We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bal Harbour Quarzo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bal Harbour Quarzo to your Saves list
Bal Harbour Quarzo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   290 Bal Bay Drive, Bal Harbour, FL 33154   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel mainly because we like Bal Harbour.
Well decorated, comfortable rooms; but the bathroom we had was quite small compared to the size of the room, and the cupboard space a little crammed.
Wi-fi works well, but you have to keep signing in all the time, which is a bother...
Very few TV channels. No Bloomberg (although listed) and no Golf channel.
Air conditioning very noisy and be sure to leave the card on your bed if you want the sheets to be changed during your stay...Friendly service. The Reception team needs to acquire more experience. Parking can be a bit tricky at times because space is limited.
Why do they call the hotel a "Boutique Hotel"?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUARZO H, Front Office Manager at Bal Harbour Quarzo, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Neri:

Thank you for your rating and comments, we do really appreciate your time for leaving your feedback.

We are currently working on upgrading our television and internet systems to provide more channels and faster internet without the log-in log-off problem. As well we are in the process of retraining all of our front desk staff.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    46
    17
    11
    19
See reviews for
71
44
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

i came to this hotel with pretty high expectations only to find upon check in that the paint in the bathtub is peeling! i was so upset that i took pictures and showed it to the front desk manager. He told us that he will send someone to fix the problem right away. we went out for lunch and did some shopping, and when we came back about 4 hours later nothing was done. the next day i spoke to another manager that told us the problem would be taken care of but the same thing happened. it was totally ignored for the rest of our stay!!! I was totally grossed out when taking a shower since the paint continued to peel and crack more every day!!! the worst part was that they didnt even offer to give us a different room even though the hotel was not fully booked!!! I would not recoment this hotel to anyone!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUARZO H, Front Office Manager at Bal Harbour Quarzo, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Susan!

I would like to thank you for not only your stay, but your comments and feedback as well. I do sincerely apologize for your inconveniences during your stay. We have addressed the problem of the peeling bathtub and I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are working on better communication protocol between departments to make sure issues like you experienced never happen again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Hotel is amazing, beautiful rooms, really large!
Style is great! All modern, new and amazingly decorated.
Very thank to Yanina and Mohammed who made our stay unforgettable.
Yanina is very attentive, nice and knows all places to visit.
Mohammed helped us to solve all we needed.
Want to mention Maria at the front , who was very rude, impolite and didn't pay any attention!
Besides that is was wonderful!
I would recommend it to my friends and be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUARZO H, Front Office Manager at Bal Harbour Quarzo, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review.

We are working on retraining our front desk staff so that no guest feels disrespected. We want our staff to be attentive, respectful, quick, polite, and knowledgeable.

I will pass on your great comments to Yanina and Mohammed I know they will be enthused about the accolades you gave them.

Thank you for your input.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Service: the service was FANTASTIC when we were there. they switched us to a bigger room when they realized that we had 3 people. they made sure we had everything we needed. everyday when we came back to the hotel, we had complimentary bottles of waters, little card that says what the whether is like the next day.
ROOM: the hotel is VERY chic, the rooms are SUPER clean, not carpeted, microwave, fridge, dishwashers, toasters, utensils are all available. VERY nice bathroom. the hot water sometimes will run out, and come back in a minute or two when you are taking a shower, it can become an issue for some people but it never bothered me.
Location: the zen garden overlooks water, it can be alittle hard to find as the GPS will not lead you to the right road, you have to go north, and right before crossing the bridge, there is a side road that goes under the bridge and that will lead you to the hotel. the hotel is not connected to a beach, but it's close. HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUARZO H, Front Office Manager at Bal Harbour Quarzo, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Eh_Sian,

Thank you so much for your feedback.
We are delighted that is was a memorable and
outstanding stay for you!
Our team was absolutely happy to make it
unforgettable.
Hopefully you will come back to us in the nearest future!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

After a day of travel with a baby it's not fun to arrive at a hotel at 4pm and find your room not available. It took until 5pm (checkin is at 4pm) to get it.

Our room's hot water wasn't working. When I called the front desk at 8:45pm I was told there was no one on duty who could look until 9:30 the following day. Wow. Is this a hotel?

There is frequently no one at the front desk, the "manager" isn't here over the weekend, and generally no one seems to know what the heck is going on.

Oh and we're paying about $1k/night for this (due to the season). Awesome.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had a one bedroom suite. It was very spacious, modern, and clean. A hidden Gem. The staff was very accommodating, however, At night they are short staffed and will ask you to come down stairs to retrieve extra towels or blankets, if needed. Centrally located and we would definitely stay there again except we will be moving to The area next month. We would recommend Quarzo to friends and family.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Rooms are very modern, our boat has a bigger bathroom. Some rooms open onto or face the water and are quiet, others face a highway overpass. Our stay was fine, but competition is fierce in this area. Each room has its own HVAC (air conditioner/heater); ours was very noisy. The modern, Asian influenced lobby and modern rooms were nicely done.

Room Tip: See if you can get a quiet air conditioner and face the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bal Harbour Quarzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bal Harbour Quarzo

Address: 290 Bal Bay Drive, Bal Harbour, FL 33154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Bal Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bal Harbour Quarzo 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Hotel just steps from the Bal Harbour Beach, offers exquisite and over-sized Suites ranging from Junior Suites to One and Two-Bedroom Suite accommodations. Suites are equipped will full kitchens featuring Kitchen-Aid appliances, living/dining room, walk-in closets and dual private balconies. Bathrooms are tastefully appointed with imported granite countertops and modern glass bowl sinks. High-quality bedding linens. Consistency and excellence in guest services is our main priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bal Harbour Quarzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bal Harbour Quarzo Hotel Bal Harbour
Bal Harbour Quarzo Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bal Harbour Quarzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.