We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY AWAY!!! Loud, closet sized room, no ammenities, terrible staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bal Harbour Quarzo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bal Harbour Quarzo to your Saves list
Bal Harbour Quarzo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   290 Bal Bay Drive, Bal Harbour, FL 33154   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
1 review
“STAY AWAY!!! Loud, closet sized room, no ammenities, terrible staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Booked a room and based on reviews expected 4star quality. Instead what I received was a 220sqft closet with paper thin walls. This place is basically a converted condo without most standard hotel amenities like cable tv, central air, etc. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    55
    20
    16
    23
See reviews for
82
53
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

We had an amazing stay in the 2 bedroom suite. Everything was tasteful and comfortable. We loved the fact that there was easy parking and the staff was overall really nice and pleasant. One odd criticizing comment was that the stairwell STUNK! Like literally smelled like dead animals covered with industrial carpet smell. Thankfully there is a very nice elevator, but when we used stairwell to use our legs, we would hold our breathes the whole way up. Our other complaint was that checkout was until 1pm which was great, but we needed late checkout which is $75 extra and you get up till 4:00pm. We got a call from front desk at 1:15 telling us that they need to clean the room because other guests were arriving shortly, so we raced out of our room, throwing everything into our luggage, and packing all our belongings within minutes, and when we went to check out after we loaded everything into our car it was 1:30, they said they will charge our credit card that additional $75! My husband was completely disturbed and angry because they rushed us out when we wanted the late checkout option, then charged us for being late!! My husband said that once you guys charged us the $75, we want to stay till 4:00pm as allowed with the late checkout price and they refused. They said they can't, if they really couldn't then they should not have charged that additional $75. Pretty basic. That left a pretty bad taste in our mouth, but really overall it was an amazing stay and that didn't lesson our recommendations to others, but when a company is new, sometime rules haven't been established properly,

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

Wonderful suite-type accommodation with living area separate from bedroom. Great design. Great attitude of staff - excellent location and extremely comfortable. We had an excellent time.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Stayed for three nights. Rooms were clean ( though I did notice dust on the floorboards and in the drawers but that is common at hotels it seems). The staff did try to please - one minor incident but otherwise happy with service. The walls were paper thin so could hear the neighbors as if they were in the same room. Only other complaint is that given location you have to drive everywhere though lots within a short drive

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

New, modern Miami style one bedroom apartment for a great value at a four star establishment. The only downside was that it was hidden amongst aging condos.
I was surprised to receive a whole apartment for myself when I only needed one room.
It was a gem and a fantastic find. Staff were very warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

I'll try to be short...
I had booked this hotel but actually when I showed up with my pregnant wife the hotel was unable to give me a room (apparently they didn't have any authorization).
I waited for over an hour for them to find a solution. There were unable to do that and after calling booking.com and some internet search we found an agreement to go to a hotel further away from Miami (not in Bal Harbor).
Stressful situation #2: when checking out from the new hotel, the rate they made me pay was MUCH higher than was communicated by the hotel manager at Quarzo. After several emails and phone calls the situation got -nearly- sorted out. I don't want to hear about them anymore. I was going on holidays and all I got from them was stress!
I won't even try to stay at that place another time...

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

I was aware that this property was due to open December 1st 2010 and had been in touch with the General Manager some weeks before in relation to an intended booking over New Year. Despite several telephone calls from the UK and an email with confirmation of credit card details, days before our intended stay I was advised the hotel had no record of the booking. The manager's attitude was totally unacceptable - all he could offer were 2 rooms at a much higher rate as opposed to the suite booked. This is a toy town hotel portraying itself as a luxury property. Avoid at all costs! We stayed elsewhere in Bal Harbour and know of other guests who checked out of Quarzo early as it is unfinished. What a disaster....

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bal Harbour Quarzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bal Harbour Quarzo

Address: 290 Bal Bay Drive, Bal Harbour, FL 33154
Location: United States > Florida > Bal Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bal Harbour Quarzo 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Hotel just steps from the Bal Harbour Beach, offers exquisite and over-sized Suites ranging from Junior Suites to One and Two-Bedroom Suite accommodations. Suites are equipped will full kitchens featuring Kitchen-Aid appliances, living/dining room, walk-in closets and dual private balconies. Bathrooms are tastefully appointed with imported granite countertops and modern glass bowl sinks. High-quality bedding linens. Consistency and excellence in guest services is our main priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Splendia, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Bal Harbour Quarzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bal Harbour Quarzo Hotel Bal Harbour
Bal Harbour Quarzo Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bal Harbour Quarzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.