We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff and nice clean facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daddy O Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Daddy O Hotel to your Saves list
Daddy O Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9660 East Bay Harbor Drive, Bay Harbor Islands, FL 33154   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package
Stockholm
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff and nice clean facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I'm so happy we found this little gem in Miami! Thanks to tripadvisor, and I hope my review can do the same for someone else. We had been hopping around changing hotels a few times because Miami was so busy during New Years and we hadnt planned well enough in advance.

We stayed here for 5 nights, in two rooms with a connecting door, we also had a car. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated, modern and just big enough. A continental breakfast is included, which I found to be quite nice, even though its simple.
A really nice lady put out cupcakes, bagels, cream cheese and jams every morning in the lounge, where there is also a nice coffee and juice machine.There is also a really good coffee machine in the room.

Staff is super friendly and eager to please and help which was not very common at other hotels in Miami. They also speak good enligsh which was also not very common at other hotels. Not even at big fancy hotels as Eden Roc.

A few notable things that we thought was really positive;

1. We paid a little extra sum to be able to park our car at the hotel parkinglots.(The hotel has some deal, so you can park by lots with a parking meter) and then its cheaper than if you put in coins yourself also more convenient because then you dont have to get up early every morning and refill). However one night most of the parkinglots were taken probably because of a nearby restaurant. By mistake we parked where we shouldnt have and used our hotel permit, of course we got a ticket. When we showed the ticket to the hotel staff they kinly offered to cover it, without hassle, which we found very nice and accomodating.

2.Pets are allowed, and one night there was a dog barking all night. I called the front desk around 01.00 am complaining, and they apologized saying they were doing all they could to help the owner calm the dog and to work out the problem. When we checked out they apologized again, whithout us bringing it up and said we did not have to pay for parking for the 5 days spent at the hotel because of the dog barking and disturbing our sleep. I thought this was really really nice of them.

3. They allowed for an afternoon checkout without extra charge so we could relax at the beach and then take a shower before checking out and heading to the airport.

On top of these nice gestures staff was attentive, smiling, friendly, laid back and relaxed. They always seemed eager to help you with all kinds of stuff.

They dont have a pool, but I really dont think they need one. We found that pools in Miami are a little bit redunant because the ocean is gorgerous. The hotel is only a short walk from Surfside Beach, which we found to be much nicer than Miami Beach, its just further up Miami Beach and its cleaner, calmer and not even nearly as crowded. Mostly its residents using the beach.

I would stay here again, and recommend this hotel to friends!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for posting an accurate review of the Daddy O Hotel on tripadvisor. We hope that other travelers will read your review and be more knowledgeable about our hotel, so that when potential guests book they know exactly what to expect from the Daddy O hotel. All of the hotel associates are happy to have made your stay pleasant and hope that when you return to Miami that you will stay with us a second time. All the best to you and keep posting reviews on tripadvisor, your comments are appreciated by businesses and consumers.
Best Regards,
Daddy OHotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    222
    58
    26
    13
See reviews for
78
302
53
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Spent 2 night there last weekend for the BCS game. The hotel is small, clean and has very comfortable rooms. Great Location in Bay Harbor only 20 minutes from South Beach action.
Staff was pleasant and always accessible. The Palm is next door. Nice free breakfast in morning.
Only issue is the thin walls. Would return here.

Room Tip: go for second floor towards back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! All the staff at Daddy O thanks you for recognizing our hard work. We hope you had fun during the BCS game, and hope you’ll visit the Daddy O Hotel again soon.
Daddy O Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Lovely hotel, great room. One of the best beds ever!!! Room small but very comfortable. To go breakfast included, no where to sit to eat it.
Staff polite and helpful
Sadly will not return to Miami due to an horrendous experience of having car towed. All tourists need to be made aware of the $317 charge to recover your vehicle

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We’re sorry to hear about your car being towed. That is honestly a rare occurrence and we are happy to hear that your car was not towed while on Daddy O Hotel property. Otherwise, thank you for the wonderful review. Our beds are one of the most requested items after a guests stay. Just in case you were wondering, these beds are especially made for wholesale distribution to hotels, so unfortunately, you would not be able to purchase one for domestic use. Thank you for recognizing the effort, and friendliness of all our staff. And hopefully you will reconsider coming back to Miami so that you can return to the Daddy O Hotel.
Best Regards,
Daddy O Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Pros:Well appointed rooms, good service, good location, continental breakfast included, wifi included, cheap parking,good sized rooms, good flat screen TVs, new linens/bedding,
Cons: thin walls, so-so cleaning, hot water turned off at off peak hours.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of the Daddy O Hotel on tripadvisor. The good most definitely outweigh the bad here at the Daddy O. We will defiantly make note of the remarks you’ve made and work towards improving it. Thanks again for the great review!
Best Regards,
Daddy O Hotel Associates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We loved the place, we stayed there for two nights and It was great. Great location and safe environment. were definitely coming back. Right next to the shops and great restaurant area. Close by the beach and the South Beach night scene. We recommend the hotel 100%...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review of the Daddy O Hotel on tripadvisor! We’re very proud of our location and are glad you’ve enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Daddy O Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We brought our two little dogs and the staff was so nice to them (even though they barked a lot). The rooms were clean and spacious. The breakfast staff was super nice and gave us food even though we were late. They even pay your parking meter (with a small fee). I would definitely recommend it to a friend!

-Nick & Felisha

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for posting a 5 star review of the Daddy O Hotel on tripadvisor. Our entire staff is pleased to hear that you and your 2 puppies enjoyed staying with us. When planning a future trip to Miami please remember to stay with us again.
Best regards,
Daddy O Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Daddy O's and were very impressed with the helpful and friendly staff and the lovely "boutique" rooms with a rain head showers and a very comfortable bed. The neighbourhood is quiet and safe with good restaurants close by. We were very impressed with the quality of the hotel given the reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for posting a great review of the Daddy O Hotel on tripadvisor. Our staff is pleased to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant experience. We strive to provide the best service possible to all of our customers. It’s through reviews like yours that we as a staff evaluate our service. On behalf of the whole staff here at Daddy O Hotel, we would like to thank you for your kind review. It’s always our pleasure to serve you to the best of our abilities and we do hope you will remember us for any future travel needs in our area.

Regards,
Daddy O Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daddy O Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daddy O Hotel

Address: 9660 East Bay Harbor Drive, Bay Harbor Islands, FL 33154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Bay Harbor Islands
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bay Harbor Islands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Daddy O Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in March 2010, our small, stylish boutique hotel provides guests with a sophisticated yet personal experience along with convenient access to South Beach hot spots, dining, shopping, nightlife and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Daddy O Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daddy O Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.