We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Miami Beach Stay for the Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daddy O Hotel

Save Saved
You added Daddy O Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Daddy O Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9660 East Bay Harbor Drive, Bay Harbor Islands, FL 33154   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great Miami Beach Stay for the Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

If you are on a budget, like myself, but Miami Beach is on your itinerary anyway, I recommend checking out Daddy O's Hotel. Our off-season rate was more than reasonable and we even grabbed a deal where our parking was free. All of the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome.
My wife insisted I mention how cute the room was decorated. It had bright, cheery colors, necessary for the size of the room. The king-size bed was very comfortable. It was made with sheet-blanket-sheet arrangement so we knew it was clean. There was nice 40+ inch flat screen on the wall. Even the bathroom was appealing.
I did not get to "Palm", the restaurant attached, but was impressed by two Bentley's and an R7, parked in front. We did make the easy stroll across the bridge over the Intercoastal waterway to the beach and the amazing Bal Harbor Shops.

Room Tip: Our second floor corner room had two directions of light to make the small room bigger. Also, enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Daddy O Hotel is definitely worth the price! Thank you, and your wife, so much for the glowing review. We appreciate your remarks and hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Daddy O Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    270
    191
    48
    24
    10
See reviews for
64
244
43
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location few blocks from the beach, restaurants and shops. Parking available for $8 a day, and close to bus stops which we used about half hour away to south beach. The rooms are beautifully decorated and really comfortable, really clean with king size bed. Breakfast has plenty of choice and is fresh. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Miami.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for the review! We are so proud of our hotel and love it when others feel the same. Our location, pricing, and comfort are what make us appealing, but our service is definitely what sets us apart. Thank you again, and we would like to see you soon!

With warm regards,
Daddy O Hotel Associates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Oh
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel was awesome! We will definitely be back! The rooms were great; well appointed, quiet and spotless-extremely comfortable! The staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating-really unbelievable how pleasant EVERYONE who worked there was! Continental breakfast was ample with fresh bagels, bread and muffins daily. So convenient to the beach as well--and free chairs, towels and umbrellas to take with you, too. Wonderful restaurants within walking distance--and a terrific high end mall! Right next door was The Palm which had fabulous food and service complete with a bar if you prefer. We really can't stress the value for the price! One note-no blow dryers or irons in the room, but probably available at the desk--everything else was!

Room Tip: There are only 35 rooms in this hotel...I can't imagine any being badly placed....no elevator th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We are so happy you’ve enjoyed your vacation with us! Our aim at the Daddy O is always to make our guest feel satisfied with their stay, and we are so pleased you were. Our complimentary continental breakfast, wi-fi and international/ domestic long distance are just small perks we like to offer our guest for staying with us. Please visit us again as soon as possible.
Thank you,
Daddy O Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great value. Great location. Great room. Great staff. Horrible sound insulation. If it weren't for the thin walls this hotel is 5 stars all day. Bal Harbour Shops, great restaurants, and beach just a short walk. 5 minute drive to Haulover Beach. I love this hotel and will make it my base of operations on my frequent trips to Miami.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Great review! Thank you so much. We are so proud of our location,staff, and accommodations. We hope to see you again really soon!
Thanks again,
Daddy O Hotel Associates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel is fantastic. There was no fridge or microwave but these may or may not be available on request, you should ask the hotel, I can't remember if they are or not. They were offering cold beer for $2 each when I stayed so that was good. They offer valet parking (if you take a car PLEASE see the tip I've provided with this review) and they have staff to take your heavy bags to your room (no elevator).

I was served by a very friendly latin girl upon my arrival (I think her name was Elaine) and she was very welcoming and polite. The hotel throughout was clean and the room was near immaculate (there was a slight stain on the floor but it is clear it had been cleaned since so didn't gross me out)

They use key cards for the room so this gave the impression of a very secure environment and there was no smell in the room... no damp, nothing foul etc. Included in the room is a TV, a very luxurious, comfy bed, a coffee maker and an ipod compatible radio. Its fairly no-thrills when you think about it, but the design and simplicity made this a very enjoyable place to stay.

Other reviews suggested that the walls are paper thin so I must've been lucky as I heard nothing either side of me. The room I had was fairly small but, as I was travelling solo, this wasn't of concern to me.

This place is located very close to Bal Harbor Shops, its very luxurious so if you are on a tight budget, forget it (think Saks Fifth Avenue, yes it even has one of those there so dig deep into your wallets, but it also contains affordable restaurants). The best place to go for food and drink is Harding Avenue, it has an array of banks, restaurants and a CVS pharmacy, which sells foodstuffs and drinks. All these venues are a 5 minute walk from Daddy O, over the 96th Street (Kane Concourse) bridge.

I haven't added photos as the camera I used to take them suffered an untimely demise in an incident I suffered at the Everglades.

If I visit Miami again, this will be where I stay without a second thought. A special thanks to Elaine for the service she provided :-D

Room Tip: Not about rooms but if you have a car with you, THINK TWICE before you pay the $8 per day parking fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for the review! Elaine and all of our staff are happy that you’ve noticed their efforts to make your stay enjoyable- from keeping your room immaculate, to brightening your morning with a cup of coffee and a smile. We are here to delight our guest in any way possible. We too are happy with the simplicity of our hotel-while providing some surprising frills- such as free wi-fi, international and domestic long distance, and soon we will be adding refrigerators in the rooms as well. We are an affordable hotel for the Bal Harbor vicinity, and though we do charge for parking, it is nothing compared to the charges in the area. Otherwise, our guests would be subject to run back and forth paying meters. With the $8 payment, we do the grunt work for you. The most important part of the hotel is to feel comfortable and at home with us; we’re glad we could do that for you. We hope to see you again soon, and no Everglades mishaps next time!

Sincere thanks,
Daddy O Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Lorenzo H

We travelled to Florida Oct 2nd-7th 2012 and decided to do something new and break the trip up by staying in Miami and also going to Key West for a couple of days, then back to Miami. We usually stay on South Beach the entire time but again decided to change that up as well. We needed to find a hotel room in Miami the day we arrived and booked a room at the "Daddy O". Upon arrival outside of the hotel, we were Pleasantly surprised!! and the atmosphere was relaxed. The inside front lobby was just as nice. The colors and decor of the "Daddy O" give a sexy and exotic feel to it, and the "Wyclef Jean" playing over the front lobby sound system didn't hurt either. We were assisted with checking in by Elaine. Elaine was professional, helpful and friendly, she went out of her way to make sure we had a good room which was very clean and the bed was so comfortable. The Asst. General Mgr. Courtney was also at the front desk and we observed her going above and beyond to make sure a deposit was returned to the credit card of a past guest. The "Daddy O" has a great look, the front lounge chairs are also very comfortable and inviting to drink your $2 for Any beer special they were having. They also have a nice continental breakfast to start your day. This was our very first time ever staying outside of "South Beach" and only stayed one night at "Daddy O" due to the fact we had already booked another hotel in Miami upon our return from Key West but we would definitely stay at the "Daddy O" again and for more than one night!!!

Room Tip: Check in with Elaine or Asst. General Mgr. Courtney
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. It’s a shame you only got to stay with us one day, but we are so happy you did. Elaine, Courtney, and all of our staff are grateful that you’ve noticed their efforts to make you r stay enjoyable. We’re glad you were able to take advantage of our Oktoberfest beer promotion- $2 beers all October long, and now $3 all of November. And just so you know, if you aren’t able to come back this month, we sell wine and beer all year long! We hope you can come and visit us again soon!
Thank you,
Daddy O Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The best check-in you could have! We arrived after 3 days at Sea. We were tired, hungry and in need of a shower! The crew at Daddio's are so accommodating and friendly even though we were a little sea weathered! The room was spacious, clean and wonderfully decorated! The Shower is big enough for two! The water pressure and temperature was perfect! The bed was so comfortable! The people who where staying were so friendly and happy, it was like sitting on your own front porch chatting with your neighbors! Morning continental breakfast is fast, fresh and healthy! Parking is easy. Location is away from hustle!

Room Tip: The front desk will do their best to accommodate you, so let them know what you expect upon reservat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaddyOMiami, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We’re so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Daddy O is definitely the place to go when you need to relax. We are very proud of our rooms, and showers too, thank you for noticing. Our aim is to help our guest feel at home at all times. We’re very pleased with your review.
Thank you,
Daddy O Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Daddy O Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daddy O Hotel

Address: 9660 East Bay Harbor Drive, Bay Harbor Islands, FL 33154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Bay Harbor Islands
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bay Harbor Islands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Daddy O Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in March 2010, our small, stylish boutique hotel provides guests with a sophisticated yet personal experience along with convenient access to South Beach hot spots, dining, shopping, nightlife and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Daddy O Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daddy O Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.