We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French food in Miami ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Goulue

La Goulue
9700 Collins Ave Ste 135, Bal Harbour, FL 33154
(305) 865-2181
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 16 Restaurants in Bal Harbour
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Collins Avenue
Description: Since 1973, la Goulue has been offering traditional French dishes, in the essence of chic Parisian bistros. Quality ingredients carefully selected, organic products chosen at best, daily arrivals of fresh fish, premium meats, homemade French fries, exceptional pasteries and nostalgic recipes... All the values that contribute to the reputation of our restaurant. Please explore our menu and enjoy your experience at La Goulue Bal Harbour.
new york
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“French food in Miami ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was not our best french food by far but we managed to have a nice time there so at the end eating is not always about the food..but about the moment...We stopped in for lunch one gloomy day in February and were immediately struck by the bustling atmosphere of the place. We managed to get a small table in the middle of the restaurant. Not much space but the food was good and the service ( a cuban waitress ) very friendly - we both had tuna tartar and fish as main course, nice wine selection from France and Spain too ( Marques de Riscal )..

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank timeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very good food but unpleasant hostess”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The food is very good and very reliable. We recommend the steak tartar, the mussels, the trout with almonds and green beans, the burgers, the French fries (best in Miami), and the desserts. The setting is very nice, both outside and inside (looks like an authentic upscale French bistro). They also have very nice specials like couscous and lam with white beans. Everything is just outstanding.

The problem is that lately they have had a hostess at the front of the house who is incredibly unpleasant, inefficient, and incompetent (brown hair in a pony tail). She's really unfriendly and slow. It's too bad. The owner and his wife were really nice and used to sit people. Not sure where they went.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BramStoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“almost flawless”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

service is fantastic, food is always delectable just lovely overall experience only one small detail kept it short of perfect ......

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AGV67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
528 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Run of the mill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This brasserie is located in an upscale Mall and has a French theme.
Location is poor with cars on one side and the mall on the other.
My mussels with fries were OK but my wife's chicken was overcooked.
Be aware that ,on the terrace ,smoking is allowed and to our great discomfort includes cigar smokers in droves.
Service is brisk and tends to rush you out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MILOUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Posh Mall!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a wonderful meal at La Goulue. But first we wandered around the mall where one could find a $750,000 painting or a $12,000 purse. We ate outside, and it was terrific there (the inside was quite handsome, but the weather was so nice we couldn't resist the patio). I had the couscous, the Tuesday special, and I ate every morsel. The service was rather spotty because the waiter kept disappearing.I would eat there again. It was fun to watch the limousines and Rolls-Royces coming and going.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelpromd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Goulue also viewed

 

Been to La Goulue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing