We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daddy O Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Daddy O Hotel to your Saves list
Daddy O Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9660 East Bay Harbor Drive, Bay Harbor Islands, FL 33154   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were invited to a wedding at the St. Regis Hotel in Bal Harbor, Florida, where the rooms, even with the wedding discount, ran $550 a night. To her credit, my wife instead chose the Daddy O for our hotel, where it was about half that per night and only 6/10ths of a mile from the St. Regis (which I must add appeared to be a superb hotel, especially for a wedding).

Daddy O is a small hotel, only two floors, and in that we took a cab to and from the airport, we needed no car. Our family (myself, wife and daughter) did just fine in one room. We all loved the super-coffee machine that served up everything from hot water to machianos and lattes on demand, at no additional expense. The continental breakfasts were a great deal, also included -- and allowed us to enjoy a long conversation with another couple staying there. During our talk, we mentioned the two states that legalized marijuana in the November elections. We remembered Colorado but while guessing on the other, we got some help from the front desk attendant -- Washington State. Until now, I'd never known a hotel employee to double as Factcheck.org -- and thanked her for it. On our departure, she also ordered up a taxicab that cost considerably less than the cab we rode in on. (One other surprising aspect of this hotel, though we didn't avail ourselves of the service: It offers free international calls.) The only possible criticism I have is that the walls were thin and you could hear conversations in the hallway and adjoining rooms. This wasn't much more than a minor annoyance.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the second floor at the far end of the hallway, where you are most likely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank You for your kind review of the Daddy O Hotel, we are very pleased to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant experience. Always nice to have guest stay for a fun event such as the wedding you described. We appreciate your feedback, it’s how we as a staff evaluate the service we provide. We do hope you will think of us for any future lodging needs you may have and we look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
Daddy O Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    222
    58
    26
    13
See reviews for
78
302
53
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as we cannot afford $600 per night in downtown South Beach. Location is great. We get to South Beach by car in about 15 minutes. The hotel staffs are nice, helpful and informative. The room size is adequate. No bath tub in our room. We had a king bed, flat screen tv and basic bathroom. More importantly, the room was CLEAN.
We recently stayed in a Sheraton on downtown Dallas who proclaims itself as 4 star yet this place is waaaayyyyy better in every way possible. I recommend this place.
Note that the rooms aren't sound proofed. If you are sensitive to noise, this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank You for your warm review of our hotel, we always appreciate getting feedback from our patrons. We were very pleased to hear that your experience with us was a pleasant one.
It’s through reviews like yours that we as a staff identify areas in which we excel and areas for improvement. We do hope you will remember us for any future travel needs

Best Regards,
Daddy O Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Argentina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Fantastic boutique hotel in a perfectly quiet upscale neighborhood. Found in Tripadvisor, as usual... Stayed twice in different rooms, I would strongly suggest you ask for the rooms in the upper floor, since they are much quieter. There are many AC units outside the windows of the left wing that can be a little bit annoying. Other than that, it´s a great place, very reasonably priced, perfect location, breakfast included. Would definitely stay again...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for posting a great review of the Daddy O Hotel on tripadvisor. The Daddy O Hotel staff is always happy to read reviews like yours. We are also happy to read that we were able to accommodate you on both of your stays. Thank you for your kind review and we hope to have you stay with us again soon.
Best Regards,
Daddy O Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I really hate to give this place one star because it is one of the most adorable boutique hotels that I've visited in the States.

I spent two nights here because my house was being fumigated for termites. It offers free breakfast, tea and coffee, $8 a day parking, adorable decor, beautiful bathrooms, comfortable beds and they're pet friendly, even to my two kitties. However, pillows are very cheap and a foot thick. They're not down or feather, and your neck suffers in the morning. Major drawback and only reason that I can't recommend this place to anyone is the noise. I have stayed in rowdy South Beach hotels back in the day, and the noise at those don't come close to comparing to the noise here. There are no loud partiers here, yet the noise is unbearable. Really unbearable. The windows aren't even single pane; they are less than that. You can hear everything outside as if it's happening in your room. The walls are paper thin and the doors that connect the rooms are less than paper thin. I heard complete conversations as if I was part of them, toilets flushing, water running and TVs. You can also hear every footstep above. Every one. The floors make loud creaky sounds. No irons in the rooms. All booking websites say that they have rooms with two beds, but all rooms have only one king sized bed. If you have more than two people in your party, someone is sleeping on the floor. I'm a local, so I didn't care about the location. If i was a tourist, I wouldn't have been happy to be in Bay Harbor Islands as that's not what out-of-towners want from a Miami visit.

They need to remove the thin particle board connecting and front doors and splurge for thick metal doors like at every other hotel on this planet.

Hands down, the noisiest hotel that I've ever stayed in and not because of the people here, but because of the thin walls and doors. Thank God that this isn't a party hotel because I can't even imagine it being any worse. I only didn't leave because it was prepaid on the internet.

I paid $150 a night.

**Listening to two Russians talk for HOURS upon HOURS in the room next to mine is like listening to someone beating on a drum. It's a terrible staccato sound similar to a Cuban's version of Spanish.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel has really good amenities like 24h tea, coffee and water in a public lounge area. Room is equipped with a "Keurig" coffeemaker and a little fridge. Daddy O has a really cozy atmosphere because it is a boutique hotel. Location was perfect for us and really calm, kept the window open the whole night. (a 15 min drive from busy south beach). Great and helpful staff at all time. Will definitely come again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of the Daddy O Hotel posted on tripadvisor. The Daddy O is proud to make your stay all the more delightful and hope that you will be back soon.
Sincerely,
Daddy O Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

A nice hotel in a quiet area, if you have a car it is close to everything but still away from the noises of south beach and traffic. Very nice staff, OK breakfast (yoghurt, bagels & muffins). Rooms were not soundproof, sometimes we heard the neighbors tv, but it never became a problem. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
The daddy O hotel location can’t be beat. We truly are “close to everything but away from it all” with a 10 minute walk from the beach, a 15 minute drive to South Beach and a short ride to most all tourist attractions. Our staff is always ready to help with anything we can, and we thank you for the acknowledgment. Thank you so much for staying with us and for the great review you posted on tripadivsor.
Best Regards,
Daddy O Hotel Associates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed at Daddy O Hotel for 13 nights due to an extended business assignment. What an amazing find! The hotel is clean, service is outstanding, staff professional, friendly and helpful. Excellent and very safe location ( walking distance to beach, Bal Harbour Shops and many local restaurants. Highly recommend and will for sure stay again. Gosia Eberle.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Wow! Thank you for the great review of the Daddy O Hotel posted on tripadvisor. We strive to make our guests stays as pleasing as possible-from smiles in the morning, to clean rooms upon check in- thank you for noticing our team’s hard work and efforts towards making your stay a success. We’re happy you found us, and hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards,
Daddy O Hotel Associates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daddy O Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daddy O Hotel

Address: 9660 East Bay Harbor Drive, Bay Harbor Islands, FL 33154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Bay Harbor Islands
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bay Harbor Islands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Daddy O Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in March 2010, our small, stylish boutique hotel provides guests with a sophisticated yet personal experience along with convenient access to South Beach hot spots, dining, shopping, nightlife and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Daddy O Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daddy O Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.