We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Pine Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge
Save
You added Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge to your Saves list
33000 Overseas Hwy, Big Pine Key, FL 33043   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Naples
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Horrible experience! Stay away! What a rip off they tell you you will be placed on a site based on first come first serve( you cant reserve a specific site)and what's available at that time and then when they have the sites you want they tell you you can't stay on those sites bc they are reserved!! Haha what a joke! Customer service is horrible! They tell you what you want to hear on the phone to get you there and get your money and then screw you once you are there and have no where else to go!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    26
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
39
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We have been camping at BPKFL in the primitive camping area for over 10 years. We keep coming back because of the views of the Spanish Harbor Bridge and Channel especially the sunrises. The Key deer roaming the camp are always interesting watch. The restrooms are the cleanest of any campgrounds we have stayed out and the grounds are just as clean. The campground staff is very friendly and always helpfull. This is a great place to base your stay in they Keys. Bahia Honda a must see is 5 minutes up the way and Key West is 30 miles away. The waters around the bridges are great for snorkling as I always see damsels and lobsters. The horseshoe just up the next key is great for snorkling and fishing. Would highly recommend for a family camping experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Very impressed.
My nephew and I just arrived back home in South Florida after a three night spell in the "rustic camping" area. We booked at the last minute and during a busy spell, hence were ready for just about anything, good, or bad.
A lass in my office (she's about 30) recommended it to me, and I must admit I was a little weary as I'm 58 and was looking to head somewhere where I could have a relaxing, but not boring time.
I wasn't disappointed. All the reviewers who hailed the cleanliness of the rest rooms and the friendliness of the staff etc weren't fibbing. Also, the prices in the shop were very reasonable.
Because of our last minute booking we had to move our tent to a new spot after the first night. There wasn't much noise, but for people (especially in tents) who like a little less of it I'd recommend asking for a site at the ocean view area. It's a walk of an extra few minutes or so to the bath house, but that won't matter for younger people or those who take bikes.
The peeps outside the shop were great too. We met some great characters and were sorry to have to leave.
I'd definitely go back. In fact, my nephew is heading back there within the next few weeks when his dad (my brother) comes over from the UK for a stay with my wife and I in Palm Beach County.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle River, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We camped out at BPKFL for two nights. It was nice little vacation away from it all. We would come back just to see the key deer. They are so sweet and friendly! The nature trail was nice too. Unfortunately, no beach at the lodge, but Bahia Honda is just up the road.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haskins, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is by far the cleanest most accommodating place we have ever stayed. The bathrooms are spotless and you feel at home. The location makes it easy to get out in the day time and enjoy the keys. Everyone that was around us was very nice and the staff was great. The store has everything u need that was left at home. Great place to stay !!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

It doesn't take a particularly exotic person to enjoy the Florida Keys. But, you gotta wanna go there because there's only one way in and out (by land, that is). At Mile Marker 33 hang a hard left towards the Atlantic Ocean and pull into the Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge. Olde Towne Key West is 33 miles further west on US1, but, that's the end of the land line that Henry Flagler had built by connecting the 77 islands from Key Largo to a point 90 miles from Cuba. On this string of pearls hangs a family-run bit of paradise that provides and escape to any and all pleasure-seeking souls who take the time to venture into the Conch Republic. BPKFL offers opportunity upon opportunity to forge romantic memories to couples and foster life-long friendships in the natural environment of the protected national park chains where pirates once sailed (and probably still do today!). Each month of the year reveals a different and cyclical facet of the abundant flora and fauna which live and thrive on these Caribbean shores. Sport-lovers, photographers, fishers and simply anyone who wants a taste of a genuine national treasure, will not be disappointed by living in this loving place. I should know, I've been feasting on it for over 30 years!

Room Tip: You can choose/reserve space according to the size of your party. They accommodate singles to large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenton, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I've stayed at the BPKFL almost annually for about the last 10 years and can't really think of a thing that I would want changed. (Although they used to accept a reservation for the following year without requiring any form of deposit, but that changed a few years back... they now require a one-day deposit when making the reservation. I didn't like it at first, but it's certainly not a deal-breaker!)

For the 'casual' traveler like myself, they offer a couple of different types of accommodations. There's a small motel on site, and to my understanding, a couple of permanently-placed 'mobile' homes that can be rented by the day or week. I've stayed in the motel once, but my preferred lodging is in one of the five loft-rooms that are above the office/store. (They also offer 'rustic' camping space as well as spaces for the largest of RVs, but I've never taken advantage of either. Many of the RV people arrive in the fall and don't pull out until the spring... for them this is their home 4-6 months out of the year.

The loft rooms have a bedroom downstairs as well as a small kitchenette with an oven, stove, full-size refrigerator, and all the pots, pans, dishes and utensils you might need. Upstairs, there's another bedroom with a king-sized bed and a smaller twin-bed, as well as a walk-in closet. There are flat-screen TVs on both floors. The second floor loft has a 'balcony' that overlooks the bed on the first floor.

If you're looking to be 'off-the-grid' for a little while, turn off your cell phone... there are NO phones in the rooms! However, they now offer free wi-fi, which was very nice.

Bear in mind that the loft rooms are above the office/store, and there is no elevator. This is not a handicap-accessible facility, but it's the Keys... from personal experience, I have discovered that there are a lot of places down there that are inaccessible to people in wheelchairs.

Back to the lodging at the BPKFL, it is clean and well-staffed by a bunch of very friendly and helpful people. It is not, however, a "mint-on-your-pillow" kind of resort. You make your own bed, clean your own dishes, and (other than sheets and towels) do your own laundry. Think of it as a home away from home. Except this one has cute little Key Deer (the size of large dogs) wandering around!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge

Address: 33000 Overseas Hwy, Big Pine Key, FL 33043
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Big Pine Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Big Pine Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge (BPKFL) occupies ten pristine acres between the Gulf of Mexico and the Atlantic Ocean. Perfectly positioned in the Middle Keys at MM33, the BPKFL offers a friendly home-base from which to enjoy all the Florida Keys has to offer. The BPKFL has several lodging options to choose from including efficiencies, motel rooms, rustic campsites, electric/water RV sites and even waterfront sites. With a boat ramp and canals, you can put your boat in the water (and leave it in the water) during your stay. This idea of "boat-side" camping gives you the freedom to jump in your boat and go when the mood strikes. Our camp store is stocked with everything you need to be comfortable at camp and out on the water. This includes food, beverages and snacks plus fishing and marine supplies like marine gas, bait and basic water sports equipment. We are one of the few campgrounds in the area where you can come with an empty cooler and get everything you need right on property. Recreation is a big part of life in the Keys and at the BPKFL we have the facilities to help you make the most of your vacation. Play ping-pong, take a long walk on the beach or just relax under a palm tree; do as much or as little as you care to do. From our roof top pool to our calendar of parties and planned activities, BPKFL has something for visitors of all ages. If you need anything at all, please call our office and a member of the Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge will return your call within 24 hours. Whether this is your first visit to BPKFL or your fiftieth, we look forward to sharing out little slice of paradise with you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Pine Key Fishing Hotel Big Pine Key
Big Pine Fishing Lodge Big Pine Key Fla
Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge Florida Keys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.