We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointing!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of J&G Grill

J&G Grill
9703 Collins Avenue, Bal Harbour, FL 33154
305.993.3333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
J&G Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Bal Harbour
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“So disappointing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We went to the J&G Grill for my birthday as we always loved the Jean George restaurants in New York. Our dinner was very expensive and very mediocre. I had the beet salad appetizer and the scallops and my husband had the butternut squash soup and the miso cod. We were so disappointed that we didn't even order desert! Since the restaurant knew it was my birthday, they did send a free desert with a beautifully inscribed Happy Birthday in chocolate but the three strange cookies were terrible and after a taste, we left them over. The room was noisy, too large, and cold looking with its dark taupe decor. There was strange music playing that had a constant "thump" and was very repetitive. The dark wood tables had what looked like chilewich placemats made from woven vinyl (I use them on my kitchen table). I thought that a restaurant with those prices should have a more elegant table setting. The one good part of this experience was the service. The waitress and servers were wonderful. It was the food that wasn't.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    29
    22
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

great menu, lovely presentations and food was delicious. So nice to have experienced such a nice dinner right in our hotel

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Average food at best. Service is rather lacking.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

If I were in this hotel again I would pass on this restaurant.
Nothing special at all. Sure not up to the high standards of other Jean George restaurants I have tried. The service seemed to want to chat with each other rather than pay attention the their guests. Sure hard getting their attention with several requests. Food was not that impressive at all. Better to skip this place if you are considering.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Quality food delivered with quality service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The food, quality, taste and prep was amazing. Fresh fish, fine foie gras and fabulous wine list. The desert might have been the stand out though, some amazing salted carmel ice cream sundae with homemade cracker jacks on top. WOW. And you get to enjoy it all with the Atlantic as the back drop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
554 helpful votes 554 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations.....try it. Beats Soho House any day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Arriving to be dealt with by two unsmiling receptionists was not a good start (send them back to receptionis school to learn to smile and greet) but after that it was uphill all the way. Very good food and perfect service in dramatic and upscale room. This deserves to become a destination restaurant. Tonight we made the mistake of going to Soho House for dinner....which was disgusting/horrible/greasy.....wish we'd returned to J and G Grill instead....it is 100 times better. Try it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J&G Grill also viewed

Bal Harbour, FL
Bal Harbour, FL
 

Been to J&G Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J&G Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.