We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daddy O is a Great Place to Stay in Miami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daddy O Hotel

Save Saved
You added Daddy O Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Daddy O Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9660 East Bay Harbor Drive, Bay Harbor Islands, FL 33154   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Daddy O is a Great Place to Stay in Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Daddy O is a cute boutique hotel that I would stay at again. The hotel is only four blocks to the beach at 96th Street, three blocks from the Bal Harbour Shops for window-shopping, and offers room service from the Palm Restaurant and other delicious nearby restaurants. Make sure to get the bag of donuts from the Palm for dessert. The staff were friendly and accommodating, ensuring I got into my room prior to the 4:00pm check-in time.

If you want to be close to the action of South Beach or the busy areas of Miami Beach, this may not be the right place to stay as it took awhile to get down into the fray via bus and taxi during the busy week I was there (Ultra Fest). But if, like me, you want a peaceful location close to the beach, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are better if you want a good night's sleep on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank You for your kind review of the Daddy O Hotel. It’s through reviews like yours that we evaluate our service and find ways to better provide for you. We do hope you will remember us for any future travel needs as we always enjoy seeing return customers.

Regards,
Daddy O Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    187
    51
    24
    11
See reviews for
69
277
45
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Having just come back from a week in Miami (Mar 23 - 29) and staying at the Daddy O Hotel, we are looking forward to our next trip back. Amenities like the rooms, cleanliness, the amazing king size beds that just seem to hug you all made our week that much more enjoyable, The front desk staff (Elaine, Jeff etc...) truly made us feel welcome and we were sad we had to leave.

Daddy O includes Breakfast and considering some of the late nights we had ;-) the fresh bagels etc.. that were brought out every morning were very much appreciated (we found out they are delivered fresh every day for breakfast).

The hotel is located within walking distance (2 blocks) to Bal Harbor shops, various bus routes that can zip you down to South Beach in a wink or over to Aventura Mall (both 120 Beach Max and S bus do the trick) - bus fare is reasonable at $2 and taxi fare if needed, will average around $20-$25 to South Beach (depending on traffic and time of day).

Once again, thank you Elaine, Jeff and all, we are looking forward to seeing you all again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor in the back (220A, 220B) - very quiet and no outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are so pleased you've enjoyed your stay with us! All of us here at the Daddy O, especially Jeff and Elaine, delight in your recognition. Great service to our guests is our #1 priority.
We hope you will come back soon and enjoy the updates that we've made around here since your last stay.

With Kind Regards,
Daddy O Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel is nice and clean, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the location is very okay. The room service food actually comes from a few restaurants nearby, which is pretty cool. Lots of options. There were two things I didn't like about the rooms. First, the bathrooms are nice, but poorly designed. Three feet of glass on a full-size shower? Seriously? The floor was soaking after every shower, even when we faced the shower head backwards. Also, no counter space for toiletries, and not enough towels (although I'm sure they'd be happy to bring extras). Second, the bed is a bit of a trick. THe mattress is super comfortable, but the pillows are extremely high and firm. The combo of a soft mattress and a high pillow made for some serious back pain that has lasted nearly a week at this point. Ask for softer/lower pillows, if you sleep on your side. Figuring out a balance between the AC and the heavy blanket was also a bit of a chore.
I realize I'm only mentioning the negatives, but they're not that significant. Bottom line, this is a nice hotel, with a great staff, and it's a MUCH better deal than a lot of the disgusting hotels on the beach (e.g., the Best Western).

Room Tip: Ask to be in a room that does not face the Palms restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for the review. It is through constructive criticism that any entity can evolve. We will take all of this into consideration, and hope you will not discard us completely from your future considerations.

Sincerely,
Daddy O Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Daddy O Hotel offers a wonderful location in the relaxed Bay Harbor Islands area of Miami Beach, but the property is in need of some major TLC and the staff and services are a bit chilly by the friendly standards of South Florida.

Upon check in, our first room was populated by flies and featured a smattering of very prominent stains on the carpet. The headboard of the bed had a layer of dust and grime at least a half-inch thick. The rooms windows were old, stained, and did not lock...a discerning feature for a ground-floor room. That first impression stuck with me for the remainder of my stay. It was apparently that the property was simply going through the motions.

We were moved to an adjacent room that also featured stained carpets (I'm talking big, black, ugly stains, not just normal wear and tear) but was slightly cleaner.

The room itself was good enough, but certainly not high end boutique. Basic TV, bed, and bathroom features. Room was stocked for one person even though we were a couple.

The hotel staff had a weird vibe. I asked to get change for a $100 dollar bill and was told it was not possible. I've never stayed at a hotel that couldn't make change before, and considering the rates Daddy O charges, you'd think breaking a mere $100 would not be a big deal.

Our first night we were able to have to front desk call a taxi for us, however afterwards it was simply not possible. There were a lot of events in the area, however we passed MANY hotels on the beach that had 3-5 cabs cycling through at all times. Daddy O seems to hold little clout with the taxi companies and was not able to do much for guests in regard to transportation.

One evening, I purchased a bottle of wine from the front desk. Daddy O Chardonnay, which turned out to be a store bought brand with a sticker slapped on it. When I bought the wine, the front desk clerk handed me two wine glasses. Both were dirty. The clerk said "Yeah, that's just from the dishwasher."
I pointed out the visible chunk of matter on my glass (not just water stain, but a chunk of food or something.) He shrugged it off and cooly handed me another glass. He then tossed me a corkscrew and told me to have at it. Not exactly service with a smile.

Parking is odd, with ten spots along the side of the building and metered locations around the block. It's first come, first served. We got very lucky and were able to find a spot most of the time, but when we couldn't it was a time wasting hassle looking for spots.

Breakfast is lame, consisting of basically bread. A lot of bread. If you like bread, you're in luck. If not, there are some great bistros around the corner that offer real breakfast food.

I really like the Bay Harbor Islands / Bal Harbour neighborhood, and Daddy O has a lot of potential with its location and could be greatly improved with some deep cleaning, window upgrades, and customer service training for the staff. In its current state, however, I would have to pass on visiting the property again and would not recommend it to my friends and family. I paid for a boutique and ended up with a chain-hotel type of experience.

Room Tip: Keep asking to you get a room that is not dirty and doesn't have wide open exterior windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, and for bring these issue to the forefront. We will address them appropriately. And we hope that this does not discard us from your future considerations.

Sincerely,
Daddy O Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed in two adjoining rooms for three days to attend a wedding in Bal Harbour. It was great to have adjoining rooms for our family. The rooms were spacious and beds very comfortable although the bathrooms were a bit tight. The hotel is reminiscent of boutique hotels in Europe. There is no elevator which could be a challenge for someone with limited mobility but there are only a few floors to the hotel. Location was within walking distance to Bay Harbor shops, Bal Harbor shops and Surfside. Never needed a car to get around. The hotel includes a continental breakfast and all day coffee, tea and water. Great value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank You for your kind review of the Daddy O Hotel, we are very pleased to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant experience. Always nice to have guest stay for a fun event such as the wedding you described. We appreciate your feedback, it’s how we as a staff evaluate the service we provide. We do hope you will think of us for any future lodging needs you may have and we look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
Daddy O Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Superbly comfy beds, nice rooms, staff like Courtney on front desk couldn't do enough for us. Take a walk over the bridge and check out the local shops and restaurants and then hop on the bus to Colin's ave and south beach (not worth driving as bus get in same time) and be glad to have piece and quiet to sleep here away from the madness of SoBe

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review! We really try to exceed our guest's expectations, and if something isn't going well, we'll make up for it. We're glad you've enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you come back soon.

Sincerely,
Daddy O Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great value hotel for Miami. Very helpful front desk, free phone calls - both local and international, free parking and well located for local shopping & restaurants. Breakfast, which is basic and communal, is included. The neighborhood is quiet and seems secure. We had trouble with our TV which they tried hard to fix and, in the end, made more than reasonable compensation for the inconvenience. However, if you are planning to spend a lot of time around South Beach, whilst the distance is not too far (10 km or so), the traffic is terrible and it can take the best part of an hour each way. Mainland Miami is much easier to get to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We really appreciate your remarks. And we must have really liked you to include the parking- unless you gave us some type of code that can be found here on trip advisor (wink wink)! We hope you come and stay with us again- dash the traffic.

Warm regards,
Daddy O Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Daddy O Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daddy O Hotel

Address: 9660 East Bay Harbor Drive, Bay Harbor Islands, FL 33154
Location: United States > Florida > Bay Harbor Islands
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bay Harbor Islands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Daddy O Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in March 2010, our small, stylish boutique hotel provides guests with a sophisticated yet personal experience along with convenient access to South Beach hot spots, dining, shopping, nightlife and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Daddy O Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daddy O Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.