We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the desert was the best we ever had” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Makoto

Makoto
Bal Harbour Shops 9700 Collins Ave, Bal Harbour, FL 33154
(305) 864-8600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Makoto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Bal Harbour
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 96th St
Transit: 96th St and Collins Ave
Description: Stephen Starr's newest Japanese restaurant, Makoto is located in the prestigious Bal Harbour Shops. Makoto features a modern Japanese menu including sushi bar selections, modern Japanese dishes, and bincho charcoal robata. A hand-crafted beverage program focused on sake compliments the cuisine. The dining room and sushi bar seating are available by reservation. Outdoor seating is available upon arrival.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“the desert was the best we ever had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very nice menu, although the fusion part was better than the traditional sushi (for traditional go to the japanese marketplace). The service was outstanding...the desert leaves you speechless

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    79
    26
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food with excellent service by our waiter Kennedy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Started with the tea crusted tuna tataki which was great. Then on to the hot stone Kobe. Outstanding! Also had the Japanese risotto which was also a fun table side experience. Overall, excellent! Ask for Kennedy. Very knowledgeable.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“A nice break from retail overload”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Choice of indoor or dining on the terrace watching the valet parking boys driving cars of their dreams. Attentive service. Great selection of dishes and not just the dreaded wobbly raw stuff that can be ordered in a Japanese restaurant. Interesting wine list. $70 a head for two courses and a bottle of wine so not snack prices but then this shopping mall is no WalMart

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good upscale suhi spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

In the Bal Harbour mall. A nice spot with very attentive service.
The rolls were very good and fresh. Parking is a bit pricy but it is good for a dinner or a break from shoping.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had a great waitress. We told her we were first time (and possibly only time) visitors customers and she proceeded to tell us each thing on the menu that was special to Makoto that we wouldn't find anywhere else, and we took her advice.

Tuna air bread
Kobe beef carpaccio
Makoto Ramen (my teenager's choice).
Baby beet robata
Asparagus with sesame and soy
Whole roasted branzino----perhaps the best fish i have ever had any time any place!
Kobe beef grilled tableside
Wagyu bone in ribeye

Nigiri sushi

And for dessert...drumroll....
fruit toban yaki - seasonal fruit, passionfruit sauce, mango sorbet, homemade marshmallows. Again, simply amazing. An unusual, original combination...and I'm not even a fan of marshmallows.

They use a charcoal grill, so the flavors of the meat/fish/vegetables are exceptional. I urge you to ask for and follow your server's advice. The best item of the night was the branzino and the dessert. I doubt I will find myself in Bal Harbour FL again, but if I do, even though Miami is full of fine restaurants I would definitely make time to go here again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makoto also viewed

Bal Harbour, FL
Bal Harbour, FL
 
Bal Harbour, FL
Bal Harbour, FL
 

Been to Makoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.