We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ocean Becons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Honda State Park Campgrounds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Pine Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bahia Honda State Park Campgrounds
36850 Overseas Hwy., Big Pine Key, FL 33043   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The Ocean Becons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The old saying goes..."the ocean becons and I must follow". This is certainly true at this beautiful state park located in the Florida Keys. Once you step onto this enchanted island you'll feel closer to nature than ever before. My family and I camped here and were able to go kayaking during sunset, then enjoy a nice cookout while looking into the night sky and seeing the starry host, all while being lulled by the ocean. If there's anywhere to hear the ocean call your name, this is it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    30
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
36
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

First and foremost, this place is a hassle to even land a reservation, but once you do, you'll see why. The park is clean, rangers are very nice, the lots are big. I stayed at Buttonwood and although, it was packed with fellow campers, the trees and bushes gave us enough privacy. Love this park, love Calusa beach...sea grass may be prominent especially during summer months, as are mosquitos, or no-see-um's but, welcome to Florida! its a campsite, not a 4 star resort, but thats the beauty of it, you're in nature. All in all, I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Melbourne, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in the BAYS loop which sits right on a little cover with tons of tropical fish. The kids had a blast just roaming around the ankle deep water looking and catching the little creatures in the water. Just a few feet out is a quarry, which is a 40 foot drop, so there's no swimming allowed in here, but the kids could walk around in the shallow part near the 73-75 campsites. There's no electricity, but there is a bathroom a couple of sites down with a toilet and sink. A short drive or bike ride away is the showers. A short drive or bike ride away is also the ability to swim either in the Gulf or in the Atlantic. Highly recommend if you like camping! I've stayed here three times.

Room Tip: Highly recommend campsites 73-75 on the BAYS loop. They also have some nice campsites that go right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Sandspur is the place to camp!!! Although It is really a shame that sites that appeared booked in the reservation system, seat empty for 2-3 nights in a row. These sites are very popular and people book them way ahead of time but when the time comes, campers don't show up and the park staff don't follow up on the status of the reservation as they should.
Stay away from Bayshore and Buttonwood if you want to enjoy nature (vegetation is scarce), and not being surrounded by RV's and lots of people!
If you can't get into Sandspur, better drive 30 miles north as I did, and camp at Long Key State Park!!!! All campsites are waterfront and campfires are permitted. Actually, I wish I knew earlier!!! Because the Park is undergoing renovations, they are not in the Reserve America system (although they will be back soon) and only taking walk-ins. Out of over 60 sites, less than 20 were occupied. Wildlife is thriving since the park has been so quite. The beach is not as nice as Sandspur though.
Enjoy your trip!!!

Room Tip: sandspur sites 62 to 72
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We managed to get one night here on a 5 week road trip and WOW! What a place! We spent most of our time there flopped on the beach, exploring the bridge, kayaking, swimming and snorkeling, which was a treat for us Northwesterners. The campground was really nice - our site even had a view of the water. It was very quiet and the bathrooms were really clean. The rangers at check-in were really helpful and funny, as was the guy at the equipment rental desk. He gave us lots of good information about tides, weather, snorkeling, etc. Good internet at the concession stand as well. We loved our stay here and will definitely be back next time we're in Florida! It was hands down our favorite place in the keys!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Love love love this place 2nd time we've been able to stay here stayed in cabin 4 I couldn't ask for anything better. Easy check in great people, just a beatiful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I've camped here twice now... Once in April, then came back on a whim for Memorial Day weekend when some sites had opened up. How lucky was that?!

Let me begin by saying, the seaweed isn't as bad as everyone says it is.. It's natural and I don't understand why everyone is freaking out over it. When we went kayaking, I walked right right through it a couple of times BAREFOOT while launching/pulling in, and guess what? I'm FINE and still have all my toes! ;) Wear water shoes and you'll be even more fine, I promise (also advisable because of the rocks/coral - your feet will thank you). The smell is slightly offensive at first, but hardly noticeable after a few minutes.

Now that's out of the way, you have to know that this park is heaven on earth. I'm terrified of deep water, but I took the plunge (literally) and went on the snorkeling tour. If you've never been, you really cannot miss out on this. Once you brave the jump off the boat, you feel like you're swimming in a magnificent aquarium! We saw EVERY color and size of fish and coral imaginable, and even a nurse shark. What a cool experience!!

While kayaking, we saw a MASSIVE stingray, about 4-5 feet wide! Elegant creature! We even stopped at an island and explored it for a while, combing for shells.

The campsites here are wonderful. I've stayed in the bay and sandspur campsites.
- The sandspur campsites look like they were carved right out of the lush green trees and feel VERY private, even though they are pretty close together. You can take off your shoes in the sandspur campsites, because they're mostly sand, and some sites on that loop look out toward the beach/ocean, which is amazing.
- The bay campsites are open, with less privacy, but you can watch the sunset over the bay, which is fantastic. We made dinner, brought our chairs out over the railing (shhh) directly by the water, and watched the sunset. The water is crystal clear, calm, and full of sea life. I personally think the bay sites are just as beautiful as the sandspur! They're also much quieter because there are only 5 or 6 of them. :) The sites are (naturally) very rocky, like most of the Keys, however, so you have to wear your shoes.

I also have to say that the staff here is marvelous - both the rangers and the concession staff. We decided to stay an extra night on our first trip because we loved it so much, but we had to switch campsites, all the way from BAY to SSC. We had a vase of yellow flowers sitting on the table at the bay site, and the rangers surprised us by having the vase of flowers sitting on the table to greet us at the sandspur site. VERY sweet!!!

On our last night at Bahia Honda, we took a nighttime stroll down the main road, adjacent to the beach. There were sounds of the ocean and thunder in the distance, a cool breeze, heat lightning far offshore, and fireflies swirling around the trees. Yep, this is definitely my favorite place... Ever. :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bahia Honda State Park Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Honda State Park Campgrounds

Address: 36850 Overseas Hwy., Big Pine Key, FL 33043
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Big Pine Key
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty lodging in Big Pine Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three camping areas in the park provide space for tents and RVs. Some sites are available by advance booking; others are on a first-come, first-served basis. Three cabins are also available and usually are booked well in advance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bahia Honda State Park Campgrounds Hotel Big Pine Key
Bahia Honda State Park Campgrounds Big Pine Key, Florida Keys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Honda State Park Campgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bahia Honda State Park Campgrounds to your Saves list