We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trulucks

Trulucks
351 Plaza Real, Boca Raton, FL
(561) 391-0755
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Trulucks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 624 Restaurants in Boca Raton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: We invite you to escape to Truluck's. A getaway for the senses. Come savor the freshest Crab, direct from our own fisheries. Delight in our fresh-catch seafood menu or select tender, juicy steaks prepared to perfection. Then complement it all with delicious wines by the glass and bottle.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

One of our favorite restaurants. Whether you go for a happy hour bar experience, a Monday night "all you can eat crab special" or a higher end dining experience this is the place that will not disappoint.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    60
    22
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Food, Good Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We live in Boca and go here every now and then, its a little pricey but worth it every time. Great drinks and atmosphere. Not sure about during the week but on the weekends they have a piano player that sings and usually quite good. The bar is always packed and lively, a lot of Boca people are very eccentric, fun to people watch. Its in Mizner so there's tons to do after or before....drink, go to a concert, or shop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“GREAT EXPECTATIONS, PRETTY-MUCH MET...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

after reading through the reviews here, one thing is certain.
people come to trulucks with high expectations... in fairness,
when the bar is set to high, it's tough to clear it on every attempt,
since so many variables are in play.
we'd eaten here last november (2013) for our anniversary,
and, our expectations were not only met, but exceeded. not only
was the food of high quality, and very properly prepared (exactly
as ordered!!) but the service was excellent. our server, john os-
borne was clearly an experienced professional. he's a veteran
of the famous 'joe's stone crab' in south beach, one of this planet's
great seafood spots.
we returned last night, for my wife's birthday. the restaurant
was packed...but we were pleased when the host was able to
seat us at one of mr. osborne's tables. once again, he did not
disappoint. given the size of the crowd (it's the season here) we
considered that a great accomodation.
as for our selections...the food at trulucks is top quality stuff...
without question. as for the preparation last night, there were a
couple of 'opportunities' worthy of note.
we ordered a seafood appetizer platter for two...oysters (raw),
shrimp, stone crab claws, etc. stone crabs are one of the ocean's
great pleasures, but they do have thick shells. cracking them is
truly an art. unfortunately, whoever cracked the claws on that
platter, as well as on my wife's dinner portion, needs some remed-
ial training. using too much force shatters the shell, rather than
just cracking it...and it pushes shell fragments into the meat. yes,
the taste is still there...but this just makes it much tougher to get
at. at these prices, we expect better. we expect 'an artist with a
mallet!!' he wasn't on duty last night!!
my dinner, a seared 'big-eye' tuna, was requested to be 'very
rare.' while this isn't easy, it was cooked to perfection, exactly as
it was when i ordered it last november. the tuna was clearly fresh,
very necessary, if you're eating it this way, essentially raw.
the parmesan mashed potatoes served with my dinner, were
literally from another planet...they were simply 'out-of-sight' del-
icious. on the other hand, the asparagus i ordered, missed the
mark. anyone who really knows their asparagus, understands
that the bottom of the stalks are tougher..."woody" if you will. it's
necessary to peel them with a potato peeler--that wasn't done in
prep, so i had to just cut them off, and waste the bottoms. this is
another prep thing, that at these prices, should be 'standard op-
erating procedure." it wasn't... kitchen preppers are not so high-
salaried, that this important step should have been 'forgotten,'
especially since dining here will run about $100.00/pp.
all-in-all, TRULUCKS in BOCA RATON is worth the trip. it's
positives far surpass the negatives, which are easy ones to fix.
the product is very first-class, and i've given you a name for good
service. in addition, there is entertainment nightly...and also worthy
of note, is that there is an extensive wine list on wednesday nights,
that is offered at a stout 50% off regular prices. lastly, this restau-
rant is situated in mizner plaza, a beautiful place in east boca raton
well suited for a 'walk-a-bout' after dinner. you'll enjoy it!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

with Truluck's having great reviews and anticipating a 5 star restaurant the 6 of us made reservations...sat at a beautiful table out side with perfect ambiance...Richard our waiter presented the crabs etc...and then it went downhill...We ordered sparking water..a large bottle with one glass for me and no mention if anyone else wanted an empty glass..not so bad...one of us got our wedge salad with out bacon...it wouldn't have been so bad if Richard had the the opportunity to notice..but the worst was ..ordering jumbo crabs($25/claw) that firstly were not cracked properly..nor could be cracked even by Richard...must say that 3/6 had properly cracked claws..mine were hard to eat but I managed and my husband had claws that were not edible...Richard if attentive ...at all... would have offered other claws...for whatever reason ..maybe he was too busy..did not...We left with a bad' taste'..having visited a 5 star restaurant thatt charges 5 star prices...does not offer 5 star service...will not visit this establishment again when the choices in Boca are so many...Wendy Wilder Winnipe

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Nicely Done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Is very nice to dine at a place that meets the expectations of Boca prices. Everything was flawlessly prepared and presented. The place is very busy so service was just a little slow at times, but is easily one of the best in Boca.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trulucks also viewed

 

Been to Trulucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trulucks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.