We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive bread” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carpaccio

Carpaccio
9700 Collins Ave, Ste 139, Bal Harbour, FL 33154
305-867-7777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Bal Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Paris, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Expensive bread”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The food was good, so was the service, but we did not appreciate to be charged $ 14 for two baskets of bread, the first one being on the table when we arrived.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank POINSETTIA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't come for the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This restaurant was opposite our hotel (the St Regis), and always seemed busy and bustling, so as there wasn't a huge choice of restaurants in the area we gave it a try. I'd say it's more a place to be seen after shopping in the designer Bal Harbor shops - the food definitely comes second to the atmosphere.
We had a table squashed in the middle of the outdoor terrace, and I had either waiters or guests constantly bashing into the back of my chair. The Italian menu sounded great but it just didn't deliver on flavour. The service was good - no complaints there - but it's such a shame the food was so bland and disappointing. It was also very rushed, they don't take bookings so maybe they try and fit in as many people as possible.
There was also quite a lot of 'happy birthday' singing (it happened 2 or 3 times while we were there), when all the waiters gather together and approach a table for a big bout of singing. Once is fine, after that it's just a tiny bit annoying!
Friendly, bustling, a nice evening but let down by the food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScjMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
77 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“NOT WOTH THE MONEY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Carpaccio is an average restaurant. Its pizza is the worst I have tried in my whole life. Noisy, sloppy service. Never again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 666Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best service, delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Carpaccio is nice friendly restaurant. Prices are acceptable pasta between 16-22$. Service is fantastic. Highly recommend !!!!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oxanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

One of my Bal Harbour favorites. Always consistent every time. Whether taking a break from a relaxing day of shopping or making it a destination restaurant - you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carpaccio also viewed

Bal Harbour, FL
Bal Harbour, FL
 

Been to Carpaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing