We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful carribean beach in the lower Florida Keys” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Honda State Park and Beach

Bahia Honda State Park and Beach
36850 Overseas Hwy., Bahia Honda Key, Big Pine Key, Big Pine Key, FL 33043
305 872 3210
Website
Improve this listing
Type: State Parks, Beaches
Activities: Camping/rv, Camping
Attraction Details
Athens, AL, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful carribean beach in the lower Florida Keys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The beach at Bahia Honda State Park is one of the most beautiful I have ever visited -- a classic, gorgeous carribean beach. It is pretty special in the Keys, where a sandy beach that is deep enough for swimming fairly close to shore is not the norm. If you want to visit a beautiful sand beach in the Keys, this is where I'd recommend -- it is lovely! The entire park is lovely -- I'd recommend bringing your camera. You can also snorkel off the park beaches. The park runs a boat that can take you out to Looe Key for snorkeling (absolutely awesome!), and you can rent kayaks to snorkel around the gorgeous waters of the park. You can go out on part of the old bridge for a breathtaking view. We have camped at the park in the past and really enjoyed it (do bring bug repellant, though -- you are in the tropics!).

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    752
    277
    80
    40
    37
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stopped on our way to Key West to view the historic railroad bridge. It was amazing to see and the views from the bridge were unbelievable. It was one of the highlights of our vacation. Having read a book about Flagler and the building of the railroad from Miami to Key West made it even more enjoyable. This is a must see if you get the chance to go.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Where's Waldo?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

That's what i was thinking when I saw how many people were there. I'm not a crowd person. We went there to do the reef snorkeling but the reef was invaded by jelly fish that sting... So no diving there.. Now for the bad.. You have to pay to get in. I think it was $8 for my wife and I. But if you leave the park and come back the same day, you have to pay again. Not use to that. I would recommend the reef snorkel place there though if you're on a budget like we were.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A must stop in the Keys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you drive to the Keys, Bahia Honda State Park is a stop you must include. For a small fee you can camp, boat or snorkel this is a great place to do any or all of these. This park has a very good beach and some of the best snorkeling that we found in the Keys. Some great sites of sunsets and the old railroad too.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odiham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice beach and snorkelling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

we went there after spending a few hours at Sombrero beach. Sombrero is free and the snorkelling and sand quality seem pretty comparable to me. However this is a nice spot to just sit, relax, snorkel whatever.

Some great sunset views from the old bridge as well. There is some weed but it wasnt too bad, it wasnt an issue for us enjoying our time there as others seem to have found.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahia Honda State Park and Beach also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Bahia Honda State Park and Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Honda State Park and Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.