We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natures beauty, history, and a treasure of Florida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gasparilla Island State Park

Gasparilla Island State Park
via the Boca Grande Causeway at C.R. 775, Boca Grande, FL
941-964-0375
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 attractions in Boca Grande
Type: State Parks
Attraction Details
Tarpon Springs, FL
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Natures beauty, history, and a treasure of Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I am a lighthouse buff and I came here basically to see the Port Boca Grande Lighthouse. I visited this very interesting place of historical significance and learned a lot about this area and how it was settled, and of course the history of the lighthouse itself whch ws built in 1890. The lightouse and adjoining structures are maintained well and are in very good condition for thier age. There is a museum in the lighthouse structure. I also looked out from the porch of the light and saw the beautiful long white sandy beaches of the park and the many people and families enjoying themselves on the beach and at the park's picnic areas. The water was a green turquoise color like often seen in the keys of the Bahamas. There is a $3.00 entry fee per car on the honor system and the parking is somewhat limited and more difficult to find in early afternoons. To my knowledge, this lighthouse is only one of 6 open to the general public in Florida.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    18
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Port, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lighthouses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just went there in Feb. Went with a group from church and had a very enjoyable day. After eating lunch nearby, we toured the lighthouse and had a guided tour of beach area. Very nice.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great place to visit by Boat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

A beach by boat is a wonderful thing. You feel it is private but there are bathrooms, BBQ grills, and a covered pavilion.
Plan a trip here!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Fine beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The beach was white sand against a touquise sea and plenty of room to rove even during spring break season. I love the peacefulness and beauty in the morning (before noon) when you can enjoy the birds playing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Shelling extravaganza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Wonderful clean beaches. Not touristy like other spring break Florida beaches. More of a nature experience. Lots and lots of shells. We saw dolphins and star fish. Great mini getaway.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasparilla Island State Park also viewed

Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gasparilla Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasparilla Island State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gasparilla Island State Park to your Saves list