We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and people watching” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makoto

Makoto
Bal Harbour Shops 9700 Collins Ave, Bal Harbour, FL 33154
(305) 864-8600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Makoto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Bal Harbour
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 96th St
Transit: 96th St and Collins Ave
Description: Stephen Starr's newest Japanese restaurant, Makoto is located in the prestigious Bal Harbour Shops. Makoto features a modern Japanese menu including sushi bar selections, modern Japanese dishes, and bincho charcoal robata. A hand-crafted beverage program focused on sake compliments the cuisine. The dining room and sushi bar seating are available by reservation. Outdoor seating is available upon arrival.
NYC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food and people watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Love the Makoto food and staff. Nothing like enjoying a Lychee Martini and watching the beautiful people valet their cars

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    104
    38
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good sushi - Nice atmostphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Want a nice relaxing sushi and chardonnay break while shopping at Bal Harbour? Take some time and visit Makoto. Relaxing restaurant with great service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Japanese ... Jiro style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

this is great for a family as well as a couple. or just a quick bite at the bar. I love the bar at this place even when w my wife. you get watch them create art that you later eat. pricy. but almost always amazing tasts and elation.

try to grilled fish on wooden plaque

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Expensive, not authentic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Dark, odorous, tasteless, American-Japanese (Burgers!!!), expensive for what they offer. Nice folk who are keen to please but have not a clue about food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“So glad we cancelled our original reservation somewhere else to try Makotos! Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, I am not a sushi lover, I will not eat raw fish if you paid me. That being said my husband is & instead of yet another Italian place, we opted to treat his palate & I would make do with whatever chicken dish they had. I am so glad we did. I ordered a vegittaren roll, tempura zucchini & peppers...it was so good! My husband had a caterpillar roll & another and said they were fantastic. They really used the freshest ingredients. For my entree, I had the pepper chicken & it was one of the best tasting chicken dishes I have ever had. The freshest veggies & the sauce was out of this world! We split the Japanese risotto and were both wowed! We over ate for sure just not being able to put it down! For dessert we shared the mochi which for those that have not had it is a strangely refreshing sort of icecream sort of thing-but not icecream. Just try it. The atmosphere outside was relaxed & beautiful and to top it off, our waitress, Julia was amazing. On top of her game & extremely knowledgable. I really enjoyed it even though I'm not a sushi fan, so anyone will enjoy the food here! Caio!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makoto also viewed

 
Bal Harbour, FL
 

Been to Makoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.