We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canceled.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Boca Boat Cruises

Boca Boat Cruises
5800 Gasparilla Road, Boca Grande, FL 33921
888-416-2628
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: 31' Eastern Boat, holds 13 passengers for an intimate lunch or sunset cruise. While traveling through the Boca Bayou and Boca Grande Isles our captains will point out different homes and businesses of interest, along with any wildlife we see. Usually dolphins jump in our wake, so make sure you bring a camera. Some of our normal destinations include Cabbage Key, Useppa, and Captiva islands. We also do private tours upon request.
Central Indiana
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Canceled.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We scheduled a sunset cruise on our last day on Boca Grande. Unfortunately the cruise was canceled a half hour before we were to board. We had watched the boat go out twice that day but they said they had engine trouble. Disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph Y, Captain at Boca Boat Cruises, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
I apologize for having to cancel your trip at the last minute. The mechanic found a faulty oil cooler that could have ruined the transmission and engine if we didn't fix immediately. Parts were not available locally, and I drove to the east coast of FL so we could have the boat running for Sunday. I hope you visit Gasparilla Island again, and when you do you'll schedule a trip with Boca Boat Cruises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    2
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Looked a dolphin in the eye!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I, snowbirds, have taken many boat tours here in South Florida, but I have to say this was my favorite boat ride. The Katara only takes on about 9 or so people at a time and everyone gets a birds eye view of the water and the many dolphins, about 10 or 11 for us... I always count! It is always so great to see the dolphins playing in the boat wake and one almost jumped in the boat!! We don't own a boat ourselves, but I remember the sound of those motors and feel of the salt spray from when I was a kid. Great memories. Captain Dan and First Mate Kathleen were competent and knowledgeable. We had a wonderful time:)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dolphins galore.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

6 of us took the halfday tour and loved it . Capt Ralph and Marla were so accommodating . They went out of there way to be sure we saw the dolphins and white pelicans. The price was very reasonable. Make sure not to miss this trip to cabbage cay on bocaboat@com. You will not be disappointed

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Boca Boats - A Must Do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

If you're vacationing anywhere near the Port Charlotte area on the Florida Gulf, a trip on Boca Boats is an absolute must. We took a half-day trip to Cabbage Key, which is a wonderful place to have lunch, then explore the island , or just sit and enjoy the sunshine. But the main reason you should take a trip on Boca Boat's "Katara" is that Port Charlotte Harbour's dolphins absolutely love the vessel. Forget about watching captive dolphins performing shows, just let Captain Ralph open up the Katara and watch these wonderful animals chase the boat and put on a show in front of your eyes in their own environment. After year's of staying in the area and meaning to take a trip, but not quite getting around to it, we made it two in six days, by taking a brilliant dolphin escorted sunset cruise the following week. We will certainly be taking more trips with Boca Boat Tours in 2013.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boca Boat Cruises also viewed

Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Boca Boat Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boca Boat Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.