We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informal and Inexpensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barnacle Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Pine Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barnacle Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Barnacle Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1557 Long Beach Road, Big Pine Key, FL 33043   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Big Pine Key B&B and Inns
Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Informal and Inexpensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is the place to stay if you don't want to deal with the problems in Key west. It was quiet and secluded, yet convenient. We stayed her for 3 days in February 2013. The place isn't perfect, but it was clean and friendly. The worse part is the smell from the ocean weeds, but it's not there all the time, and it's the Keys, so it's acceptable. The food was great and the owners helpful

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    40
    16
    20
    17
See reviews for
13
125
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at The Barnacle in July. Loved the place and the peace and quiet was another great perk. Eric and Tia made us feel very welcomed and made sure we had everything we needed. Eric is a great cook and breakfast was always an enjoyment too. We even met the owners (Eric's parents) and they were just as hospitable and welcoming as Eric and Tia. This was an amazing honeymoon. The kayaks, the bikes, the walking around and seeing parts of the island was perfect Seeing all the Key Deer was also a treat. Eric and Tia, thank you both so much for the great week!

Will try to get back down as soon as we can! There was only one downside. We stayed in the Cottage and I could not figure a way to get that mattress home with me. Haha. Those were the best night's sleep I have ever had, I think. Amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We loved this place! Granted, we are folks who enjoy camping and nature. Eric is awesome and cooks a great, from scratch, breakfast. The views are fantastic. Key Deer, Iguanas and all sorts of awesome birds abound. It's the Keys so bugs and sea weed are what they are. We thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary Kayaks (bikes too but we never got to that). We'll surely come back here when we next visit the Keys. Thanks Banacle family!!

Room Tip: Atrium area has the best view!! Love the open air garden!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in April after a couple of nights in Key West. What a contrast between the two. The Barnacle offers peace and tranquility, and given that the other guests went out early on our first day (before breakfast time) it felt like we had the place to ourslelves. The place was very informal and several miles from shops, bars etc,.Our room had a superb ocean view and the key deer came up to our patio each evening. The deer are beautiful, gentle creatures and it was wonderful to see them at such close quarters.The sunbeds and loungers that were provided were very comfortable. We made use of the bikes and kayaks (with a bit of help from Eric as far as the kayak was concerned). We also used the hot tub. Our only criticism was that the wi fi signal was poor in the room we had but that was a minor issue and didn't stop us enjoying our time there.

Room Tip: The Ocean Room has a beautifull view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolves, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at the Barnacle in September 2012 and I believe this place is worth a review although six months on it is difficult to know exactly what to write, the mixed reviews about this place go some way to explaining how differently people will view this guest house.
Having visited the US on many occasions we have rarely stayed in bad accommodation, but we have never stayed in anywhere quite like the Barnacle. If you want 5 star accommodation or somewhere close to shops and bars this is not really the place for you. The Barnacle is situated several miles along a secondary road off the main overseas highway in what would be described as a quite residential area. I dont think you will find another building quite like the main guest house building it was certainly undertaken by a builder with excentric tastes.
You would have to agree that the buidling and grounds could do with a lick of paint but we expected that from previous reviews and it certainly added to the charm of the place. The small beach is very course sand and rock but it is lovely to sit there in perfect peace and tranquility with a cold drink and watch the sun go down especially when the diminutive Key Deer walk past looking for tit bits.
Eric who is the son of the owner looked after us during our stay and was very helpful and knowledgeable to any questions we had to ask, the breakfasts he produced each morning were pretty marvellous too. Breakfast is served on a communal table with other guests which might not be everyones cup of tea but we always think this is very pleasent to share conversations with others over breakfast.
The bedrooms were very large and matched the quirkyness of the building, with good air conditioning and bathroom facilities and although again some areas might be in need of repair there were no major issues for complaint.
If you stay at this guesthouse and enjoy a good beer I would recomend the 'No Name Pub' with some great micro brews and pub grub to write home about. Several bikers from the bikers 'poker run' had travelled back from Key West to visit this popular hostilery. Unfortunately you would need to drive there so someone will have to miss out on some unique ales.
On the negative side you cannot swim at the Barnacle the seaweed and very muddy sea floor dont make attempting to swim enjoyable. The sea weed on the beach has been mentioned before and it wasnt too bad when we arrived but had trebbled following an overnight storm there is really nothing that can be done about this so just enjoy the guesthouse for what is good. I would also add the worst place for sea weed was Bahia Honda which is the most higly rated beach in the Keys.
Alhough we got quite badly bitten in the Keys this visit, we love the Keys and will certainly return. (Eric does supply home made anti bug spray - a nice touch) Would we return to the Barnacle? when you need some quite R&R time after manic Key West or just a peaceful place to stay to enjoy a more authentic view of the Keys then I couldnt recommend a better place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We only spent one night at the Barnacle due to other reservations but we loved it. The Barnacle is an extremely quirky little Florida attraction but it is a great place to stay. The B & B is right on the ocean with it's own little beach area. Key deer wander around looking for handouts in the morning. The cottages are most unusual architecture but are fully equipped and very comfortable. Eric produced a wonderful breakfast in the morning that was more than most will eat and very tasty.

The place isn't fancy but it is very private and comfortable. If you want a good night's sleep and a great breakfast stop by for a visit.

Room Tip: All three of the cottages are wonderful. One on the upper level overlooks the beach. One on the lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Center, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Ocean View Room. It was fantastic, it was very peaceful, and a great location to do some bike riding or kayaking. We had a great time grilling out with other guests, that we just met. The manager Eric is great and will help you with anything that you need. If you are looking for a five star hotel, this place is not for you. But if you are looking for a great low key vacation, to meet some great people, then this place is for you. I will be going back every year to stay here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique in their own way. Make sure to look through all the pictures to pick the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barnacle Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnacle Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1557 Long Beach Road, Big Pine Key, FL 33043
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Big Pine Key
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Big Pine Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Barnacle! We are a bed and breakfast in Big Pine Key, FL which is about 30 miles from Key West. Our place is peaceful and very quaint. A perfect place to get away from the hustle of everday life, but still close enough to Key West to enjoy a day downtown. We pride ourselves on making your stay the most memorable and relaxing experience that you have ever had at a b&b, with excellent gourmet breakfasts and bbq's in the evening to reflect on the days activities while you watch the sun sink into the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barnacle b&b
Barnacle Hotel Big Pine Key
Barnacle Bed And Breakfast Big Pine Key, Florida Keys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnacle Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.