We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and people watching” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makoto

Makoto
Bal Harbour Shops 9700 Collins Ave, Bal Harbour, FL 33154
(305) 864-8600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Makoto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Bal Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 96th St
Transit: 96th St and Collins Ave
Description: Stephen Starr's newest Japanese restaurant, Makoto is located in the prestigious Bal Harbour Shops. Makoto features a modern Japanese menu including sushi bar selections, modern Japanese dishes, and bincho charcoal robata. A hand-crafted beverage program focused on sake compliments the cuisine. The dining room and sushi bar seating are available by reservation. Outdoor seating is available upon arrival.
NYC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food and people watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Love the Makoto food and staff. Nothing like enjoying a Lychee Martini and watching the beautiful people valet their cars

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nycitaliantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good sushi - Nice atmostphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Want a nice relaxing sushi and chardonnay break while shopping at Bal Harbour? Take some time and visit Makoto. Relaxing restaurant with great service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Japanese ... Jiro style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

this is great for a family as well as a couple. or just a quick bite at the bar. I love the bar at this place even when w my wife. you get watch them create art that you later eat. pricy. but almost always amazing tasts and elation.

try to grilled fish on wooden plaque

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan202020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Expensive, not authentic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Dark, odorous, tasteless, American-Japanese (Burgers!!!), expensive for what they offer. Nice folk who are keen to please but have not a clue about food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gourmand34671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
338 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“So glad we cancelled our original reservation somewhere else to try Makotos! Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, I am not a sushi lover, I will not eat raw fish if you paid me. That being said my husband is & instead of yet another Italian place, we opted to treat his palate & I would make do with whatever chicken dish they had. I am so glad we did. I ordered a vegittaren roll, tempura zucchini & peppers...it was so good! My husband had a caterpillar roll & another and said they were fantastic. They really used the freshest ingredients. For my entree, I had the pepper chicken & it was one of the best tasting chicken dishes I have ever had. The freshest veggies & the sauce was out of this world! We split the Japanese risotto and were both wowed! We over ate for sure just not being able to put it down! For dessert we shared the mochi which for those that have not had it is a strangely refreshing sort of icecream sort of thing-but not icecream. Just try it. The atmosphere outside was relaxed & beautiful and to top it off, our waitress, Julia was amazing. On top of her game & extremely knowledgable. I really enjoyed it even though I'm not a sushi fan, so anyone will enjoy the food here! Caio!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vegas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makoto also viewed

 

Been to Makoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing