We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FINALLY THE OLD FREDS IS BACK!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fred's Southern Kitchen - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fred's Southern Kitchen
1380 N Broadway Ave, Bartow, FL 33830-3380
863-534-3733
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Mulberry, Florida
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“FINALLY THE OLD FREDS IS BACK!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Haven't been to Bartow's Freds for 6 months due to a really horrible change in management. Thankfully, they got rid of that bunch and are back to their quality food and friendly, helpful staff. Food on the lunch buffet was plentiful and delicious. There were plenty of friendly, helpful wait staff and the new manager Nancy visited each table and inquired about your meal. Glad to have them back and available for my lunch hour dining options.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A fine choice for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Visiting family in Bartow, this was our second time here, both for breakfast, and it didn't disappoint. Friendly server, good coffee and a bountiful selection, from fruits and muffins/rolls to eggs, sausage, bacon, etc. Everything you would expect at a breakfast buffet. And they keep everything stocked with attractive presentation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

good food, limited buffet line, great service, friendly atmosphere and wait staff. Would visit again

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartow, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“USE to be Very Good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have been loyal diners at Fred's since it opened. Unfortunately, theire continuous cut backs are affecting both the food quality, variety and worst of all the staffing. Fred's always had a plentiful buffet of home cooked Southern food with lots of wonderful veggies - in the past!

Within the last 2 months, the quality and variety of food has dropped noticeably. The omelets made to order has been dropped, buffets and presentation are sloppy and often have dropped food, which was always being constantly cleaned in the past, to the little things. The chicken gravy, which use to be loaded with chunks of chicken and had flavor, NOW is just a light brown package mix. Most of the food tastes like it was warmed up from the can, no flavor added.

Their greatest asset was their manager Suzy and her 2 assistant managers. They constantly roamed the restaurant helping out, talking to customers, checking on food, etc. I was told by 2 ex-employees, that she was literally asked to beg for her job while taking a major pay cut. She quit that night instead!

On our last visit, only 2 wait staff and a hostess were still there from before. Previously, their staff were like family and had been with them for years, many since their opening. NOT ANYMORE!

The new manager locks himself in the office and the food shows it - from the broken rolls to the empty, covered spots on the buffet to the lack of selection.

Yet the prices keep going up!

USE to be a GREAT buffet!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Southern Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was with 5 friends in town for an event. We all ordered the the buffet.
Good selection. The ribs were good, not great. Fried chicken and fried fish also good, not great.
For me, the highlights were the vegetables, the breads and the desserts.
The cooked, sliced carrots had a hint of sweet and ginger to them - very good!
Collard greens - good
Sweet potatoes with brown sugar was like desert - excellent
Corn pudding - very good
pecan pie - very good
I tried a couple other desserts that were all very good.

I think their waste not, want not program is an outstanding idea. I wish all buffets would adopt that policy because it really helps to eliminate a lot of wasted food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fred's Southern Kitchen also viewed

Bartow, Central Florida
 
Bartow, Central Florida
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fred's Southern Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.