We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10295 Collins Avenue, Bal Harbour, FL 33154 (Formerly ONE Bal Harbour Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An incredible hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

this hotel was great, everything from the food to the service is first class. The rooms are luxurious and private aothough the building was abut old. I loved the staff and our booking agent at www.private-properties.com was extremely helpfull with sorting out our arrangements.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ecuador
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed before the hotel became a Ritz but the idea is the same. Great facilities, great service, great food and fast internet (somehow this is something worth mentioning in Miami).

The pool and beach area are very nice, not private (beach) but still nice. The bar by the pool has good drinks (big plus). Perfect place to relax and read a book.

The food is good a bit pricey though. There are plenty of restaurants in the area that the concierge can recommend.

Residences are very nice too.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although the rating is medium, that is more to do with the slightly tired infrastructure of the hotel which really needs some care. However the staff of this hotel are excellent and deserve a 5 star rating especially the Pool and beach staff who were unfailingly courteous and friendly. Great place to stay with good amenities and I amsure with a little bit of work this would definitely rate 5 star rating and i am sure Ritz Carlton, who have recently taken over, will take care of this

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Bob,

Thank you for your valued feedback.

At The Ritz-Carlton, the genuine care and comfort of our guest is our highest mission. This is the reason why it means so much to us that you enjoyed the service you received from our Ladies and Gentlemen. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the amenities and location of the hotel.

We appreciate you are taking the time to share with us your comments regarding the hotel’s infrastructure. Please rest assure that we will address the deficiencies accordingly.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Ritz-Carlton, Bal Harbour very soon.

Kevin Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton Bal Harbour for one night this week, I wanted to love it ( as I do the others we have visited ) however I'm sorry to say we left feeling deflated.
Firstly the good points ;
Check in was prompt, offered a glass of bubbly, staff friendly & professional
The room was lovely, well furnished , nice colour scheme and wonderful view
The bathroom was stunning with a bath in front of floor to ceiling glass affording fabulous view
The toiletries were Asprey.
Now the not so good points ;
There was no hotel information pack in our room
The breakfast order menu had been scribbled on and already completed
The body lotion in the bathroom had been used and was half empty
The shower leaked badly into the bedroom ( we did mention on check out )
Workmen began drilling at 0915
Food in the restaurant wasn't to standard ( my husbands steak has to be returned and I had almost finished my meal by the time it returned )
To eat our meal ( which was almost $200 ) we were seated in front of the bar listening to 4 bar men chatting in Spanish and were the only people there.
On check out our bill should have shown $100 room credit ( part of the package ) it didn't so we brought it up. It was rectified but with no apology .
I understand that the Ritz Carlton group has only recently taken over this hotel , I think if I'd been aware of this we would have booked elsewhere. There is a lot of improvement required to bring it up to Ritz Carlton standards.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Good day,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the warm welcome from our Ladies and Gentlemen, and that you admired your room and view.

I was naturally concerned to hear of your experience regarding your room amenities and dining experience. Please be assured that this is neither typical nor representative of the excellent service we are renowned to provide at The Ritz-Carlton, Bal Habour. In this respect please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and the delay taken in resolving these matters.

Once again, thank you very much for your valued feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Kevin Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We stayed here in September, and it was beautiful. The pool was amazing, the view from our room was fantastic and we were really relaxed.

However, the food was a huge let down. We had room service on the first night, and none of it was nice. The pho was full of salt, the drinks were not what we ordered, and one dish didn't arrive at all. We complained, and it took 45 minutes for a replacement to arrive, which was also sub standard. We tried lunch the next day in the restaurant, which was also not very nice and VERY slow. It was a shame as the prices were high and you would expect more from a 5* hotel. We were assured that we wouldn't pay for the room service meal which was fine.

When we checked out, there was a problem with the payment system and we couldn't settle our bill (Ritz Carlton had taken over while we stayed there). I double and triple checked with the receptionist that the meals wouldn't be included when my card was charged, and she assured me this would be the case. She also told us we would receive an email copy of our bill to look over before being charged. I wrote my email address down nice and clearly so she could read it.

3 weeks later, I was stung with a charge that was far higher than we should have paid! There has been no email with a copy of our bill, and when we phoned to complain we were told that someone would call us back.

I am so disappointed in the level of service from this place. I have also tried emailing several times but no one ever replies, so I have to phone the USA which is an added expense on top of all this.

Be aware when you go - don't give them permission to charge your card later, and don't eat there!!!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Good day,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the view from your room, and that you were able to relax by our pool.

I was naturally concerned to hear of your experience at the restaurant and with your invoice. Please be assured that this experience is neither typical nor representative of the excellent service we are renowned to provide at The Ritz-Carlton, Bal Habour. In this respect please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and for the delay taken in resolving this matter. May I kindly ask you to contact Winfred Van Workum at (305) 455-5400 so we can better assist you.

Once again, thank you very much for your valued feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Kevin Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Well, where do you start. The hotel itself is uninspiring but functional. The location is by a flyover, so not great. The rooms are well appointed with good views but the movies don't work. The food quality is adequate, so all in all I would normally give this hotel an average rating.
However…. what makes this hotel very good is the service, especially the front of house. This is quite exceptional. I have never been to any hotel, worldwide where they just get it. Friendly, polite and professional, simply brilliant and it has made all the difference.
Bravo to all.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Excellent hotel recently joined the Ritz Carlton group, room was spacious and comfortably furnished, we had a view of the waterway and beach so sipped wine watching the yachts pass by, lovely area, very quant away from the hussle of Miami with a lot of boutique shiops and galleries.

Would like to have had more time to explore will definitely revisit.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami

Address: 10295 Collins Avenue, Bal Harbour, FL 33154 (Formerly ONE Bal Harbour Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Bal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami 4.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the vast expanse of the Atlantic Ocean and just steps from all Miami has to offer, The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami is a luxury oceanfront resort. The resort boasts unparalleled onsite amenities, access to sparkling oceanfront sands and discover the exclusivity of only two elegant accommodations per floor. In each room, guests will enjoy spacious terraces, stunning views of the Atlantic or Intracoastal, elegant decor and 42-inch flat-screen TVs with surround-sound. Suites are beyond spacious, ranging from 1,147 to 2,800 square feet of total floor space and including up to four outdoor terraces and a gourmet kitchen. The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami makes leisure a way of life with its expansive outdoor pool, pristine beach area and full-service spa, featuring a wide range of relaxing and replenishing beauty and well-being treatments. As a family friendly Miami resort, The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami offers the Ritz Kids program that comes with special perks and benefits. The ultra-chic hotel is located near Bal Harbour dining, the famed designer Bal Harbour Shops, art galleries, nightlife and much more, providing easy access to the most exciting Miami activities. An oasis of indulgence nestled along the beautiful blue ocean, The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami is an elite place to gather for an elegant beachfront wedding or a festive celebration with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One Bal Harbour Resort And Spa
1 Bal Harbour Resort & Spa
One Bal Harbour Hotel Bal Harbour
Bal Harbour Regent
Regent Bal Harbour
The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.