We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious! Can't wait to visit again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catfish Country

Catfish Country
2400 Ef Griffen Road, Bartow, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 56 Restaurants in Bartow
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Crossville, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious! Can't wait to visit again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We were visiting relatives in Winter Haven and they took us here! At home, we have a favorite catfish place, operated by very close friends of the family. We always have something to say about catfish we eat anywhere else, but not this time! The catfish was delicious. Fresh, tasty and piping hot! Everything was excellent! A great variety of sides -- including fried green tomatoes -- were offered. The menu is quite varied so there is something for everyone. The sweet tea was great, not too sweet!

The staff welcomed us and made us feel at home. Our server was very attentive without being bothersome!

The only thing we were upset about was that our hosts waited until our last night there to take us! We'll be back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    30
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bartow,Fl
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice Wait Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Most of the Staff is nice but this Restaurant is too Expensive to go too more than once every 6 months or so

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“This place is fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

A very casual restaurant with very good food. Catfish, shrimp, tilapia, alligator and more are all served here. Tne cheese grits and biscuits are very good. Country cooking at its best! License plates decorate the walls. Good place to have dinner when visiting Lakeland.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very Good Southern Catfish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We had a party of seven and all were very satisfied with the food. Lots of variety and location is very convenient just off US 98.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Even better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We rode to Catfish Country today with another couple who have been raving about the food.

It was our first time here, and the food was even better than expected.

Two of us had the 4 piece fried cajun catfish. I had cheese grits as my side and the other person had fires.

Our third person had the broiled seafood trio with baked sweet potato, and the last of our party had stuffed grouper with sweet potato.

This was a good variety of food to check out and everything we had was outstanding.

Service was great, prices very reasonable, and the atmosphere was casual and relaxing.

We'll be back and easily recommend this place to others.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catfish Country also viewed

 
Bartow, Central Florida
Bartow, Central Florida
 

Been to Catfish Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catfish Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.