We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peeling bathtub” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bal Harbour Quarzo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bal Harbour Quarzo to your Saves list
Bal Harbour Quarzo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   290 Bal Bay Drive, Bal Harbour, FL 33154   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“peeling bathtub”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

i came to this hotel with pretty high expectations only to find upon check in that the paint in the bathtub is peeling! i was so upset that i took pictures and showed it to the front desk manager. He told us that he will send someone to fix the problem right away. we went out for lunch and did some shopping, and when we came back about 4 hours later nothing was done. the next day i spoke to another manager that told us the problem would be taken care of but the same thing happened. it was totally ignored for the rest of our stay!!! I was totally grossed out when taking a shower since the paint continued to peel and crack more every day!!! the worst part was that they didnt even offer to give us a different room even though the hotel was not fully booked!!! I would not recoment this hotel to anyone!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUARZO H, Front Office Manager at Bal Harbour Quarzo, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Susan!

I would like to thank you for not only your stay, but your comments and feedback as well. I do sincerely apologize for your inconveniences during your stay. We have addressed the problem of the peeling bathtub and I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are working on better communication protocol between departments to make sure issues like you experienced never happen again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    51
    18
    11
    21
See reviews for
74
46
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Hotel is amazing, beautiful rooms, really large!
Style is great! All modern, new and amazingly decorated.
Very thank to Yanina and Mohammed who made our stay unforgettable.
Yanina is very attentive, nice and knows all places to visit.
Mohammed helped us to solve all we needed.
Want to mention Maria at the front , who was very rude, impolite and didn't pay any attention!
Besides that is was wonderful!
I would recommend it to my friends and be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUARZO H, Front Office Manager at Bal Harbour Quarzo, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review.

We are working on retraining our front desk staff so that no guest feels disrespected. We want our staff to be attentive, respectful, quick, polite, and knowledgeable.

I will pass on your great comments to Yanina and Mohammed I know they will be enthused about the accolades you gave them.

Thank you for your input.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Service: the service was FANTASTIC when we were there. they switched us to a bigger room when they realized that we had 3 people. they made sure we had everything we needed. everyday when we came back to the hotel, we had complimentary bottles of waters, little card that says what the whether is like the next day.
ROOM: the hotel is VERY chic, the rooms are SUPER clean, not carpeted, microwave, fridge, dishwashers, toasters, utensils are all available. VERY nice bathroom. the hot water sometimes will run out, and come back in a minute or two when you are taking a shower, it can become an issue for some people but it never bothered me.
Location: the zen garden overlooks water, it can be alittle hard to find as the GPS will not lead you to the right road, you have to go north, and right before crossing the bridge, there is a side road that goes under the bridge and that will lead you to the hotel. the hotel is not connected to a beach, but it's close. HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUARZO H, Front Office Manager at Bal Harbour Quarzo, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Eh_Sian,

Thank you so much for your feedback.
We are delighted that is was a memorable and
outstanding stay for you!
Our team was absolutely happy to make it
unforgettable.
Hopefully you will come back to us in the nearest future!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

After a day of travel with a baby it's not fun to arrive at a hotel at 4pm and find your room not available. It took until 5pm (checkin is at 4pm) to get it.

Our room's hot water wasn't working. When I called the front desk at 8:45pm I was told there was no one on duty who could look until 9:30 the following day. Wow. Is this a hotel?

There is frequently no one at the front desk, the "manager" isn't here over the weekend, and generally no one seems to know what the heck is going on.

Oh and we're paying about $1k/night for this (due to the season). Awesome.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had a one bedroom suite. It was very spacious, modern, and clean. A hidden Gem. The staff was very accommodating, however, At night they are short staffed and will ask you to come down stairs to retrieve extra towels or blankets, if needed. Centrally located and we would definitely stay there again except we will be moving to The area next month. We would recommend Quarzo to friends and family.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Rooms are very modern, our boat has a bigger bathroom. Some rooms open onto or face the water and are quiet, others face a highway overpass. Our stay was fine, but competition is fierce in this area. Each room has its own HVAC (air conditioner/heater); ours was very noisy. The modern, Asian influenced lobby and modern rooms were nicely done.

Room Tip: See if you can get a quiet air conditioner and face the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one week in a beautiful,specious suite. Very modern with full kitchen,stainless steel appliances. Very clean,private and very friendly,pleasant and helpful staff. Excellent service.
Little bit noisy. The hotel does not have access to the beach. You have to walk to the public beach(not too far,about 5 minutes)but still inconvenient.
Also you have to walk to the grocery store,restaurants and other amenities. It would be better if we had a car. Overall it was a great experience and I will recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUARZO H, Manager at Bal Harbour Quarzo, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Mirjana D,

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you received the service you expected.
Thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bal Harbour Quarzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bal Harbour Quarzo

Address: 290 Bal Bay Drive, Bal Harbour, FL 33154
Location: United States > Florida > Bal Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bal Harbour Quarzo 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Hotel just steps from the Bal Harbour Beach, offers exquisite and over-sized Suites ranging from Junior Suites to One and Two-Bedroom Suite accommodations. Suites are equipped will full kitchens featuring Kitchen-Aid appliances, living/dining room, walk-in closets and dual private balconies. Bathrooms are tastefully appointed with imported granite countertops and modern glass bowl sinks. High-quality bedding linens. Consistency and excellence in guest services is our main priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bal Harbour Quarzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bal Harbour Quarzo Hotel Bal Harbour
Bal Harbour Quarzo Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bal Harbour Quarzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.