We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Park That Is A Must See” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Honda State Park Campgrounds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Pine Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bahia Honda State Park Campgrounds
Save
You added Bahia Honda State Park Campgrounds to your Saves list
36850 Overseas Hwy., Big Pine Key, FL 33043   |  
Hotel amenities
Winchester, Va
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A Park That Is A Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My family and I visited this park only as day visitors. There is an entrance fee but only minimal. We walked out on the trestle bridge leftover from the old railroad for a beautiful view of the surrounding water and countryside. The sand beach was amazing and the water the clear blue of the tropics. We swam and walked the beach looking for shells of which there were few. We would highly recommend this park to anyone visiting the Keys.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    35
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
41
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Probably 99% of people traveling down US1 drive by here at 60 MPH and don't even think twice about it. Their loss.
This State Park is a gem. Couple of thoughts:
-Night star gazing is the greatest
-You can snorkel or fish right off the expansive beach
-Take the snorkel tour out to Looe Key
-The sandy bottom is perfect for sitting and soaking in the ocean for hours
-The beach is a perfect place for kids to learn to snorkel.
-The staff (Mona especially, but also the volunteers who clean the public areas) are very friendly

Room Tip: Be prepared to commit early - the site go extremely fast! If you are in an RV it doesn't matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We came here to Bahia Honda state park on the weekend of August 3, 2013 for one night camping in a tent, with all our camping equipment we had such a great time, everything was clean, we had a great view, no mosquitos, BBQ place was wonderful, the security at the park was great, we went fishing under the bridge until 1:00am and the Park Rangers were going around checking on us all the time. They are many things to do here, yes it gets a little noise sometimes but after 11:00 you don't here anything. Bathrooms were clean, next time if you have a bicycle take it so you can ride to the other side of the beach. We stayed in the Bay area and loved it. I recommend this to everyone who loves fishing or just the outdoor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the campground in August during lobster season. We unfortunately got a spot next to a very loud group. They had one camper with way too many people for one place. I wish the campground would enforce the quiet hours which are 11-7. Most of the people at this campground have lots of stuff everywhere. I am a tidy camper. I have what our group of 5 needs without excess. We are never loud or bother anyone however, most people aren't. The bathrooms are very clean and not crowded. The showers are great and free no less. The dumpsters and dump station are next to the bathroom and they smell so bad. The campground itself is a beautiful place right on the water. You can walk right to the water and snorkel from your spot. They have several beach areas that are well kept and maintained. It feels very safe. Also, the spots are very big which is probably why they have so many people and cars at most of the spots. I would recommend it if you can get in. Sunsets are beautiful. Found pizza on Big Pine Key that was really good. The place is called pizza works and is next to Winn Dixie. Underseas is a good dive/snorkel shop on Big Pine Key next to Tom Thumb.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

To begin with, we arrived at 3:00 PM but the rangers would not let us check in early. Check in time is 4:00 PM and check out is 11:00 AM which is kind of unfair because if you pay for only one night, you're not really getting a full day.....

The cabins are beautifully situated with lovely views, but they could use a bit of renovating. They are a bit run down and cabin 6 was roach infested. However, the grounds are beautiful, well kept, and the staff courteous though not overly helpful.

Another point: The cabin advertised two queen beds. They were twin and very tight for two people.

Room Tip: Go for cabin number 1 or 6. They are at each end and are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I tent camped here for 5 nights in June. I used to camp here as a kid with my parents, so I wanted to take a trip down memory lane. We stayed in buttonwood.

While some people are complaining about the gravel sites, I actually thought it was nice. We didn't track sand or dirt into the tent, and the gravel was small enough that it didn't poke through the tent floor and hurt our feet. Also, when we were packing up, the bottom of our tarp and tent weren't too dirty/sandy so I didn't have to work too hard to clean it up/brush it off.

A few negatives: 1. THE MOSQUITOS AND GNATS. I literally have >45 bites all over me. It's frustrating to dread stepping outside the tent because you know you'll be eaten alive as soon as you do. We went through 2 1/2 cans of bug spray and a few citronella candles, and it still seemed like we weren't doing anything to keep them at bay. I would think the park would spray once in a while to fix this problem. 2. It's really hot. I know that's not something the park can change, but the sites are situated so that they're surrounded on 3 sides by trees so you don't get any breeze whatsoever. And, oddly enough, there's not a lot of shade.

When we first got there, we were greeted by a very helpful and sweet park ranger. Pretty much any employee that we came across was very pleasant. We made sure to visit all 3 beaches, and Sandspur was by far the best. You can walk way down to the end of the island and swim if you want a little privacy, or stay closer to the bathhouses for better swimming. There IS a lot of sea grass on the beach, but it's manageable.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Bahia Honda. I just wish the park would take measures to control the mosquito population. We decided that next time we visit, we'll be sure to be camping in a pop-up to avoid the immense heat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siesta Key, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stay in campsites 58-72... or find another place to camp (Long Key). Thousands, literally thousands, of no see ums bites... itchy, painful and miserably hot on top of it. Our site was in the swampy woods (57) and we could have been anywhere. Not what we expected for staying in the keys. This was her first time here, and we have camped on Longboat Key dozens of times... we much prefer that. The beach was awesome, the snorkeling with fantastic, and the brought our kayak. That was the only redeeming thing about this entire camping trip. It was very disappointing and the bathrooms are disgusting. Make sure you book a site on the water or I'd say, don't go. We actually tried to find a hotel the second night, but literally everything semi-affordable all along the keys was booked and really. expensive. We stuck it out and four days later are still itching like crazy. Worst bugs we have ever seen or experienced.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Honda State Park Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Honda State Park Campgrounds

Address: 36850 Overseas Hwy., Big Pine Key, FL 33043
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Big Pine Key
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Big Pine Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three camping areas in the park provide space for tents and RVs. Some sites are available by advance booking; others are on a first-come, first-served basis. Three cabins are also available and usually are booked well in advance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bahia Honda State Park Campgrounds Hotel Big Pine Key
Bahia Honda State Park Campgrounds Big Pine Key, Florida Keys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Honda State Park Campgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.