for two large banquets although some of the servers were not as attentive.
The public art is very impressive. Don't miss the piece by Patrick Hughes near Bar Luna which "moves" as you walk by.
This is at least our fourth stay over 20 years and there have definitely been improvements. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boca Raton Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boca Raton Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Also Known As:
Boca Raton Resort, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Boca Raton Resort, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Boca Raton
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Boca Raton Resort
Address: 501 E Camino Real, Boca Raton, FL 33431-0825
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Boca Raton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Boca Raton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Boca Raton
#5 Business Hotel in Boca Raton
#6 Family Hotel in Boca Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boca Raton Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Amex, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Boca Raton Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boca Raton Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.