We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise takes away a star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daddy O Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Daddy O Hotel to your Saves list
Daddy O Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9660 East Bay Harbor Drive, Bay Harbor Islands, FL 33154   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package
New York, NY
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
846 helpful votes 846 helpful votes
“Noise takes away a star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We are just back from a first-time stay at Daddy-O, where we spent 5 days while on vacation in the Miami Beach area.

We generally liked our stay, and any criticism we have is offered in a constructive way, as we would like to return here in the future.

On the plus side, the front desk staff is extremely courteous, attentive, and professional. The complimentary breakfast is quite sufficient. Internet access is uneventful and complimentary and carries the extra benefit of free domestic and international calls from the guestroom telephone. Rooms are equipped with king-size beds, 42" flat television sets, safes, refrigerators, and a Keurig coffeemaker. The hotel offers free mineral water and coffee drinks at the breakfast area on a 24-hour basis; may I add the complimentary coffeemaker makes cappuccino, latte, mocchaccino, and whatever else one wishes.

The hotel offers parking at $12 a day as an alternative to parking at an adjacent city lot, where parking meters must be 'fed' between 8am and 6pm.

On the minus side is an observation many TripAdvisor reviewers have made: sound insulation is non-existent. One can hear conversations in the next room, people walking in the upstairs room, television sets. While it might be too late for the owners to soundproof the rooms, it may be a good idea to post signs in rooms that ask guests to keep their voices and television set volume down. If you cannot fall asleep while the television set next door is on, this is not a hotel for you.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room on the second floor might offer better sound insulation
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We at the Daddy O are so pleased you enjoyed your stay- for the most part. You raise a wonderful suggestion, and we will definitely take it into account for the future. Noise really is our most prevalent criticism and with good reason. We do hope that you will come back and stay with us soon. It was a pleasure to have you with us.

Sincerely,
Daddy O Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    223
    58
    26
    13
See reviews for
78
303
53
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Daddy O hotels is located in a quiet neighborhood not far from Collins Avenue - A1A in the North Miami, Bay Harbor Islands area. The hotel is sized larger than most boutique hotels in which we have stayed. The decor is very up to date modern. The bedding is comfortable. A small refrigerator and microwave oven are in each room. A laptop computer sized safe is provided in the closet. The room is, to quote another reviewer, really nice. The front desk offers a good selection of wines and beers. The complementary breakfast buffet is typical, offering cereals, coffee and yogurt, with the addition of some very nice hearty and tasty breads for toasting.

Noise is a issue at this hotel. Rooms are not totally soundproofed. Adjacent room noise can occassionally be heard. If you are in the rooms fronting East Bay Harbor Drive, above the porch fronting the lobby, you can hear conversations taking place on the porch. To avoid the porch noise issue, try not to get rooms 213 A & B and 214 A & B.

The location is ideal for walking. Around the corner to the right on 96th Street are several fine restaurants. To the left on 96th street is a very upscale shopping mall with several nice restaurants. Intersecting 96th Street, to the right of the Bal Harbour Shops are several more economical restaurants, a Subway sandwich shop, a drugstore and retail shops. Daddy O is nicely situated for convenience of shopping and dining.

The staff is friendly, personable and, most of all, helpful. Courtney, Assistant Manager, and front desk concierge Elaine were delightfully courteous. The breakfast attendant is most helpful and friendly.

We visit South Florida regularly and will make the Daddy O our hotel of choice from now on.

Room Tip: Front porch noise may be an issue. Try for rooms not over the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Everyone at the Daddy O, especially Courtney, Elaine and Jane, appreciate your comments and acknowledgments very much. We strive to make your stay as comfy as possible. We’re glad you enjoyed your room and breakfast, though we’re not sure where you found the in-room microwave and breakfast cereal as we don’t offer those commodities. At any rate, thank you for this very nice review and we hope you’ll visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Daddy O Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I recently stayed at the Daddy O hotel while in Miami for a wedding. The reception was at a nearby hotel on the beach, but the much more affordable rates at Daddy O were well worth the short walk, about 5 minutes, to the beach. It's also located next to a nice shopping center. The staff was very helpful and even offered to pay the difference between a cab ride and shuttle to Ft. Lauderdale Airport due to miscommunication on my part. They were flexible with check in/out and the room was spotless. The complimentary breakfast was perfect for the post-wedding "blues." I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are thrilled you had a great experience with us. Thank you so much for the brilliant review and we hope to see you before the next wedding.

With warm regards,
Daddy O Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Initially, I was terrified. With a name like Daddy-O's, I wasn't sure if hourly rates were also available, but i had checked tripadvisor, and all signs pointed to a nice place. I was coming to Miami for 2 nights for work, and I was bringing my boyfriend along for company. I was really just hoping it was clean.

I came to check in with 1 hour to get to my room, shower, change, and leave to get to a meeting 20 minutes away. The check-in process took a little longer as our front-desk chica was training someone. If I didn't have to accomplish the impossible, I would have been A-ok, but my North-East pace of life was getting the best of me as we stopped to give directions, and got a million questions. In retrospect, both ladies were INCREDIBLY nice.

The hotel is right over the bridge from Bal Harbor too, which I'm told is an experience to say the least. Very ritzy and high end. We didn't get time to check it out as much as I had hoped, but it was beautiful.

Our room was great! We were in 219-B which was a corner room so we had a view of the parking lot, but a great breeze and lots of light. The bed was INCREDIBLY comfortable. There was nowhere to really unpack, but it was fine since we were only there for 2 days. The room had a keurig which ROCKED, and lots of comfortable amenities- hair dryer, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, bottles of water, bathrobe, slippers etc. When I hopped in the shower, there were short black hairs stuck to the opposing wall of the shower head. That was a big disconcerting, but I assumed that the owner of said hairs was at least clean... so i just ignored it and did my thing. There is no way to close the shower door, so the floor can get a bit damp if you don't angle the shower head perfectly. We figured that out and was good from there.

I've seen complaints about noise, but it really wasn't a problem for us. I'd recomend our room. I guess we were in a good spot.

We took the 10 minute walk to the beach and Daddy-O's supplied us with beach chairs. The beach was GORGEOUS. I wouldn't have wanted anything else out of a 10 minute walk. It really is the perfect set up. I wish i didn't have so much obligation. I would have loved to have stayed for an extra day and spent more time right there.

Parking was interesting, but they had it WORKED OUT. For $12/day (most people seem to have paid $8?), you can either park on the side for free, or around back at meters that they would keep full for you. As spots on the side opened up, they'd pull your car around for you. It was really nice to not have to worry.

Breakfast was decent. Nothing amazing, but it sure got the job done. We ate but toast, bagels, yogurt, muffins, fruit etc, plus the coffee maker in the loby that just cranks out medium cups of goodness all day long- Cafe Mocha, Cappuchino, Expresso, Macchiato... I wasn't tired once the whole time i stayed.

All in all, I would be back here in a minute. The price was right, and it was a cute boutique hotel. The staff was friendly, the amenties made the stay very comfortable, and you weren't nickled and dimed along the way which totally annoys me, yet lots of hotels seem to have moved in this direction. The name Daddy-O's felt a lot more relevent in Miami, but coming from the North East, it was a bit scary. The place really is quite nice. I'd love to spend more time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We’d love to have you! Thank you for this great review. We’re happy it wasn’t what you expected, though we will definitely be more vigilant with the housekeeping in the bathrooms. If it gets too crazy up north, we’ll save a spot for you on the beach. Hope you come to claim it soon!

With warm regards,
Daddy O team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Clean, comfy beds. Polite and friendly staff. Great central location to roads. Thin walls and a European bathroom with no shower curtain are negligible. Fast wifi. Great for couples. Came down here for a race and needed somewhere to stay before and after.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of the Daddy O Hotel, our staff is pleased to hear that your stay with us was pleasant one. We always look forward to seeing familiar faces and are glad to hear that you are a returning patron. We always appreciate feedback from our customers, this is how we evaluate the services we provide and effectively find ways to improve the experience of our customers. We do hope you will remember us for any future travel needs and we look forward to seeing you at some future date.

Regards,
Daddy O Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This very affordable boutique hotel is in a terrific location for whatever you might be doing in the Miami area. It is charmingly decorated, attractive, very clean and has a staff that is friendly, helpful and goes out of its way to be of assistance. The only drawback was a lack of insulation that meant you could hear noise in adjoining rooms or, if on the first floor as we were, footsteps in the room above. In terms of the overall experience, this was really minor. Miami has many very expensive hotels and even more cookie-cutter franchises but this was something very special that really enhanced our trip. As an added benefit, the Palm Restaurant adjoins the hotel and the area has an array of interesting restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Maybe the first floor isn't the best choice because of the noise from the room above,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for all the kind remarks. We try incredibly hard to help all of our guests have the best time possible while in Miami. We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you can visit us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Daddy O Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Recently stayed at the Daddy O hotel for the weekend when in town for a wedding. It is a small place and has a nice porch out front and small lounge area in the lobby where they have a free continental breakfast each day and coffee available 24/7. Most of the staff were very nice and accommodating however a couple of the front desk attendants were not as thorough in relaying information, such as the fact that breakfast is available. The majority of the rooms have king size beds and the rooms themselves are not large but perfectly adequate if you are only planning on sleeping there. The one major negative is that the walls are paper thin. You can hear EVERYTHING from the hallways and the rooms next door. Also, there are no elevators. While the stairs are not bad at all, it is not the best place for anyone with physical handicaps. The location is great and an easy 15 minute walk to the beach. The island of Bay Harbour is small with a couple of shops and restaurants but just over the bridge you have many more options in Surfside and the Bal Harbour Shops. Overall it was a pretty nice stay and compared to the soaring prices of hotels nearby, the Daddy O is a good deal.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are likely to be a bit noisier, particularly because they aren't far re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We are happy you were satisfied with your stay for the most part, though I’d like to address some of your concerns. Noise is one of our most talked about factors and we are looking into ways to strengthen that area. Also, we do have a small lift for patrons whom have concerns about climbing stairs. We take pride in assisting our guest with joy to the best of our abilities and appreciate very much your recognition. We hope to see you on your next stay in Miami.

With warm regards,
Daddy O Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daddy O Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daddy O Hotel

Address: 9660 East Bay Harbor Drive, Bay Harbor Islands, FL 33154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Bay Harbor Islands
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bay Harbor Islands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Daddy O Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in March 2010, our small, stylish boutique hotel provides guests with a sophisticated yet personal experience along with convenient access to South Beach hot spots, dining, shopping, nightlife and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Daddy O Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daddy O Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.