We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, crowded place and fast service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carpaccio

Carpaccio
9700 Collins Ave, Ste 139, Bal Harbour, FL 33154
305-867-7777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 restaurants in Bal Harbour
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Newport Beach, California, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food, crowded place and fast service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at the St Regis across the street and wanted to try this restaurant since its the #1 in the area according to the reviews on tripadvisor. And there were not a lot of options besides the restaurants in the hotel anyway. We liked the food but it was nothing impressive. The service was fast, which was good cause the place got crowded. And the atmosphere of the restaurant was nice but nicer than the food. Good experience overall.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    385
    237
    62
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“You must be joking1”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Plain food in a hurry. Waiters who hover over you to push alcohol and bottled water. Plates pulled away from under your nose even though there is food on them to be eaten. Rude waiters who cannot take "No thank you" for an answer to have more. "Todays Specials" (always a trap) but never the price mentioned. If you ask for the price, it is always extortionate. So why do I go? I live across the road, there is really nowhere else, I go if we are with others who want to try it out.
Better go for a little walk to Bettos in Bay Harbour Islands, or a drive to Carpaccio's sister restaurant Sea Grill3913 NE 163rd St North Miami Beach. The staff there are really amazing, polite, friendly, efficient and helpful. Beautiful ambience right on the water.
This blog is entirely my own, I have no interest in any restaurant anywhere, it is not an "Attack ad".

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We called ahead on a Sunday night and were suggested to come in at 6:30 before it got crowded. It was a short wait as the line moved quite quick. Four of us were seated outside at a tight space between the window and the main thoroughfare. The meal didn't start out great as there were a couple of tables with people smoking nearby. However, everything improved when the food came. The tuna was delicious, as was the linguine with fresh clams. Our guests also had two outstanding dishes as well. Unfortunately the waiter was a bit overwhelmed as we sat quite a while waiting for our drinks with dinner and also to order dessert. The people watching was outstanding and along with the food would bring us back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAY SHORE
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Great for People Watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Somehow the whole of Carpaccio is greater than the sum of its parts. The food is good, but the entire experience is excellent. The servers are professional & the prices are fair. I actually forgot my iPad, but the manager returned it when I came back 25 minutes later. It's one of our favorite restaurants in South Florida. The mixed salad (8.50) was terrific; the Caesar salad was boring. The salmon was good; the linguine & clams ok. The bread was good; we found a good Tuscan red for under $50.
Note: an 18% gratuity is included; so don't double tip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It's all about the Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We love meeting friends at Carpaccio in Bal Harbour. It's not about how busy it is or even the quality of the food. Sadly, it's about the location half-way between Aventura and Miami. Last night we met friends at Bal Harbour who wanted to do some shopping there and Carpaccio was the place they chose. It was early (5:30 pm) so waiting wasn't a problem. And we have learned to order one course at a time so they don't rush us. My risotto was awful, not fully cooked but the huge prawns were wonderful. Others ordered the veal chop, split between 2, over salad and loved it. Sitting outside, watching the Ferraris and Bentleys arrive is also part of the show. As I said, great location.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carpaccio also viewed

Bal Harbour, FL
Bal Harbour, FL
 
Bal Harbour, FL
 

Been to Carpaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carpaccio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.