We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VALUE! JUST WHAT WE NEEDED!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daddy O Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Daddy O Hotel to your Saves list
Daddy O Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9660 East Bay Harbor Drive, Bay Harbor Islands, FL 33154   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“GREAT VALUE! JUST WHAT WE NEEDED!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I have just returned from 2 wonderful nights at the daddy o hotel in Miami Beach.
The staff was all extremely kind and helpful.
For this price, it is surely the best you will get. The rooms are cozy and spotlessly clean.
Located only 7 minutes walk to the beach.
The hotel serves a simple breakfast with bagels, muffins, butter, jam, cream cheese, fruit.
And you have free hot drinks all day long.
Two things bothered us; ants were found on the table in the room, and the walls were too thin, we could hear our neighbor's conversation, but still highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
The Daddy O takes great measures to make each guest’s stay as enjoyable as possible and we are very pleased that we could do just that for you. Our housekeepers are vigilant in making sure that rooms are clean and ready for each new guest. Our bellmen are always ready to help guest with any heavy lifting or technical issues that you may encounter. Our front desk agents are ever delighted to assist in any capacity needed; so regarding you spotting a ant on the table of your room, we really wished that would have reported the sighting to the front desk so we could notify our pest control company immediately. We are very pleased that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you both come back soon for another well needed get-away!

With kind regards,
Daddy O hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    223
    58
    26
    13
See reviews for
78
303
53
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

A good concept that they were unable to execute. Old and tired. Dirty carpets, paper thin walls and ceilings - you hear EVERYTHING, small crowded rooms. House cleaning did not even remove our dirty glasses, empty wine bottle or ice bucket filled with melted ice - water! They left a plastic cup wrapper on the floor and did not restock coffee pods for the morning. When we reported this to the front desk, nothing was done to address it. We were told the manager would be in touch with us in the morning before checkout. When we checked out, we were told he would be in touch with us later that day to address compensation. Still no word 2 days later. Also, no room service or amenities in the Hotel. Skip the temptation to go "Botique" and stick with mainstream brand names, Hilton, Westin, and the like. I know we certainly will from now on. Can't rate the swimming pool as there was none. Nor the restaurant as the kitchen closes at 10 pm and as we arrived between 9:30 and 9:45 the front desk told us we would not be served. They just suggested we ordered take out. No room service and no offer to do a quick snack or anything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of the Daddy O Hotel on tripadvisor, good, bad, or great we value every guest response. As the Assistant General Manager of the Daddy O Hotel, I would like to apologize to you for our housekeeping associate who overlooked your room. The housekeeper assigned to service your room as been with the Daddy O Hotel since it opened in March 2010, so it is out of character for her to skip a guest’s room. We have addressed the housekeeper who was responsible for cleaning your room and she also apologizes to you for the inconvenience of returning after a long day to a dirty hotel room. Regarding the property and the amenities we lack, we do our best to accurately describe the hotel and we hope that our guests will thoroughly investigate hotel amenities prior to booking. The Daddy O Hotel is not equipped with a on property swimming pool, instead we offer complimentary access to L.A.Fitness gym which offers a full work out facility, sauna and indoor swimming pool. The Daddy O does not run or operate a restaurant, the hotel is connected to the famous Palm restaurant, and there is about 15-20 delivery options available in the immediate area. I would like to opportunity to speak with you regarding the quality of service you experienced while staying at the Daddy O Hotel and hope that you will call at your earliest convenience (305)-868-4141. Once again thank you for staying at the Daddy O Hotel and we do appreciate your review.

Best regards,
Daddy O Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mn
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed at the Daddy O for 3 days and elected to switch hotels for the remainder of my 10 day visit to Miami. My main reason for changing locations was the lack of ammenities. There is no restaurant, pool, or exercise facility (although you can use a fitness club some distance away without charge)

The rooms are small, and the bathooms do not have tubs and limited counter space and there are no refridges. My biggest complaint would be the paper thin walls. I could here an entire conversation of the guest in the next room on his cell phone, and television of course. My room was overlooking the parking lot so there was noise on two sides.

On a posative note, the staff could not have been more pleasant or accomadating. Because of its small size, they knew you by name.

If you enjoy a quaint, boutique hotel atmosphere you would probably be very happy here.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
The Daddy O Hotel team takes great pride in quality of service we provide to our guests, and are very pleased you noticed our level of personal service. Since the Daddy O Hotel is a small boutique property, the on property amenities you mentioned that we are lacking, are off site amenities. In the immediate area walking distance from the hotel there is around 15-20 great restaurants. The hotel is walking distance to the beach, we provide guests with complimentary beach towels, chairs and umbrellas. Our guests also receive complimentary gym service at L.A.Fitness just by showing your room key. L.A.Fitness offers a full work out facility, sauna and indoor swimming pool. The Daddy O hotel is always trying to maintain and add to the guest rooms, and we are pleased to announce that as soon as January 2013, all guests rooms will be equipped with a microwave and a mini refrigerator. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced while staying with us, and appreciate your input. Reviews like yours help us to identify problem areas and try to find solutions to improve overall guest satisfaction.
With warm regards,
Daddy O Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

If you are on a budget, like myself, but Miami Beach is on your itinerary anyway, I recommend checking out Daddy O's Hotel. Our off-season rate was more than reasonable and we even grabbed a deal where our parking was free. All of the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome.
My wife insisted I mention how cute the room was decorated. It had bright, cheery colors, necessary for the size of the room. The king-size bed was very comfortable. It was made with sheet-blanket-sheet arrangement so we knew it was clean. There was nice 40+ inch flat screen on the wall. Even the bathroom was appealing.
I did not get to "Palm", the restaurant attached, but was impressed by two Bentley's and an R7, parked in front. We did make the easy stroll across the bridge over the Intercoastal waterway to the beach and the amazing Bal Harbor Shops.

Room Tip: Our second floor corner room had two directions of light to make the small room bigger. Also, enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Daddy O Hotel is definitely worth the price! Thank you, and your wife, so much for the glowing review. We appreciate your remarks and hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Daddy O Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location few blocks from the beach, restaurants and shops. Parking available for $8 a day, and close to bus stops which we used about half hour away to south beach. The rooms are beautifully decorated and really comfortable, really clean with king size bed. Breakfast has plenty of choice and is fresh. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Miami.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for the review! We are so proud of our hotel and love it when others feel the same. Our location, pricing, and comfort are what make us appealing, but our service is definitely what sets us apart. Thank you again, and we would like to see you soon!

With warm regards,
Daddy O Hotel Associates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Oh
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel was awesome! We will definitely be back! The rooms were great; well appointed, quiet and spotless-extremely comfortable! The staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating-really unbelievable how pleasant EVERYONE who worked there was! Continental breakfast was ample with fresh bagels, bread and muffins daily. So convenient to the beach as well--and free chairs, towels and umbrellas to take with you, too. Wonderful restaurants within walking distance--and a terrific high end mall! Right next door was The Palm which had fabulous food and service complete with a bar if you prefer. We really can't stress the value for the price! One note-no blow dryers or irons in the room, but probably available at the desk--everything else was!

Room Tip: There are only 35 rooms in this hotel...I can't imagine any being badly placed....no elevator th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We are so happy you’ve enjoyed your vacation with us! Our aim at the Daddy O is always to make our guest feel satisfied with their stay, and we are so pleased you were. Our complimentary continental breakfast, wi-fi and international/ domestic long distance are just small perks we like to offer our guest for staying with us. Please visit us again as soon as possible.
Thank you,
Daddy O Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great value. Great location. Great room. Great staff. Horrible sound insulation. If it weren't for the thin walls this hotel is 5 stars all day. Bal Harbour Shops, great restaurants, and beach just a short walk. 5 minute drive to Haulover Beach. I love this hotel and will make it my base of operations on my frequent trips to Miami.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Great review! Thank you so much. We are so proud of our location,staff, and accommodations. We hope to see you again really soon!
Thanks again,
Daddy O Hotel Associates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daddy O Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daddy O Hotel

Address: 9660 East Bay Harbor Drive, Bay Harbor Islands, FL 33154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Bay Harbor Islands
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bay Harbor Islands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Daddy O Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in March 2010, our small, stylish boutique hotel provides guests with a sophisticated yet personal experience along with convenient access to South Beach hot spots, dining, shopping, nightlife and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Daddy O Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daddy O Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.