We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in the Keys” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Run Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Pine Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deer Run Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Deer Run Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Long Beach Drive, Lower Keys, Big Pine Key, FL 33043   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Big Pine Key B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Best place in the Keys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

If you want quiet and comfortable surroundings this is the place to go. We have been guests at Deer Run twice; Jen and Harry provide all their guests a bit of paradise. A delicious vegan breakfast is served promptly at 8:30 am. You will be full till dinner time, so save the muffin starter for a snack later in the day. Deer Run is totally eco-friendly.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
87
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My choice was between paying a lot for a standard hotel in Key West or still a bit more for Deer Run B&B which seems like paradise. And it really is paradise! Upon arrival, two delicious cupcakes were waiting for me in the Eden room (although I was only one), the sea was perfectly flat, the sun was setting, a shark was passing by, as were ibises and a frigatebird. And then of course the key deer were passing by. Breakfast is a treat, even for non vegans and non vegetarians like me. And the room is great as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This B&B was so great that we actually extended our stay there. The rooms are clean and the breakfast was delicious. (Travel tip: save the muffin/scone for late morning snack.) The breakfast is so big we normally skip lunch. This B&B is for someone who is vegan or environmentally conscious. Being upset that it's vegan would be like going to see a romantic comedy and being upset there is kissing.

If you can afford one of the rooms facing the water, take it, it's beautiful and worth the extra money. Harry and Jen were great at suggesting things to do, places to eat, and helping us arrange activities. Their recommendations never dissapointed. We really liked having breakfast with the other guests, talking about what we're doing. We even got another couple to split the cost of a dolphin/snorkeling tour with us. It's really nice to feel like you're making friends with the owners and other guests. Playing with their bird was fun and it was a joy to see so many deer up close. Go on a ''night hermit crab tour'' by bringing a flash light to the bird cage. If we come back to the keys, we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Little piece of eco paradise right on the beach. You most likely get to see many key deer (mini deer!) if you stay here, we surely did. We stayed in the eden room and was satisfied with that. There is a pool and lots of equipment to borrow (we did bike trips!). The bar is set high in terms of environmentally friendly practice, for instance you recycle and compost, there is a vacuum toilet (I've seen them on many boats), the rooms is serviced every third day, the pool doesn't carry the usual chemicals etc.

The breakfast is served at 8:30 with no alternative seating time and all guests sit at one table. The breakfast was delicious, truly one of the best we had on our trip! The hosts are lovely and after some initial awkwardness (cue I'm a shy Norwegian!) it was really nice to learn to know the other guests at the breakfast table. I was happy to see the rainbow flag in the breakfast terrace; always good to know that everyone is warmly welcome. I struggled with bug bites while we were there, the sand flies kept me off the beach. However I'm always the first one to be bitten so don't put too much emphasis on that.

Oh and I almost forgot; we got the best cupcakes upon arrival. Yum!

Room Tip: Eden has see trough curtains so if you are big on privacy chose one of the other rooms. (The garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We wish we had found this place earlier! We only had two nights unplanned on our Florida vacation when we found this little piece of paradise. Unfortunately we could not cancel our upcoming B&B to extend our stay with Jen & Harry as we really did not want to leave. However we will make sure to come back here in the future, probably for a longer stay.
The rooms are great and the whole property is packed with lovely details.

The breakfast was amazing and we enjoyed the time with the other guests on the front veranda with ocean view.

Be careful though: you will most definitely fall in love with the gentle little key deers strolling around the area... And angel and the cats ;-)

The location also is perfect. It's a 5 minute drive to the most beautiful beaches of the Bahia Honda state park (passes are included). I'd also stay at deer runs if you plan to explore key west. It's just a 40 minute drive. And you'll love to get back to this quiet oasis after a tour through key west.

We fell in love with this place! 6 out of 5 stars!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We selected this property based on the amazing reviews & because we wanted to see the endangered Key Deer. If you are an animal lover like me, this B&B is like the Garden of Eden. The Key Deer are so friendly and don't fear humans. It's like going to the Galapagos Islands. Amazing how when an animal is not hunted, that kindness comes back to humans and we can interact with them in such a special manner. In any event, although the Key Deer were the highlight of the trip for me, I couldn't have picked a better place to stay.

The food is phenomenal. Such care and attention goes into each dish. Unless you are the type of person who absolutely must have some type of meat product in the morning, I'm sure you'll love it as much as we did.

Deer Run is a little slice of heaven. Thank you, Jen & Harry, for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Deer Run for 4 nights in June and loved it! The setting is beautiful and peaceful and the food was amazing. Jen and Harry were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and even had a binder in our room with reviews of all the local restaurants sights to see. There were two mornings in which we had to leave before breakfast was served (I really didn't want to miss the breakfasts since they were so good!) but they prepared a bagged breakfast to go for us which was very nice of them! Although I am a vegan (my husband is not but appreciates vegan food), I don't believe any of the other guests at the time we were there were vegan and they all seemed to love the food as well. I also love how eco-friendly Deer Run is, and it manages to be so while still being super comfortable.

The location is beautiful and quiet....we slept so well there! We went to Key West a couple of times which was nice but we were always so glad to return to peacefulness of Deer Run afterwards! I really hope to stay at Deer Run again in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deer Run Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Run Bed & Breakfast

Address: Long Beach Drive, Lower Keys, Big Pine Key, FL 33043
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Big Pine Key
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Big Pine Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Caribbean-style eco-friendly home is a State of Florida Certified green lodge. Nestled in lush native trees on the island of Big Pine, down a private, dead-end street. We’re 2 miles off the highway, directly on the Atlantic Ocean…You won’t find us unless you're looking. Come relax at our amazing oceanfront B&B, feast on our organic breakfasts, and let your worries melt away. All our amenities are included: bikes, kayaks, park pass, aquabike, snorkle equipment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deer Run Bed And Breakfast
Deer Run Hotel Big Pine Key
Deer Run Bed & Breakfast Big Pine Key, Florida Keys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Run Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.