We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sea View Hotel to your Saves list
Sea View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9909 Collins Avenue, Bal Harbour, FL 33154   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed there in March 2013 for a long weekend. We found the service to be good but slow at the front desk, and the maids and guys at the pool were attentive and helpful. The access to the beach was great: just walk out the back door and pass by the pool and there it was! There is a nice running path that goes north and south for a number of miles, and it was great to run there in the late afternoon with the cool breeze and ocean waves. The water is a beautiful color but the water a bit too cold for swimming. The pool, however, was very warm. It was clean and big, a nice rectangular shape for swimming laps. Though the signs said it was open from 9a-5p, the pool guys said we could swim anytime, and we did end up swimming before 9am and after 6pm without problems.

We did not eat in the restaurant but we did appreciate the little kitchenette that was in our room. We bought milk, cereal and fruit at a nearby Publix and ate breakfast there. The TV just had local channels and basic cable, but that is okay because we weren't there to watch TV. The hotel is in a very posh neighborhood with a Beverly Hills-level "mall", Bal Harbour Shops, located about 1 block away. We walked there thinking we would find a food court to get a quick bite. However, the 2 times we ate at 2 different restaurants there, we walked away paying $75 for ordinary meals (including 1 beer each time and no desserts). Ouch! This mall is no place for ordinary humans to shop, since it includes stores like Gucci, Alexander McQueen, and Stella McCartney. Felt like I was on Rodeo Drive East! Fortunately, South Florida is like one big mall with houses sprinkled in the middle, so we were able to get some real shopping done after we rented a car and drove to the Dolphin Mall and Sawgrass Mall.

I would recommend this hotel if you want to enjoy a pool and the ocean and maybe shop/window shop, but it was quite expensive even through Orbitz (almost $300/night, plus $18/night parking). If you just want to do some serious shopping in South Florida, you could probably find a place less expensive and closer to the airport & malls.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Dear Chicago2PTY,
We thank you for the positive feedback from your time spent with us most recently.
We are proud to be in the vicinity of the shopping mecca, Bal Harbour Shops. Our guests travel from around the world to spend time here and shop until they drop! It's quite the upscale destination in the world of shopping. We are pleased you did enjoy yourselves while here and the staff took care of you as well. We aim to please and are hopeful we meet your expectations of your stay. We are in the midst of renovating the hotel and should be completed by early 2015. We invited you back to experience a newer and better Sea View Hotel.
Hope to see you soon again.
Regards,
Anthony Hill
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    114
    75
    26
    18
See reviews for
97
87
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was by far the worst experience in a hotel, ever. I've stayed in numerous hotels--this being the most expensive, and worst service ever. Absolutely none of the staff were friendly with the exception of the the man working in the concierge. My first night staying there I was locked out of my room because their door's lock malfunctioned so I was placed in another room. Because of their miscommunication, the terrible clerk threatened to call the police on me in addition to charging me for the extra room. My conversation with them that morning was embarrassing and uncalled for. There were many other problems that persisted with my week stay, but I'll save the time. Just do yourselves a favor a do not stay there. Worst mistake and I just wish I could get my money back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Dear SweetMarie1,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us as we are always looking to our guests comments to better our hotel. We apologize that you did not have a pleasant experience and would hope you could give us another try soon. Our GM and management team have been made aware of your concerns and are currently investigating them. We are reviewing our policies as a hotel and look forward to make some nice changes regarding retraining the staff and customer service methods. Again, we apologize for this unfortunate experience and would like for you to contact us so we can make it up to you.
Looking forward to hearing from you soon.
Anthony Hill
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bal Harbour hotels

St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Sea View is reminiscent of a grand 30's hotel from the outside, but inside is is modern, clean and comfortable. The bedrooms are large and beautifully furnished - ours had a kitchen area and dining table and chairs. The views from the balcony are wonderful with the beach, palm trees and ocean beyond. The pool area and beach are welcoming and user friendly and the "pool guys" are so helpful. The location could not be better - the Bal Harbour shops are across the street and South Beach or the Aventura Mall are only a $2 bus ride away. It was our 3rd visit to the Sea View and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor and try and get a balcony room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, General Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Dear Jocelyn D,
We appreciate your kind comments about your most recent visit with us. We are always looking for ways to satisfy our guests so they have the best experience. Hopefully you will be revisiting us soon as we welcome your return as always.
All the best,
Raj Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I spent one LONG night at this hotel before moving over to the St. Regis (ie. heaven on earth). The service was awful from start to finish. The bell staff swiftly swooped up my luggage without so much as a "hello". Clearly, the focus was on getting a tip, not the actual customer service involved. Check-in was fine, nothing warm and welcoming by any means. The room was near appalling. It was so dated and dull. There was mold in the corners on the floor, it smelled of must and mildew, the bathroom was tiny, the carpet worn, the heat/air system smelled like something was on fire. I ordered room service lunch, the gentleman on the phone was absolutely rude. He hardly said "goodbye" at the conclusion of the phone call and didn't offer any beverage or sides with my order. I asked for "no bacon" and not surprisingly, my salad arrived with bacon. I pointed this out to the delivery man and he said this, "Hmmm, I asked them for no bacon". He didn't offer to amend the situation and scurried out. The next morning, I wanted to purchase a snack from the sundry shop which appeared closed albeit the "open" sign. I had to ask the front desk to ring me up and then they couldn't print me a receipt. He made a big fuss about it and finally was somehow able to make a copy from the front desk. All the guests were foreign and the hotel was just overall run-down and tired. I cannot believe the prices people are willing to pay for accommodations worse than some of the worst Holiday Inns! The hotel is absolutely not business friendly at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Dear SEGMN,
We thank you for taking the time to post comments about your experience when you stayed with us at The Sea View Hotel. We appreciate your comments as it always helps us improve our guest's experience. We apologize for your experience and hope we can make it up to you should you decide to visit Bal Harbour again. We are taking steps to reorient our staff to better serve our guests with the experience they expect out of a four star hotel. Please feel free to reach out to us should you have any questions as we would be delighted to discuss your experience.
We look for to hearing from you real soon.
Regards,
Anthony Hill
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spacious rooms, largest swimming pool in the Miami Beach area,, beautiful beach with a lovely mile long landscaped walk for jogging. All easily accessible for children and strollers. There is always a warm welcome at arrival. My family has enjoyed this hotel for many years. In addition . high quality food, at reasonable prices is served on the terrace, in the bar, or dining room and as room service.This is the place for an idyllic vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Dear Cynthia M,
On behalf of the The Sea View hotel management and staff, we thank you for the wonderful comments and hope to continue to meet you and your families expectations.
We look forward to your return real soon.
Anthony Hill
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I recently stayed at The Sea View Hotel. People who stay at this hotel also live there...On two separate visits i would lay out at the pool. I would set up my towel near the "cabana" area. Most specifically 3 from the end. A young man was sitting in the cabana not knowing it belonged to one of the "entitled" owners..When the owner came up he said "that's MINE" reminded me of a spoiled two year old who didn't want to share his toys...While the owner does pay and has his snobby little rights he just came off as an old selfish bitter old fart that didn't know how to handle the innocent situation with any grace whatsoever. Seemed to be jacked up on caffeine or something...If you are younger than 65 you will be young to stay here...kids don't have a chance especially if they are afraid of old people. Yikes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Dear sophia F,
We thank you for your comments and sharing your experience when staying at The Sea View Hotel. we apologize if you felt uncomfortable during your stay in any way as we take this quite serious. Our guests are paramount to the success of the hotel. The hotel consists of shareholders as well as travelers such as yourself. The environment we try to create here is one that is welcoming and comfortable. Please feel free to reach out to us next time you visit and we will do our best to make you feel at home.
Looking forward to seeing you again real soon.
Best regards,
Anthony Hill
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The comfortable rooms and great pool--warm even on a winter day--plus the access to the beach gave us a feeling of instant vaction even though we were on a business trip. An old-fashoned but nice feature is the direct-elevator to the pool avoiding the lobby.We We didn't eat in the hotel because of our dietary restrictions,(there are kosher restaurants in abundance nearby) The refrigerator in the room was handy for our snacks. Our only complaint is the lack of on-demand movies. We finally had a chance to see Lincoln, but there were only TV stations on the flatscreen TV. On the other hand, the free wireless, often lacking in hotels, was another nice feature.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Dear Jerusalembarbara,
Thank you for your comments about The Sea View Hotel and we are pleased you had a positive experience on our business trip. We are hopeful to have you return soon and enjoy the upgrades we are currently going through. We are striving to be a better hotel with better service as everyday passes. Hopefully you will share in our success.
Looking forward to seeing you again.
Anthony Hill
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Hotel

Address: 9909 Collins Avenue, Bal Harbour, FL 33154
Location: United States > Florida > Bal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea View Hotel is a deluxe European style, full service beachfront Hotel best known for its exceptional personalized service. The Hotel features spacious designers appointed newly renovated Guest rooms with views of the Atlantic Ocean and Biscayne Bay. An intimate private oasis of luxury with an awe inspiring landscape and breathtaking sunrise provides a personalized ambiance to our Guests whether sunning, swimming or jogging down the shoreline or beach jogging path at any time of the day.Located directly across from the World renowned Bal Harbour Shops. Equidistant(18 miles/30 minutes), from the Miami International Airport and the Ft. Lauderdale International Airport. Within walking distance of fine shopping and dining, just minutes from South Beach, Aventura Mall, South Beach, Sunny Isles Beach, Haulover beach and the Art Deco District, Downtown Miami and four superb PGA Championship golf courses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sea View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Bal Harbour
Hotel Sea View
Sea View Hotel Bal Harbour, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.