We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daddy O Hotel

Save Saved
You added Daddy O Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Daddy O Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9660 East Bay Harbor Drive, Bay Harbor Islands, FL 33154   |  
Hotel amenities
Cordoba, Argentina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Would stay again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Fantastic boutique hotel in a perfectly quiet upscale neighborhood. Found in Tripadvisor, as usual... Stayed twice in different rooms, I would strongly suggest you ask for the rooms in the upper floor, since they are much quieter. There are many AC units outside the windows of the left wing that can be a little bit annoying. Other than that, it´s a great place, very reasonably priced, perfect location, breakfast included. Would definitely stay again...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for posting a great review of the Daddy O Hotel on tripadvisor. The Daddy O Hotel staff is always happy to read reviews like yours. We are also happy to read that we were able to accommodate you on both of your stays. Thank you for your kind review and we hope to have you stay with us again soon.
Best Regards,
Daddy O Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    203
    56
    25
    11
See reviews for
67
269
43
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I really hate to give this place one star because it is one of the most adorable boutique hotels that I've visited in the States.

I spent two nights here because my house was being fumigated for termites. It offers free breakfast, tea and coffee, $8 a day parking, adorable decor, beautiful bathrooms, comfortable beds and they're pet friendly, even to my two kitties. However, pillows are very cheap and a foot thick. They're not down or feather, and your neck suffers in the morning. Major drawback and only reason that I can't recommend this place to anyone is the noise. I have stayed in rowdy South Beach hotels back in the day, and the noise at those don't come close to comparing to the noise here. There are no loud partiers here, yet the noise is unbearable. Really unbearable. The windows aren't even single pane; they are less than that. You can hear everything outside as if it's happening in your room. The walls are paper thin and the doors that connect the rooms are less than paper thin. I heard complete conversations as if I was part of them, toilets flushing, water running and TVs. You can also hear every footstep above. Every one. The floors make loud creaky sounds. No irons in the rooms. All booking websites say that they have rooms with two beds, but all rooms have only one king sized bed. If you have more than two people in your party, someone is sleeping on the floor. I'm a local, so I didn't care about the location. If i was a tourist, I wouldn't have been happy to be in Bay Harbor Islands as that's not what out-of-towners want from a Miami visit.

They need to remove the thin particle board connecting and front doors and splurge for thick metal doors like at every other hotel on this planet.

Hands down, the noisiest hotel that I've ever stayed in and not because of the people here, but because of the thin walls and doors. Thank God that this isn't a party hotel because I can't even imagine it being any worse. I only didn't leave because it was prepaid on the internet.

I paid $150 a night.

**Listening to two Russians talk for HOURS upon HOURS in the room next to mine is like listening to someone beating on a drum. It's a terrible staccato sound similar to a Cuban's version of Spanish.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel has really good amenities like 24h tea, coffee and water in a public lounge area. Room is equipped with a "Keurig" coffeemaker and a little fridge. Daddy O has a really cozy atmosphere because it is a boutique hotel. Location was perfect for us and really calm, kept the window open the whole night. (a 15 min drive from busy south beach). Great and helpful staff at all time. Will definitely come again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of the Daddy O Hotel posted on tripadvisor. The Daddy O is proud to make your stay all the more delightful and hope that you will be back soon.
Sincerely,
Daddy O Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

A nice hotel in a quiet area, if you have a car it is close to everything but still away from the noises of south beach and traffic. Very nice staff, OK breakfast (yoghurt, bagels & muffins). Rooms were not soundproof, sometimes we heard the neighbors tv, but it never became a problem. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
The daddy O hotel location can’t be beat. We truly are “close to everything but away from it all” with a 10 minute walk from the beach, a 15 minute drive to South Beach and a short ride to most all tourist attractions. Our staff is always ready to help with anything we can, and we thank you for the acknowledgment. Thank you so much for staying with us and for the great review you posted on tripadivsor.
Best Regards,
Daddy O Hotel Associates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed at Daddy O Hotel for 13 nights due to an extended business assignment. What an amazing find! The hotel is clean, service is outstanding, staff professional, friendly and helpful. Excellent and very safe location ( walking distance to beach, Bal Harbour Shops and many local restaurants. Highly recommend and will for sure stay again. Gosia Eberle.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Wow! Thank you for the great review of the Daddy O Hotel posted on tripadvisor. We strive to make our guests stays as pleasing as possible-from smiles in the morning, to clean rooms upon check in- thank you for noticing our team’s hard work and efforts towards making your stay a success. We’re happy you found us, and hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards,
Daddy O Hotel Associates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I'm so happy we found this little gem in Miami! Thanks to tripadvisor, and I hope my review can do the same for someone else. We had been hopping around changing hotels a few times because Miami was so busy during New Years and we hadnt planned well enough in advance.

We stayed here for 5 nights, in two rooms with a connecting door, we also had a car. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated, modern and just big enough. A continental breakfast is included, which I found to be quite nice, even though its simple.
A really nice lady put out cupcakes, bagels, cream cheese and jams every morning in the lounge, where there is also a nice coffee and juice machine.There is also a really good coffee machine in the room.

Staff is super friendly and eager to please and help which was not very common at other hotels in Miami. They also speak good enligsh which was also not very common at other hotels. Not even at big fancy hotels as Eden Roc.

A few notable things that we thought was really positive;

1. We paid a little extra sum to be able to park our car at the hotel parkinglots.(The hotel has some deal, so you can park by lots with a parking meter) and then its cheaper than if you put in coins yourself also more convenient because then you dont have to get up early every morning and refill). However one night most of the parkinglots were taken probably because of a nearby restaurant. By mistake we parked where we shouldnt have and used our hotel permit, of course we got a ticket. When we showed the ticket to the hotel staff they kinly offered to cover it, without hassle, which we found very nice and accomodating.

2.Pets are allowed, and one night there was a dog barking all night. I called the front desk around 01.00 am complaining, and they apologized saying they were doing all they could to help the owner calm the dog and to work out the problem. When we checked out they apologized again, whithout us bringing it up and said we did not have to pay for parking for the 5 days spent at the hotel because of the dog barking and disturbing our sleep. I thought this was really really nice of them.

3. They allowed for an afternoon checkout without extra charge so we could relax at the beach and then take a shower before checking out and heading to the airport.

On top of these nice gestures staff was attentive, smiling, friendly, laid back and relaxed. They always seemed eager to help you with all kinds of stuff.

They dont have a pool, but I really dont think they need one. We found that pools in Miami are a little bit redunant because the ocean is gorgerous. The hotel is only a short walk from Surfside Beach, which we found to be much nicer than Miami Beach, its just further up Miami Beach and its cleaner, calmer and not even nearly as crowded. Mostly its residents using the beach.

I would stay here again, and recommend this hotel to friends!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for posting an accurate review of the Daddy O Hotel on tripadvisor. We hope that other travelers will read your review and be more knowledgeable about our hotel, so that when potential guests book they know exactly what to expect from the Daddy O hotel. All of the hotel associates are happy to have made your stay pleasant and hope that when you return to Miami that you will stay with us a second time. All the best to you and keep posting reviews on tripadvisor, your comments are appreciated by businesses and consumers.
Best Regards,
Daddy OHotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Spent 2 night there last weekend for the BCS game. The hotel is small, clean and has very comfortable rooms. Great Location in Bay Harbor only 20 minutes from South Beach action.
Staff was pleasant and always accessible. The Palm is next door. Nice free breakfast in morning.
Only issue is the thin walls. Would return here.

Room Tip: go for second floor towards back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! All the staff at Daddy O thanks you for recognizing our hard work. We hope you had fun during the BCS game, and hope you’ll visit the Daddy O Hotel again soon.
Daddy O Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Daddy O Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daddy O Hotel

Address: 9660 East Bay Harbor Drive, Bay Harbor Islands, FL 33154
Location: United States > Florida > Bay Harbor Islands
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bay Harbor Islands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Daddy O Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in March 2010, our small, stylish boutique hotel provides guests with a sophisticated yet personal experience along with convenient access to South Beach hot spots, dining, shopping, nightlife and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Daddy O Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daddy O Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.