We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Igor, Ukraine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bal Harbour Quarzo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bal Harbour Quarzo to your Saves list
Bal Harbour Quarzo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   290 Bal Bay Drive, Bal Harbour, FL 33154   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
“Igor, Ukraine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in February 2013.
Ideal location, but for those looking for a beach hotel it's a bit not suitable. Need to go to the beach about 150 m offset . But all wonderful staff. girl Yanina to reception very nice and very professional.
I can say that because of her stay was great.
I really liked the hotel, be sure to stop in next time there.Yanina - thanks

Room Tip: rooms are idealy for families becouse are big
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUARZO H, Manager at Bal Harbour Quarzo, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Igor C,

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and for this feedback. We are very happy to hear you liked the hotel.

Our staff is very happy with your stay and would love to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

The concierge Joseph ought to be fired, prior to arrival I sent him 6 or 7 emails requesting a restaurant reservation and a car to transport us from Miami port to hotel, he replied to just 1 email and then it turned out he hasn't done anything he said he would! Had I not pre paid this room is was very much wanting to cancel it!
Luckily Jennifer, Camille and Eric on front desk were on hand to organise the transport and were extremely helpful.
Finding the hotel was a little difficult it's sort of tucked away its on the same side as bal harbour shops about a mile up if the driver pulls off before the bridge you will see number one bal harbour resort and spa on your right and Quarzo on your left beneath the Bridge!
As we approached the hotel the exterior is shabby and off putting not what you'd expect with a boutique hotel and enough to make you want to turn the car around! However when you get inside its beautiful, modern sleek and spacious infact I would say its a hidden gem!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTravellots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUARZO H, Manager at Bal Harbour Quarzo, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear LondonTravellots,

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to help us improve our service.

I am very disappointed you had a bad experience with our concierge. I apologize if we fell short in this area during your stay. Our team strives to make every interaction special and memorable for our guests.

We truly appreciate your feedback and will address the issues mentioned in order to ensure and enhanced experience for all our guests.

Warm regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife and I have been to Bal Harbour many times and we always stayed at One Bal Harbour. We accidentally found this hotel on our way back from Bal harbour Shops few weeks ago. My wife suggested this property for our next stay and I refused because I love big hotels.

Last week, I asked my travel agent to reserve us a room at One Bal Harbour again, and he made a mistake and booked this hotel for us. Well, mistake has been made, so we went and stayed in One Bedroom Suite at Quarzo.

Here are the things we like:

1. The one bedroom suite is modern, huge and clean. It has a full-size kitchen, separated living room and balcony.

2.The decorations are contemporary and my wife loves it.

3.The front desk agents and the concierge are extremely friendly and very helpful.

4. It is a smaller hotel, but offer more personalized service.

4. Privacy and quiet

Things we do not like:

1. The housekeepers could only speak Spanish.

Room Tip: One Bedroom Suite is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcos2388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This well located hotel offers fully equipped apartments with hotel service. This is a good combination not easily to find as usually you should choose between a hotel or an apartment without hotel service. Very well decorated with a net style , easy parking, Ideal for a family. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcelo_M312741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Not our idea of a boutique hotel compared to others where we have stayed in the US. There is no sound insulation at all - we even had to disconnect the fridge/freezer at night it was so noisy. Our room faced a 6 lane roadway/bridge over the channel to the ocean about 30 metres away. The hotel was high on decoration and low on functionality. The mattresses for the sun loungers were left out at night or when it rained and were consequently unusable. The reception staff on the other hand were friendly, helpful and always polite who tried their best to improve our stay. Of particular mention was Joseph Valli the bellboy/concierge.
All in all not an hotel we would recommend especially to Europeans.

Room Tip: You would need to ask to be on the side away from the car park and also the highway and not on the g...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gabadoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Beautiful hotel - clean, elegant, ultra modern. Totally hidden out of view so you would completely miss it, and in the shadow of the big Bal Harbour One Hotel. However, at a fraction of the price, you get larger rooms and great service.

Minor complaints: We had a one bedroom suite - was huge and fantastic. Spacious, however, strangely enough no real place to hang up your clothes! Small cupboard in the bedroom with short hangers (good for pants/short shirts, but not dresses or suits). There was a cupboard in the front foyer, where they keep ironing board, but no rod!!???? And there is plenty of room to put more cupboard space. Could have used hanging space.

Also no TV in the living room. There is a TV in the bedroom, but with the large living/family room they have, and such a big couch - no TV??

Otherwise worth the stay. Enjoyed it thoroughly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonderear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Dc
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a very clean and quiet place to stay since it is away from all the hustle bustle of South Beach. So it fitted us perfectly.

PROS:
- Huge apartment. It almost felt like we live there, instead of being a hotel
- very friendly front-desk staff (we got a glass of champagne when we arrived)
- nice little garden with pool, very relaxing
- just a relaxing atmosphere, not a "typical" hotel!
- very clean! Probably cleanest place I've ever stayed in the U.S.
- there was tea and coffee provided in the morning ans also little muffins
- very nice kitchen in the room


CONS:
- They spray like a fragrance throughout the hotel, or at least in the hallways and the reception area. The smell was quite pleasant and didn't give me a headache, however, there are people with fragrance sensitivites (and I am one of them). So please think about that when you spray chemicals!

- We were there at Christmas time and they played Country Christmas the whole day til late at night: On the parking lot, in the garden, in the hallways...and it was LOUD! I finally asked the front desk to turn it down since we could hear it in our apartment all the time and it was getting annoying. So yeah, Christmas is nice, but please don't play that music everywhere. If I want to listen to that, I can turn it on myself.

- As some other reviewer wrote already: It is not very soundproof. I think it is because there is very little furniture in the huge rooms and tiles all over, so no carpet in the rooms or the hallway. And that is probably a huge factor for transmitting noises.

Overall very nice hotel though, definitely upscale and boutique. Don't go if you don't like it "zen" and you prefer the cozy little cottage style. That's not what that is!

-

Room Tip: There is a restaurant just opposite at One Hotel which is also very upscale and very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAB81Washington_Dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bal Harbour
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami
0.6 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bal Harbour
3.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
0.7 mi away
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
2.6 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#2 of 8 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,382 reviews
6.0 mi away
Thompson Miami Beach
Thompson Miami Beach
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bal Harbour Quarzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bal Harbour Quarzo

Address: 290 Bal Bay Drive, Bal Harbour, FL 33154
Location: United States > Florida > Bal Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Bal Harbour Quarzo 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Hotel just steps from the Bal Harbour Beach, offers exquisite and over-sized Suites ranging from Junior Suites to One and Two-Bedroom Suite accommodations. Suites are equipped will full kitchens featuring Kitchen-Aid appliances, living/dining room, walk-in closets and dual private balconies. Bathrooms are tastefully appointed with imported granite countertops and modern glass bowl sinks. High-quality bedding linens. Consistency and excellence in guest services is our main priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Bal Harbour Quarzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bal Harbour Quarzo Hotel Bal Harbour
Bal Harbour Quarzo Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing