We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not nearly as nice as it seems to think it is.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Daddy O Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Daddy O Hotel to your Saves list
Daddy O Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9660 East Bay Harbor Drive, Bay Harbor Islands, FL 33154   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not nearly as nice as it seems to think it is.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Daddy O Hotel offers a wonderful location in the relaxed Bay Harbor Islands area of Miami Beach, but the property is in need of some major TLC and the staff and services are a bit chilly by the friendly standards of South Florida.

Upon check in, our first room was populated by flies and featured a smattering of very prominent stains on the carpet. The headboard of the bed had a layer of dust and grime at least a half-inch thick. The rooms windows were old, stained, and did not lock...a discerning feature for a ground-floor room. That first impression stuck with me for the remainder of my stay. It was apparently that the property was simply going through the motions.

We were moved to an adjacent room that also featured stained carpets (I'm talking big, black, ugly stains, not just normal wear and tear) but was slightly cleaner.

The room itself was good enough, but certainly not high end boutique. Basic TV, bed, and bathroom features. Room was stocked for one person even though we were a couple.

The hotel staff had a weird vibe. I asked to get change for a $100 dollar bill and was told it was not possible. I've never stayed at a hotel that couldn't make change before, and considering the rates Daddy O charges, you'd think breaking a mere $100 would not be a big deal.

Our first night we were able to have to front desk call a taxi for us, however afterwards it was simply not possible. There were a lot of events in the area, however we passed MANY hotels on the beach that had 3-5 cabs cycling through at all times. Daddy O seems to hold little clout with the taxi companies and was not able to do much for guests in regard to transportation.

One evening, I purchased a bottle of wine from the front desk. Daddy O Chardonnay, which turned out to be a store bought brand with a sticker slapped on it. When I bought the wine, the front desk clerk handed me two wine glasses. Both were dirty. The clerk said "Yeah, that's just from the dishwasher."
I pointed out the visible chunk of matter on my glass (not just water stain, but a chunk of food or something.) He shrugged it off and cooly handed me another glass. He then tossed me a corkscrew and told me to have at it. Not exactly service with a smile.

Parking is odd, with ten spots along the side of the building and metered locations around the block. It's first come, first served. We got very lucky and were able to find a spot most of the time, but when we couldn't it was a time wasting hassle looking for spots.

Breakfast is lame, consisting of basically bread. A lot of bread. If you like bread, you're in luck. If not, there are some great bistros around the corner that offer real breakfast food.

I really like the Bay Harbor Islands / Bal Harbour neighborhood, and Daddy O has a lot of potential with its location and could be greatly improved with some deep cleaning, window upgrades, and customer service training for the staff. In its current state, however, I would have to pass on visiting the property again and would not recommend it to my friends and family. I paid for a boutique and ended up with a chain-hotel type of experience.

Room Tip: Keep asking to you get a room that is not dirty and doesn't have wide open exterior windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, and for bring these issue to the forefront. We will address them appropriately. And we hope that this does not discard us from your future considerations.

Sincerely,
Daddy O Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    264
    69
    31
    15
See reviews for
87
343
62
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed in two adjoining rooms for three days to attend a wedding in Bal Harbour. It was great to have adjoining rooms for our family. The rooms were spacious and beds very comfortable although the bathrooms were a bit tight. The hotel is reminiscent of boutique hotels in Europe. There is no elevator which could be a challenge for someone with limited mobility but there are only a few floors to the hotel. Location was within walking distance to Bay Harbor shops, Bal Harbor shops and Surfside. Never needed a car to get around. The hotel includes a continental breakfast and all day coffee, tea and water. Great value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank You for your kind review of the Daddy O Hotel, we are very pleased to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant experience. Always nice to have guest stay for a fun event such as the wedding you described. We appreciate your feedback, it’s how we as a staff evaluate the service we provide. We do hope you will think of us for any future lodging needs you may have and we look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
Daddy O Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Superbly comfy beds, nice rooms, staff like Courtney on front desk couldn't do enough for us. Take a walk over the bridge and check out the local shops and restaurants and then hop on the bus to Colin's ave and south beach (not worth driving as bus get in same time) and be glad to have piece and quiet to sleep here away from the madness of SoBe

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review! We really try to exceed our guest's expectations, and if something isn't going well, we'll make up for it. We're glad you've enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you come back soon.

Sincerely,
Daddy O Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great value hotel for Miami. Very helpful front desk, free phone calls - both local and international, free parking and well located for local shopping & restaurants. Breakfast, which is basic and communal, is included. The neighborhood is quiet and seems secure. We had trouble with our TV which they tried hard to fix and, in the end, made more than reasonable compensation for the inconvenience. However, if you are planning to spend a lot of time around South Beach, whilst the distance is not too far (10 km or so), the traffic is terrible and it can take the best part of an hour each way. Mainland Miami is much easier to get to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We really appreciate your remarks. And we must have really liked you to include the parking- unless you gave us some type of code that can be found here on trip advisor (wink wink)! We hope you come and stay with us again- dash the traffic.

Warm regards,
Daddy O Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
213 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 930 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We are just back from a first-time stay at Daddy-O, where we spent 5 days while on vacation in the Miami Beach area.

We generally liked our stay, and any criticism we have is offered in a constructive way, as we would like to return here in the future.

On the plus side, the front desk staff is extremely courteous, attentive, and professional. The complimentary breakfast is quite sufficient. Internet access is uneventful and complimentary and carries the extra benefit of free domestic and international calls from the guestroom telephone. Rooms are equipped with king-size beds, 42" flat television sets, safes, refrigerators, and a Keurig coffeemaker. The hotel offers free mineral water and coffee drinks at the breakfast area on a 24-hour basis; may I add the complimentary coffeemaker makes cappuccino, latte, mocchaccino, and whatever else one wishes.

The hotel offers parking at $12 a day as an alternative to parking at an adjacent city lot, where parking meters must be 'fed' between 8am and 6pm.

On the minus side is an observation many TripAdvisor reviewers have made: sound insulation is non-existent. One can hear conversations in the next room, people walking in the upstairs room, television sets. While it might be too late for the owners to soundproof the rooms, it may be a good idea to post signs in rooms that ask guests to keep their voices and television set volume down. If you cannot fall asleep while the television set next door is on, this is not a hotel for you.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room on the second floor might offer better sound insulation
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We at the Daddy O are so pleased you enjoyed your stay- for the most part. You raise a wonderful suggestion, and we will definitely take it into account for the future. Noise really is our most prevalent criticism and with good reason. We do hope that you will come back and stay with us soon. It was a pleasure to have you with us.

Sincerely,
Daddy O Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Daddy O hotels is located in a quiet neighborhood not far from Collins Avenue - A1A in the North Miami, Bay Harbor Islands area. The hotel is sized larger than most boutique hotels in which we have stayed. The decor is very up to date modern. The bedding is comfortable. A small refrigerator and microwave oven are in each room. A laptop computer sized safe is provided in the closet. The room is, to quote another reviewer, really nice. The front desk offers a good selection of wines and beers. The complementary breakfast buffet is typical, offering cereals, coffee and yogurt, with the addition of some very nice hearty and tasty breads for toasting.

Noise is a issue at this hotel. Rooms are not totally soundproofed. Adjacent room noise can occassionally be heard. If you are in the rooms fronting East Bay Harbor Drive, above the porch fronting the lobby, you can hear conversations taking place on the porch. To avoid the porch noise issue, try not to get rooms 213 A & B and 214 A & B.

The location is ideal for walking. Around the corner to the right on 96th Street are several fine restaurants. To the left on 96th street is a very upscale shopping mall with several nice restaurants. Intersecting 96th Street, to the right of the Bal Harbour Shops are several more economical restaurants, a Subway sandwich shop, a drugstore and retail shops. Daddy O is nicely situated for convenience of shopping and dining.

The staff is friendly, personable and, most of all, helpful. Courtney, Assistant Manager, and front desk concierge Elaine were delightfully courteous. The breakfast attendant is most helpful and friendly.

We visit South Florida regularly and will make the Daddy O our hotel of choice from now on.

Room Tip: Front porch noise may be an issue. Try for rooms not over the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Everyone at the Daddy O, especially Courtney, Elaine and Jane, appreciate your comments and acknowledgments very much. We strive to make your stay as comfy as possible. We’re glad you enjoyed your room and breakfast, though we’re not sure where you found the in-room microwave and breakfast cereal as we don’t offer those commodities. At any rate, thank you for this very nice review and we hope you’ll visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Daddy O Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I recently stayed at the Daddy O hotel while in Miami for a wedding. The reception was at a nearby hotel on the beach, but the much more affordable rates at Daddy O were well worth the short walk, about 5 minutes, to the beach. It's also located next to a nice shopping center. The staff was very helpful and even offered to pay the difference between a cab ride and shuttle to Ft. Lauderdale Airport due to miscommunication on my part. They were flexible with check in/out and the room was spotless. The complimentary breakfast was perfect for the post-wedding "blues." I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are thrilled you had a great experience with us. Thank you so much for the brilliant review and we hope to see you before the next wedding.

With warm regards,
Daddy O Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bay Harbor Islands
5.2 mi away
Thompson Miami Beach
Thompson Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
0.4 mi away
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
0.5 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bal Harbour
3.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
3.4 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#2 of 8 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daddy O Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daddy O Hotel

Address: 9660 East Bay Harbor Drive, Bay Harbor Islands, FL 33154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Bay Harbor Islands
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bay Harbor Islands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Daddy O Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in March 2010, our small, stylish boutique hotel provides guests with a sophisticated yet personal experience along with convenient access to South Beach hot spots, dining, shopping, nightlife and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Daddy O Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daddy O Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.