We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and delicious food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach Bar & Grille

South Beach Bar & Grille
777 Gulf Blvd, Boca Grande, FL 33921
941-964-0765
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 17 Restaurants in Boca Grande
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great views and delicious food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We ate here last night and enjoyed delicious food in a lively atmosphere. The grouper and shrimp and snow crab steam pot was fantastic and the burgers were also delicious. It's a place I 'd like to come back to without kids- the bar looks awesome!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    108
    35
    22
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Not the place they think it is!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This place is terrible. We were told about it by friends, but oh, what a disappointment! The whole place was dirty and I am not sure why we stayed. The service was appalling, the food grossly overpriced for what in essence was very average beach cafe fare! There is no point discussing what we had as nothing is worth discussing. Seriously. I am sure the view is good at the right time but there must be better places in the area. Awful!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food is poor, but expensive-the service worse”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This restaurant obviously thinks that because it's on the beach it doesn't have to try. We went for dinner and ordered the conch fritters and coconut shrimp just to try things out. That was enough. Our drinks were flat with hardly any ice. The portiions were small. The shrimp were over fried and the curry dupping sauce a soupy mess. Not much conch in the fritters either. And all of it was delivered to (one dish practically tossed onto) our table with a couldn't-care-less attitude.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montana
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Nice Location and Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We ate inside as Red Tide was causing everyone outside to cough. It would be lovely to sit outside as it is right on the beach and very scenic. We ate the Ultimate Grouper sandwich and the Seafood Strudel. Both of which were very tasty.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great view, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Busy spot with parking issues but great beach and view of the gulf. Menu choices were the usual for a Floridian beach restaurant with some added daily specials. The beer was cold and our server was friendly. The place was extremely busy so she apologized for the slow arrival of our orders. The Ultimate Grouper sandwich was big enough to share (which we did!) and was quite tasty.....grilled fish with roasted tomatoes, capers, etc. The Buffalo chicken sandwich was also good. Sandwiches came with fries and a dill pickle spear. The Seafood Strudel was mediocre, sounded great and looked great, but mostly a bit of seafood in a very creamy sauce. The person who ordered it would not have it again. It was served with a rice and orzo pilaff. Prices were high for what you got. $16.00 for a sandwich seems a bit much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Beach Bar & Grille also viewed

Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to South Beach Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach Bar & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.