We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Water” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Honda State Park and Beach

Bahia Honda State Park and Beach
36850 Overseas Hwy., Bahia Honda Key, Big Pine Key, Big Pine Key, FL 33043
305 872 3210
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Camping, Camping/rv
Attraction details
Punta Gorda, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular Water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stopped here on a kayak fishing weekend. The park admittance was minimal and the accomadations were great. Plenty of parking and the grounds were nicely taken care of. We launched from the Kayak launch on the ocean side. There was several yards of grass that we had to shlep thru but once thru that it was beautiful. The water was clearer that I have ever seen it in the keys. We paddled out a mile or so and caught a few fish but nothing to hang on the wall. Great place to stop.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    864
    318
    85
    41
    40
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sad beach conditions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

LOVE this place. Not right now. We have been here in years past and had the best experience. A hurricane came thru about a month ago and planted 8 feet of Seagrass on the Atlantic beaches. They are currently disintegrating and down to about 3 feet. That being said, the Atlantic side is unusable and makes the whole park smell. I could not even walk to look without gagging it is so strong. I would highly recommend a visit another season, calling ahead to verify the beach conditions. The amenities here are great for a park: gift shop, small food service with ice cream, very nice bathroom/shower facilities. Just skip it for now.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Too much sea grass. Smelly beach on Ocean side”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Spent a day here but not overly thrilled. The history of the park is incredible though. The train bridge was a tremendous site but that's not why we were there. We did enjoy the Gulf side with the kids. The water was clear and warm.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great place to snorkle, lobster and relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Sanspur beach to north is great for snorkling and seeing a lot of fish, rays, lobster and squid. The lagoon side is great for swimming and relaxing as well. It is my favorite state park.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great beaches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Beaches on Atlantic side had some sea weed but still good for surf fishing. Beaches on the Bay side were great for the family swim fans and sun soakers. Lots of rest room and wash down facilities. Great fun stop for the whole family.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahia Honda State Park and Beach also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Bahia Honda State Park and Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Honda State Park and Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.