We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very upscale, not for my shop profile!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bal Harbour Shops

Bal Harbour Shops
9700 Collins Ave., Bal Harbour, FL 33154
305-866-0311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Shopping in Bal Harbour
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Prestigous, upscale shopping mecca.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very upscale, not for my shop profile!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Nice built mall, very clean and surrounded by beautiful people, worth a visit, but the prices !!!! If you can pay U$D 400 / 500 for a brandless t-shirt this is your Mall.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    99
    32
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ludicrously expensive...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Only good reason to visit is to try something on that is very expensive and then shop for it on-line or at another store for a more reasonable price or with a store discount. Quite pretentious - shop staff a bit rude (normal for MB,) but really awful at times if you are not already dressed in this season's Prada ensemble, with up to the minute Gucci bag and coordinating 6 inch, $600 stilettos in animal print and of course, dripping with diamonds on pristine manicured hands and around sun-aged and tan necks and wrists, as well as in ears framing the face with a fresh blow-out of extensions. And listening to employees and shoppers talk about "good help" and trash talking anyone and anything imaginable. Hard to understand the values of people who spend the afternoon buying couture that costs more than a Yale Bachelors Degree while complaining about inanities. I like to dress up pretty, but boutiques and people with money and class appeal far more to my sensibilities if I am looking to spend....a lot.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Lovely, fun and expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I doubt many of us will do much spending at Bal Harbour, but that doesn't mean it can't be a lot of fun. The window shopping and strolling alone is worth the trip. As noted, all the high-end and designer stores are concentrated here and it's fun to see what this type of merchandise costs. There are nice cafe-type restaurants upstairs too. My favorite part of Bal Harbour is the fish and turtle habitat that runs along the interior. We spent 20 minutes just watching the turtles. A pretty, pretty place even if you don't set foot in any stores.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worth a browse.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Worth it for a look around but not really for sensible shopping! Venture a bit further to the Ventura Mall.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Shopping at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stopped by Bal Harbour Shops on a Saturday for a morning of shopping. The center is made up of a variety of high-end stores that you won't find in most cities. We especially enjoyed Thomas Pink, Gucci, and Tiffany's. The salespeople in all three stores were fantastic--very personable and helpful. It is a great way to spend some time whether you are just browsing, or have definite items that you want to shop for. We had a great time!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bal Harbour Shops also viewed

 

Been to Bal Harbour Shops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bal Harbour Shops, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.