We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French food in Miami ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Goulue

La Goulue
9700 Collins Ave Ste 135, Bal Harbour, FL 33154
(305) 865-2181
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Bal Harbour
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Collins Avenue
Description: Since 1973, la Goulue has been offering traditional French dishes, in the essence of chic Parisian bistros. Quality ingredients carefully selected, organic products chosen at best, daily arrivals of fresh fish, premium meats, homemade French fries, exceptional pasteries and nostalgic recipes... All the values that contribute to the reputation of our restaurant. Please explore our menu and enjoy your experience at La Goulue Bal Harbour.
new york
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“French food in Miami ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was not our best french food by far but we managed to have a nice time there so at the end eating is not always about the food..but about the moment...We stopped in for lunch one gloomy day in February and were immediately struck by the bustling atmosphere of the place. We managed to get a small table in the middle of the restaurant. Not much space but the food was good and the service ( a cuban waitress ) very friendly - we both had tuna tartar and fish as main course, nice wine selection from France and Spain too ( Marques de Riscal )..

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    60
    28
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very good food but unpleasant hostess”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The food is very good and very reliable. We recommend the steak tartar, the mussels, the trout with almonds and green beans, the burgers, the French fries (best in Miami), and the desserts. The setting is very nice, both outside and inside (looks like an authentic upscale French bistro). They also have very nice specials like couscous and lam with white beans. Everything is just outstanding.

The problem is that lately they have had a hostess at the front of the house who is incredibly unpleasant, inefficient, and incompetent (brown hair in a pony tail). She's really unfriendly and slow. It's too bad. The owner and his wife were really nice and used to sit people. Not sure where they went.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“almost flawless”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

service is fantastic, food is always delectable just lovely overall experience only one small detail kept it short of perfect ......

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Run of the mill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This brasserie is located in an upscale Mall and has a French theme.
Location is poor with cars on one side and the mall on the other.
My mussels with fries were OK but my wife's chicken was overcooked.
Be aware that ,on the terrace ,smoking is allowed and to our great discomfort includes cigar smokers in droves.
Service is brisk and tends to rush you out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Posh Mall!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had a wonderful meal at La Goulue. But first we wandered around the mall where one could find a $750,000 painting or a $12,000 purse. We ate outside, and it was terrific there (the inside was quite handsome, but the weather was so nice we couldn't resist the patio). I had the couscous, the Tuesday special, and I ate every morsel. The service was rather spotty because the waiter kept disappearing.I would eat there again. It was fun to watch the limousines and Rolls-Royces coming and going.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Goulue also viewed

Bal Harbour, FL
Bal Harbour, FL
 
Bal Harbour, FL
 

Been to La Goulue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Goulue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.