We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel - hidden out of view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bal Harbour Quarzo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bal Harbour Quarzo to your Saves list
Bal Harbour Quarzo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   290 Bal Bay Drive, Bal Harbour, FL 33154   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel - hidden out of view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Beautiful hotel - clean, elegant, ultra modern. Totally hidden out of view so you would completely miss it, and in the shadow of the big Bal Harbour One Hotel. However, at a fraction of the price, you get larger rooms and great service.

Minor complaints: We had a one bedroom suite - was huge and fantastic. Spacious, however, strangely enough no real place to hang up your clothes! Small cupboard in the bedroom with short hangers (good for pants/short shirts, but not dresses or suits). There was a cupboard in the front foyer, where they keep ironing board, but no rod!!???? And there is plenty of room to put more cupboard space. Could have used hanging space.

Also no TV in the living room. There is a TV in the bedroom, but with the large living/family room they have, and such a big couch - no TV??

Otherwise worth the stay. Enjoyed it thoroughly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonderear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington, Dc
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a very clean and quiet place to stay since it is away from all the hustle bustle of South Beach. So it fitted us perfectly.

PROS:
- Huge apartment. It almost felt like we live there, instead of being a hotel
- very friendly front-desk staff (we got a glass of champagne when we arrived)
- nice little garden with pool, very relaxing
- just a relaxing atmosphere, not a "typical" hotel!
- very clean! Probably cleanest place I've ever stayed in the U.S.
- there was tea and coffee provided in the morning ans also little muffins
- very nice kitchen in the room


CONS:
- They spray like a fragrance throughout the hotel, or at least in the hallways and the reception area. The smell was quite pleasant and didn't give me a headache, however, there are people with fragrance sensitivites (and I am one of them). So please think about that when you spray chemicals!

- We were there at Christmas time and they played Country Christmas the whole day til late at night: On the parking lot, in the garden, in the hallways...and it was LOUD! I finally asked the front desk to turn it down since we could hear it in our apartment all the time and it was getting annoying. So yeah, Christmas is nice, but please don't play that music everywhere. If I want to listen to that, I can turn it on myself.

- As some other reviewer wrote already: It is not very soundproof. I think it is because there is very little furniture in the huge rooms and tiles all over, so no carpet in the rooms or the hallway. And that is probably a huge factor for transmitting noises.

Overall very nice hotel though, definitely upscale and boutique. Don't go if you don't like it "zen" and you prefer the cozy little cottage style. That's not what that is!

-

Room Tip: There is a restaurant just opposite at One Hotel which is also very upscale and very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAB81Washington_Dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJU
Level Contributor
326 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed one night while visiting family near by - be warned DO NOT FOLLOW GPS - you will wind up trying to enter a secured residential area. But you will need a car if you stay here because it is far from everything.
The hotel was expensive, $200 - but it is Miami, but it is beautiful and there are lots of little extras from almonds at the front desk to jelly beans in the room. It smelled lovely and was very clean. The pool area is really interesting with cabanas, etc. and the rooms are huge, with kitchenette etc.,
The best thing about this hotel is the staff - everyone is SUPER friendly and that doesn't happen a lot in Miami Beach. Really we can't say enough about the smiles and service we received. But hard to say the great staff is worth the fact that there is NO soundproofing in the rooms - we were woken at 5:30am by the family (we are assuming it was a family of very large people) showering, packing, rolling suitcase and arguing about how much time they had to get to the airport.... You can hear everything in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights prior to a cruise. Hard to find and looked a bit naff from outside, but inside is a very nice, clean and friendly hotel. The room was large and well kept. This is a very good place to stay, apart from there is no where to eat. The nearest is the hotel across the road. Very good food but not cheap!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Quarzo lacks of a clear identity, after staying with them for 3 nights it is still not entirely clear to me whether it is a vacation rental or an hotel.
It is too expensive for being a vacation rental (about $380 a night), but has not enough services to be considered an hotel.
Besides this, there is a blatant lack of personnel to be considered a luxurious property. Basically any type of manual operation (ie. Housekeeping) may take ages to be completed.

PROS
- Extra big rooms, with a full size kitchen and a living room
- Modern and tasteful décor
- Nice Zen Garden

CONS
- Noisy Air Con (to the point that it is preferred to shut it down and suffer the heat).
- No view from the rooms
- No restaurant or even a place to have breakfast
- Small pool, with no heating and limited sun exposure (freezing)
- Poor TV offer (just 20 channels)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuroAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

All I can say is that I teared up when I first saw the bedroom. The room was so clean that we could eat on the floor if we wanted to. Everything was meticulously organized and beautifully decorated. Wherever you go within the hotel, there is this soft and relaxing music playing and amazing scented candles/mists all around. The beach is just a few steps away and there's all the structure you may need - chairs, towels and even beach toys for the kids. This is by far the best hotel I ever stayed in the Miami area - and I've been to Miami more than 10 times already. The staff was really amazing and pampered us to the highest level. We had our one-year-old with us and there was even a teddy-bear for him when we got in the bedroom. We definitely plan to stay at Quarzo again and - as far as I'm consulted - there won't be any doubt on recommending to all our friends!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafaela1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My girlfriend and I visited this hotel for 11 days fromthe netherlands
I have been to other hotels on miami beach but this hotel stands out for its service,cleanliness and wonderful staff.In one word perfect hotel for a wonderful holiday
Everyone is friendly and willing to help.
Also the rooms are beautiful,clean and spacious
There is also a beautiful garden with modern garden seating in one word we would definitely spend our holday there again when returning to miami/ bal harbour.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank l k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bal Harbour
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Bal Harbour, Miami
0.6 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bal Harbour
3.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
0.7 mi away
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
2.6 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#2 of 8 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,389 reviews
6.0 mi away
Thompson Miami Beach
Thompson Miami Beach
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bal Harbour Quarzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bal Harbour Quarzo

Address: 290 Bal Bay Drive, Bal Harbour, FL 33154
Location: United States > Florida > Bal Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Bal Harbour Quarzo 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Hotel just steps from the Bal Harbour Beach, offers exquisite and over-sized Suites ranging from Junior Suites to One and Two-Bedroom Suite accommodations. Suites are equipped will full kitchens featuring Kitchen-Aid appliances, living/dining room, walk-in closets and dual private balconies. Bathrooms are tastefully appointed with imported granite countertops and modern glass bowl sinks. High-quality bedding linens. Consistency and excellence in guest services is our main priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bal Harbour Quarzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bal Harbour Quarzo Hotel Bal Harbour
Bal Harbour Quarzo Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing