We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“American classics” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sea View Hotel to your Saves list
Sea View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9909 Collins Avenue, Bal Harbour, FL 33154   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“American classics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very good value hotel in the midst of a luxury and expensive district. Very clean rooms, comfy beds, we had 2 cloackrooms in our room! There is a coffee machine in the room, an iron and an ironboard. Breakfast was included and was quite good. The beach is awesome and feels very secluded. Very friendly and helping staff, especially concierge Rafael! You have to pay for sunbeds by the pool though, but we didn't use any, we just used beach towels, which were free of charge and hung out on the beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, Guest Relations Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Dear justgalina,
Thank you much for your comments about our hotel. We appreciate your remarks as they help build the morale of the hotel staff thus reflecting on our guests. We welcome you back as soon as you are ready to come. We will leave the light on for you!
See you soon.
Many regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    118
    77
    28
    19
See reviews for
99
95
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cannes
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here just as a tropical storm was approaching and now hope to return when the weather is better to really get the most out of its great beach location and poolside facilties. The hotel has a traditional feel, is really comfortable and clean and the pool plus outside bar look excellent. It backs onto the beach which sadly we could not use this time, but would be really convenient during good weather. Helpful staff, large, clean room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, Guest Relations Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Dear CaptainswifeCannes,
We welcome you back during the sunshine and blue skies. Very sorry you had to experience Miami in general during the stormy weather. The beaches are pristine here in Bal Harbour and if you like to walk or jog, this is the place for you. Our hikers path along the beach will not disappoint. You can be pampered out by the pool and have a nice lunch at the bar. Fine dining in the area or just relax at the local bars too. Choice is yours.
We hope to see you again soon.
All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The sea view at Bal Harbour is a perfect combination of a nice beach, location and price. The room was overlooking Collins ave, but far away from the street, it was big enough,full of light, had 2 walk ins, two queen beds, very comfortable.
The beach is very, very nice! It has a nice pool that I never used because the beach is right there.The cleaning became poor through our stay, at the beginning was all right but as we stayed 10 days, they just made the beds and a light cleaning that I had to call the maid and point out some dirt, but nothing very dramatic if you compare the price with the place. The breakfast is a bit of a dissapointment: eggs, bread, croissants and cereals. Jam and cheese. Period. No yogurts!!That part of the hotel needs refurnish... The carpet with old drawings and the old curtains, not nice at all. But...I would go back without hesitation. Two brigdes away from aventura mall, excellent sea, and Carpaccio to dine at Bal Harbour shopping mall just across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for space
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, Director of Sales at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear littletheresa,
We thank you for your feedback as we always look for ways to improve our hotel. Our guests expect the best and we strive to deliver just that. Your feedback has been brought to the hotel management staff and ism in the process of being corrected. We are disappointed when we don't deliver 100% for our guest. We hope to see you again real soon and thank you for choosing our hotel.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

It´s a magnificent hotel. A building with lots of history, 63 years since it was build, but all the rooms have been totally refurbished in a modern style. Rooms are big, peaceful and quiet. Very good food and beverage quality and service.
Excellent location, right at front of Bal Harbour Shops and 10 min from Aventura Mall. Near several good restaurants.
Direct access to the beach. Beautiful oceanfront.
Next time you go to Miami, book the Sea View. I have been doing it for nearly 20 years !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear AMontani ,
We thank you for your rave reviews of The Sea View Hotel. We strive to be the best and are pleased for the feedback as we always like to share with our staff that their hard work truly pays off.
We welcome you back always.
Regards,
Anthony Hill
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothwyn, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I've been in many hotels and never had to pay for pool chairs, especially by the 1/2 day. The pool area was nice, as long as you didn't mind the construction going on for the cabanas. The service left a lot to be desired, i felt, unless you had a male companion then you got a lot of attention. Did I tip? Yes I did!!! I traveled with my 2 Grandchildren. Breakfast was good and the only time our table was tended to was when the little oriental man was working. In the lobby, Rafael was the greatest, the others couldn't give us the time of day and when the did, the conversations were brief and short and not friendly. The room was kept fairly clean, yeahhh for housekeeping. The bathroom, very small, no shelfs for anything. We stayed 5 nights and wasn't aware of the 5th night free deal until I read it on the internet but I guess that's my Travel Agents error. Miami Tours were the greatest. Very informative, excellent drivers and very helpful going out of theie way to help us. I highly recommend them.

Room Tip: I rate this a 3 star
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, General Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Carol D,
We hope you had a nice time while visiting with us at The Sea View Hotel. We are currently in the final phases of our renovations with the installation of our new air conditioning system followed by the façade upgrade. We apologize if you weren't treated well enough by our staff as we have implemented new training to our staff. We hope you decide to give us another try real soon.
All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

It'a amazing to find this 1950's style hotel set between the St Regis, Balmoral, ONE, and other upscale modern hotels costing mucho dollars more on the beach side of Collins Avenue. We arrived July 4th, had a standard room with a balcony facing Collins, promotion was 4th night free. Hotel seemed empty, there were never more than 20 people at the pool or beach. Room was adequate, dated furniture with a tube TV, mushy pillowtop bed, and a $9.99 shower head in the bath. Maid service was twice daily. Continental breakfast was included in the rate. The pool was huge, measuring 75' x 50'. Pool attendants, esp. Jonathan, were pleasant and attentive. If you rent a lounger poolside, they will set up a cushion and cotton cover on it for comfort. Towels were abundant and easily accessible. However, construction of new cabanas was going on and I found the noise of hammering and sawing disruptive. I felt there should have been a warning about the ongoing construction on the hotel's web page. The dining area and coffee shop were closed. The beach area was nice, but an offshore storm was sending large amounts of scratchy seaweeds that amassed in huge floating accumulations that were a pain to wade through. Not under the hotel's control, but an annoyance nonetheless. This ocean lover spent more time at the uncrowded pool than the beach. There is an excellent jogging/walking path that extends for maybe 2 miles between the hotels and beach, no dogs or bikes allowed. The hotel has many seasonal time share owners, they called them "stockholders", who seemed to lock up some of the rental amenities such as the poolside cabanas. While I am at it, let me voice my displeasure of the common Florida hotel practice of nickel and diming their patrons for parking, exercise room, loungers, cabanas, etc. My "extras" probably totalled about $200 for a 5 night stay. I was surprised there wasn't an added charge for using the pool, beach or walking trail. Wait, maybe I shouldn't mention that, give them ideas. I'd prefer one basic room rate, all amenities included.
We did have one dinner at the hotel, it was served at tables in the bar area by Barry, who was bartender, waiter and exercise room attendant. The catch of the day was Mahi Mahi and it was nicely grilled.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view if possible. All rooms have spacious balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, Guest Relations Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear evandbob,
We hope you enjoyed your time here at The Sea View Hotel and we certainly appreciate your feedback from it. Your comments help us improve our hotel and reflects on out service and staff. We strive to bring our guests the best and are disappointed when we do not come through. The hotel is still currently going through phases of renovations as I'm sure you will be pleased with should you visit again. As for Mother Nature, sorry, but that's out of our hands. She can be pleasant or fierce at times. Either way we respect her. We are reviewing our hotel policies regarding pricing and hope to come to a happy medium that will be most accommodating for our guests.
We will keep the light on for you awaiting your return.
All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morayfield, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Hotel was a little tired, however very clean. Large rooms - our family of four was very comfortable with the space! Not a lot to do near the hotel so a car is a must - Parking in an open lot was expensive. We stayed 4 nighs and would have liked more variation at breakfast - maybe waffles or pancakes but being included in the room rate was good! We found the breakfast staff very friendly and helpful. The only issue we had with staff was at check in, the man was extremely arrogant! In summary a little tired, clean, ok breakfast, away from the busy Miami, need your own transport, expensive parking, nice beach location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea View Hotel o, General Manager at Sea View Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Vanessa M ,
We thank you for choosing The Sea View Hotel for your hotel destination. We always appreciate your comments as well because it helps us with our staff training which we will continue to do to make our hotel the best we can be. The Village of Bal Harbour is in a nice tranquil location situated north of South Beach and Surfside setting it apart. The night life is a cab or bus away at anytime. We hope we met your expectations as a hotel and will see you again real soon.
All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sea View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Hotel

Address: 9909 Collins Avenue, Bal Harbour, FL 33154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Bal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea View Hotel is a deluxe European style, full service beachfront Hotel best known for its exceptional personalized service. The Hotel features spacious designers appointed newly renovated Guest rooms with views of the Atlantic Ocean and Biscayne Bay. An intimate private oasis of luxury with an awe inspiring landscape and breathtaking sunrise provides a personalized ambiance to our Guests whether sunning, swimming or jogging down the shoreline or beach jogging path at any time of the day.Located directly across from the World renowned Bal Harbour Shops. Equidistant(18 miles/30 minutes), from the Miami International Airport and the Ft. Lauderdale International Airport. Within walking distance of fine shopping and dining, just minutes from South Beach, Aventura Mall, South Beach, Sunny Isles Beach, Haulover beach and the Art Deco District, Downtown Miami and four superb PGA Championship golf courses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Bal Harbour
Hotel Sea View
Sea View Hotel Bal Harbour, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.