We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Big Disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stay Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stay Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Stay Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1035 North Broadway Avenue, Bartow, FL 33830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bartow
Whitney Point, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Big Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

There was no WiFi, even though it was advertised. They also advertised a Continental breakfast which consisted of caffeinated coffee (I drink decaf only) in a disgustingly grungy pot and a little packaged sweet thing. The price for this bare-basics room was much more than what we had paid the previous 3 nights for much nicer rooms that had included beautiful breakfasts. I would never stay there again or recommend it to anyone!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
7
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Homosassa, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

First room the TV reception was not so good and the bathtub faucet wasn't working. Was then moved to other room and problem was fixed. Second room looked a bit dirty but was only there for the night. Complementary Coffee and a basic Continental Breakfast consisting of Jimmy Dean sandwiches and pastries was provided.

Was about half the price of the HI Express. (Only other hotel in Bartow.) Nice hotel but complementary tea with the coffee would be nice. Rooms could have also been cleaner, like around the bathroom for instance. Hotel also could have provided a better breakfast. Like what you get at a Choice Hotel. However you have Dennys on site so what the hey.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room if your staying for a week or more, its cheaper. Also get a room towards the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

the first time we stayed here it was very nice. the next time, the rate was higher, the service a bit lacking and the rooms were bad. One room of the two we booked was under construction (and the front office had no idea it was ripped apart) so we had to ask to be changed to another room. it took an extraordinary amount of time to find the room on the opposite side of our other already booked room, and then the shower quit working after the first day, and never worked for the rest of the stay in 90-degree plus heat. The brochure touts all sorts of amenities and we could not find any of them in our rooms. The tub in the room with the one working shower was plugged and drained very slowly so you took a shower standing in 4 inches of water.

Room Tip: ask for a newly refurbished room and hope for the best, avoid the rooms around back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We've been coming here for three years every spring for sun n fun. Francis is a top notch manager and has always been a pleasure to deal with. For $65 to $70 per night they offer a good value for your money. The rooms are clean, but they show their age as does the outside of the hotel. Alas, the reception area probably needs the most improvement- it's infused with stale smoke. Not the most welcoming. But free wifi is a plus and the staff really does a great job. Give them a try the next time you are in bartow

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, Iowa
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

And they take pets and charge nothing extra for them AND their rooms do not smell of either smoke or dog urine (always a plus).

We didn't get to use the pool as our stay was short, but we enjoyed our time here very much! Would stay her again without hesitation!

Room Tip: We stayed in an interior room next the pool area, at first there seemed to be a party in progress bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JUPITER
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel was very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was in an easy to get to location. The pool and amenities looked very nice although we didn't have the time to use them. I would return to this hotel again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stay here every year when we attend a square dance event at the beautiful Bartow Civic Center. Bartow is a charming town of wood frame houses and big oak trees draped with Spanish moss. The rooms are a bit small & shabby but clean enough and with microwave, TV and refrigerator. i found a few stray bugs in the mattress but when I presented them to the front desk they took care of it right away, completely changing the bedding and spraying the room for us. We had no more little visitors after that; This is not your cookie cutter big chain motel, but adequate and the staff were helpful. We also enjoyed the free coffee and packaged breakfast items available in the lobby, and Denny's is right next door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stay Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Inn & Suites

Address: 1035 North Broadway Avenue, Bartow, FL 33830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Bartow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bartow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stay Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stay Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Hotel Bartow
Stay Inn And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stay Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.