We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priced for perfection. Far from perfect.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10295 Collins Avenue, Bal Harbour, FL 33154 (Formerly ONE Bal Harbour Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Priced for perfection. Far from perfect.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I decided to go to Miami for Valentine's Day. If I hadn't used American Express points for our stay, I would feel like we had been robbed. As it is, we are out over 587,000 points for a three-day stay that was valued at $1,300 PER NIGHT! There exists no alternate universe in which this hotel is worth this much.

For $1,300, I expect the room to change my life; to be spacious, perhaps with a sitting area or a dressing room. The room had a bed with some furniture crammed around it. We did have a large bathroom, which is great if you plan on spending a lot of time in the bathroom.

I also expect the television not to have images burned into the screen, the espresso machine not to be chipped, the bedside lamp not to be burned out and the shower not to leak all over the bathroom floor.

Although I had specified an ocean view, we had a freeway and an inter-coastal view from the bedroom. We did have an ocean view from the bathroom, which is great if you plan on spending a lot of time in the bathroom.

The spa had just re-opened the day of our arrival, with paper signs on the doors and walls. Many of the lockers were broken in the locker room, as was the men's steam room. It was a no-frills experience, which is not what you want from a luxury spa in a luxury hotel. Since the spa was definitely not ready for a grand re-opening, they should not have charged full price for the experience.

The staff was very earnest and tried really hard, but service was inconsistent. A concierge brought my husband a pair of cufflinks, because there is no gift shop in the hotel. However, we found service in the restaurant to be painfully slow at times, with several requests lost in translation.

The Ritz-Carlton needs to seriously re-evaluate the room rates for this hotel. As it's priced now, I would never go back.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Good day,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your feedback.

I was naturally concerned to hear of your experience with your room amenities, restaurant and spa service. Please be assured that this is neither typical nor representative of the excellent service we are renowned to provide at The Ritz-Carlton, Bal Harbour. In this respect please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and the delay taken in resolving this matter.

Once again, thank you very much for your valued feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Winfred van Workum
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    4
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Rooms off a private elevator, very private, magnificent views of ocean, intercostal , city north and south. The service is excellent, wonderful people working here. Pool and beach outstanding. Great path for walking along beach all the way to South beach. Walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staying at an hotel of this category you expect some things. From the facilities to the amenities and the service I found this hotel to be lacking on all fronts.

The design itself of the hotel is cumbersome and intrusive. The lobby is cramped, there are extremely few open areas or places to just 'be'. The rooms are in weird small little towers and no better than a westin.

The pool area is a joke. The exhaust vents for the whole hotel are smack in the middle of it, so you get this loud fan noises all the time. I have no idea who ever thought something like this would be acceptable.

There is free internet in the lobby and the rooms but it is very slow and RESTRICTED. That means that certain websites are blocked at the discretion of the network. Ridiculous. The only other place I've seen this happening in the world is in Korea.

Finally the location of the hotel itself is horrible. It has the worst location in bal harbour, all the way to the end which means you get extraordinary views of the highways and the beach is right next to the inlet. It is obvious that whoever built this had no other options and they simply had this plot of land left. This is no place for a high end hotel.

Overall I would never recommend someone stay here and I would never ever go back. For your money you can do so much better. Don't say you were not warned.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mr. Isaac,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share with us your comments regarding the hotel’s infrastructure, facilities, and amenities.

At The Ritz-Carlton, the genuine care and comfort of our guest is our highest mission. We pledge to provide the finest personal service and facilities to our guests.

I was naturally concerned to hear of your experience regarding your recent visit. Please be assured that this is neither typical nor representative of the excellent services and facilities we are renowned to provide at The Ritz-Carlton, Bal Harbour. Our luxury resort exudes a warm, residential atmosphere while offering elevated services and amenities. Our location in the exclusive Bal Harbour Village neighborhood offers easy access to boutique shopping, outdoor adventure and a thriving art scene. However, guests will discover that everything they desire is right here, from fine dining at Bistro Bal Harbour to waterfront treatments at our new lavish spa. The beach beckons from floor-to-ceiling windows in each guest room and suite, while a European-edged outdoor heated pool offers a worthy alternative to the Atlantic.

In this respect please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

Once again, thank you very much for your valued feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Ritz-Carlton, Bal Harbour very soon.


Sincerely,

Kevin Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Some many problems in just a short stay. I have stayed in EVERY hotel form south beach to Sunny Isles. There is NO COMPARISON in service to the St. Regis. Booked a room that was labeled as OCEANFRONT. Could not even see the ocean. Was given a beautiful room BUT with views of the front entrance and the highway. Room service breakfast was wrong each day. Best part was to be sleeping on Valentines day and to wake up to a housekeeper in my room at 10:15 pm wanting to do turn down service????? Just doesn't compare to St Regis especially at the price I paid for an OCEANFRONT room...feel bad because people are so nice..

Room Tip: Cant help u here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our children gave us a gift of a day at this beautiful hotel. Part of the package was that we were baby sitters for our grandchildren on that evening. That was not a negative. It was a huge positive.
The hotel and its grounds are gorgeous. The staff although well meaning are woefully inexperienced and and are significantly lacking skill wise.
We checked in on Friday afternoon. The bell person took us to our room. He tried to show us how the coffee maker worked - a difficult chore since he himself apparently did not know. We never were able to get it to function. I much prefer a Mr Coffee machine that doesn't require a degree in brain surgery.
We spent the afternoon swimming in the lovely pool and at the beautiful beach.
We came back to the room to shower. My wife looked for a hair dryer that she was unable to find. She called downstairs to ask where it might be. She was told it was under the sink. She looked under the sink and it wasn't there. She called for a hair dryer and was told it would be brought right up. After 20 minutes, no hair dryer. She calls again. Its on it way she was told. After another twenty minutes, still no hair dryer. She went through this another time until finally she got the requested hair dryer.
We go to dinner with the three kids. It was kind of uneventful, but the food in the only restaurant in the hotel was average at best. The prices were exorbitant. But this is a Ritz Carlton, so its somewhat expect.The service in a half filled restaurant was dreadfully slow with each person's food arriving sporadically.
We decided to order dessert from room service. There wasn't much that interested me so I abstained. Everybody else decided they wanted a cookie - ONE COOKIE, the price $5.00 each for a terrible cookie. With tip, taxes, room service fee, the price was $30.00 for four less than average cookies. I know its a Ritz Carlton - But C'mon. It also took over half and hour for the four cookies to arrive.
This morning for breakfast, my wife goes down to the restaurant and tells them that we will be seven four breakfast. They say they will have our table ready in a few minutes. We get to the restaurant. They indeed do have our table for seven ready, but they have given it to someone else. We start all over. The waitstaff are extremely polite, but they need schooling. The food again came sporadically. I ordered rye toast with my eggs. I'm still waiting.
Its really a shame, since its a beautiful property. The people are nice. But its a shame that most of them have no idea of what they are doing.

Room Tip: Wait until the staff is trained better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Good day,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your feedback. At The Ritz-Carlton, the genuine care and comfort of our guest is our highest mission. This is the reason why it means so much to us that you enjoyed the service you received from our Ladies and Gentlemen. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the amenities and location of the hotel.

I was naturally concerned to hear of your experience with your room and restaurant service. Please be assured that this is neither typical nor representative of the excellent service we are renowned to provide at The Ritz-Carlton, Bal Harbour. In this respect please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and the delay taken in resolving this matter.

Once again, thank you very much for your valued feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Winfred van Workum
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

Stayed a week for work reasons/in-hotel team meeting. Stepping out of a lift to see only 3 doors (2 rooms & 1 stairs) is a surprising first time experience! Lovely rooms, great views, great staff & service, excellent facilities, good food. Highly recommended if you can get a good rate. Didn't really have time to experience the surroundings but there seemed to be plenty in walking/biking distance to start with. Some of the team walked a short distance to a local marina for a great afternoon fishing trip. Meeting room facilities were good for our ~25 heads. Only tiny thing I can pick on, I should have asked earlier for a better light over the desk area (for working, the room lights were somewhat dull). Next time.

Room Tip: North facing rooms give you a view of the northern parks & beaches and charter boats coming and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bal Harbour, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Best oceanfront location in Bal Harbour with amazing ocean, intracoastal and city views. A great alternative to the frenzy of South Beach, this hotel is newly under Ritz-Carlton management and the improvements in service and facilities are quite noticeable. Convenient to world class shopping, restaurants and amazing beaches as well as boating and many outdoor activities. Beautifully decorated and appointed rooms are generous in size, all with balconies to enjoy the views. This luxury resort offers quiet and relaxation...perfect for couples and families looking for a quick beach break. Just don't expect the nightlife options available at the other end of the island (Lincoln Road and South Beach) which are only fifteen minutes away by car.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north have amazing ocean and intracoastal views. Lower floors closest to the Haulover B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami

Address: 10295 Collins Avenue, Bal Harbour, FL 33154 (Formerly ONE Bal Harbour Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Bal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the vast expanse of the Atlantic Ocean and just steps from all Miami has to offer, The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami is a luxury oceanfront resort. The resort boasts unparalleled onsite amenities, access to sparkling oceanfront sands and discover the exclusivity of only two elegant accommodations per floor. In each room, guests will enjoy spacious terraces, stunning views of the Atlantic or Intracoastal, elegant decor and 42-inch flat-screen TVs with surround-sound. Suites are beyond spacious, ranging from 1,147 to 2,800 square feet of total floor space and including up to four outdoor terraces and a gourmet kitchen. The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami makes leisure a way of life with its expansive outdoor pool, pristine beach area and full-service spa, featuring a wide range of relaxing and replenishing beauty and well-being treatments. As a family friendly Miami resort, The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami offers the Ritz Kids program that comes with special perks and benefits. The ultra-chic hotel is located near Bal Harbour dining, the famed designer Bal Harbour Shops, art galleries, nightlife and much more, providing easy access to the most exciting Miami activities. An oasis of indulgence nestled along the beautiful blue ocean, The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami is an elite place to gather for an elegant beachfront wedding or a festive celebration with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Bal Harbour Resort & Spa
One Bal Harbour Hotel Bal Harbour
One Bal Harbour Resort And Spa
Bal Harbour Regent
Regent Bal Harbour
The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.