We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bal Harbour Quarzo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bal Harbour Quarzo to your Saves list
Bal Harbour Quarzo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   290 Bal Bay Drive, Bal Harbour, FL 33154   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
New Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Total Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had high hopes for this hotel but they were quickly dashed. The staff was highly incompetent and unhelpful, and conditions seemed unsanitary. The real kicker came when I found blood on my bath towel -- really gross. The manager didn't appreciate my concern and simply showed up with a smile and stack of fresh towels. Needless to say I checked out as quickly as possible but, of course, needed to return because the desk clerk forgot to hand back my credit card. Arghh!
But the bed was comfortable. Just hope it was clean.

Room Tip: The hotel was noisy, probably because of my location on the ground floor near the elevator and washi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    49
    18
    11
    20
See reviews for
72
46
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caye Caulker, Belize
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014 via mobile

Stunning interior decor - modern and clean.
Excellent assortment of minibar snacks although very pricey.
Use of a lovely (but small) pool, sun loungers and cute cabanas.
Very quiet as there are not many suites.
Self-contained unit with fully equipped kitchen (although you can also ask for local take-away menus).
Staff very friendly, helpful and polite - excellent service.
Use of PC on front desk & great wifi in the room.
Laundry available until 10pm although no signage to inform us of this.
Our air-con didn't work and when we let the staff know they immediately upgraded us to a larger suite, no fuss at all - brilliant.
Comfortable beds with a good choice of pillows.
Wish we could have stayed longer!

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

This hotel is amazing. It is clean and friendly. It is a calm place for relaxing time.
The rooms are quiet big and bads a pretty confortable, the bathroons are fit to you!!!
This a recomedable hotel!!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bal Harbour, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Small boutique hotel, contemporary furnishings, conveniently located for access to Bal Harbour shopping center. However, the location is noisy, BY A BRIDGE OVERPASS, facing the Intracoastal, NOT the OCEAN. Beach access is via a PARKING LOT under the bridge. Generous sized rooms, modern, comfortable decor and good rates for the area. Be aware of construction on adjacent property due to expansion plans to include next two buildings. Don't expect a quiet idyllic beach vacation. This is all about decent accomodations at an affordable price and convenient to the shopping center.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms on west side of building, NW corner location best. Also be aware of construction activ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here for five nights last week in a ground-floor, one-bedroom unit and thought the room and the hotel overall were impeccable -- well-located, comfortable and immaculate, well worth the rate. We had a great vacation, and the hotel was a primary reason. I'd highly recommend staying here, and I have absolutely no connection to the management.

After reading some of the comments below, particularly the one by the numb-nuts Oleg, I was a little skeptical about my choice. I'm contributing this review to make it clear that the place couldn't have been nicer. Our unit was kept spotless, and housekeepers were in no way intrusive. The linens and towels were top-rate, for instance, and the furniture was plush and comfortable. It's obvious that they've worked hard at these kinds of comforts.

We enjoyed having coffee on the patio and watching tiny lizards scoot about. The beach was easily accessible, no more than a quarter-mile to the east. The hotel is situated next to a bridge that connects barrier islands, and it sounded as if it might be a hassle to get in and out, but it wasn't at all. The shops and restaurants in Bal Harbour and Surfside were varied, plentiful and convenient. The staff was extraordinarily accommodating.

It was relatively easy to get to other spots in Miami that we wanted to visit, but, at the same time, it felt as if the Quarzo was kind of out of the way -- not another beachside high-rise. As for the "smell" inside the hotel, it's eucalyptus-based, very pleasant, and didn't drift into our unit. The only drawback I can think of is that the housekeepers liked to turn the thermostat down, but we simply turned it back up. If that's the worst thing I can say about the place, that's pretty good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUARZO H, Manager at Bal Harbour Quarzo, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear David,
How are you?

Thank you for leaving a feedback about our hotel!

All our team is absolutely happy that they made your stay unforgettable. We are very glad that you enjoyed our patio.

We will be very glad to see you in the nearest future again!

Best Regards,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metepec, Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The hotel has a luxury rooms, Outdoor is well combined vintage-modern style. The interior well designed and modern. The staff there are very kind. The location is perfect: Is close to Bal Harbor mall. Excellent view to the Biscayne Bay. Very clean hotel and the amenities are excellent.

My family and I have enjoyed very much

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUARZO H, Manager at Bal Harbour Quarzo, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Almaquio T,

Hello.

We are so glad that you took the time to write a review regarding your stay at our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our room and design. All our team is absolutely happy that they made your stay unforgettable.

Looking forward to see you again.

Warmest regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was the worst experience ever!
We arrived very early in the morning, our room wasn't ready until 5 PM... Really?
The view... it's ok, bridge right infront of your face, we can deal with that, because we
were not really staying in the room. Housekeeping is just horrible, they kick you out of the room, because they MUST to do it now, ridiculous. None of them speak english, aren't we in USA?
As I figured after all, owners of this place are Colombians. It's not a Colombia, take care of people.
At least all front desk agents are extremely helpful. Thank them for this. As I understood they don't have a General Manager at all. Too bad, should probably get one.
Summarizing everything, the worst hotel I've been to. I don't ask much, at least learn how to operate small place like this.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bal Harbour Quarzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bal Harbour Quarzo

Address: 290 Bal Bay Drive, Bal Harbour, FL 33154
Location: United States > Florida > Bal Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bal Harbour Quarzo 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Hotel just steps from the Bal Harbour Beach, offers exquisite and over-sized Suites ranging from Junior Suites to One and Two-Bedroom Suite accommodations. Suites are equipped will full kitchens featuring Kitchen-Aid appliances, living/dining room, walk-in closets and dual private balconies. Bathrooms are tastefully appointed with imported granite countertops and modern glass bowl sinks. High-quality bedding linens. Consistency and excellence in guest services is our main priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Escapio, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bal Harbour Quarzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bal Harbour Quarzo Hotel Bal Harbour
Bal Harbour Quarzo Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bal Harbour Quarzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.