We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncompromising customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bal Harbour Quarzo

Save Saved
You added Bal Harbour Quarzo to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bal Harbour Quarzo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   290 Bal Bay Drive, Bal Harbour, FL 33154   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Bal Harbour
Boston
1 review
“Uncompromising customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Boutique hotels offer a more personalized level of service and this was absolutely the case during my stay. From the cleaning staff to the front desk attendants services was always there with attention to detail and a genuine smile. The location offers the perfect balance of being on the water and close proximity to resturants and shopping. I truly enjoyed the experience and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUARZO H, Manager at Bal Harbour Quarzo, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hello Nestor I L,

We are so happy to hear that your recent stay with us met your expectations.

We enjoyed having you as our guest and would be more than happy to see you again.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    46
    16
    10
    19
See reviews for
69
44
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We had too many problems át the hotel... There was at least one cockroach at the room per day And when we complained the manager told us thas as we were in Florida that was normal.
The cleaning always happened at the afternoon. Although the ladies were nice they were always overloaded. They gave us a room totally different from all te others, the decor and appliance wre old and it wasn't nothing like what they advertise at the website. I really think that the hotel has a lot of potential but they need to improve their management and respect more the clients.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom suit for 5 days. Room is big enough for three. We as a couple stayed in bedroom and a friend stayed in living room.there was a big and fully loaded kitchen in the room.we cooked and did our breakfasts in the room.there is no tv in the living room, there is one in the bedroom but if the tv was in the living room instead of bedroom, it could be more suitable, I think. Also hotel took extra 30$+taxes for the 3rd person per night. The rest was excellent. The room had a ocean view, and sitting in the balcony and drinking nearly in the ocean was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

After checking in we tried to take the elevator to our room but when it opened the entire thing was filled with the maid cart and no person around. Since there was no room left on the elevator we took the stairs up 3 flights. Our room was beautiful but when the air conditioner turned on it sounded like a lawn mower! We did get another room but the front desk knew about the noise and checked us into that room anyway. There wasn't an ice machine anywhere except for the freezer in the lobby. We had to ask about the champagne reception, it was never offered. We had to wait numerous times for our room to be cleaned after long days at the beach even after hanging the please clean sign on the door and even when it seemed to be done the room was never like it was upon check in. After checking out there were missing item charges on our room which were credited after calling but I've stayed in many hotels and have NEVER been accused of stealing! Very disappointed in the service at such a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We have just returned from Bal Harbour Quarzo and had a terrible experience.

On check-in, we were given a disabled room. As we did not need disabled facilities, we asked whether we could change to a non-disabled room, as we wanted a bath. The day manager responded with a simple "No". Staff did not seem interested in helping, or even offer an explanation. This became a common theme. While annoyed, we accepted the room, which, to be fair, was well appointed, modern and clean although looked over a car park and the underneath of a hectic traffic bridge.

On our final night, we went out for dinner returning around midnight. We used the toilet before going to bed; however, the toilet blocked and would not flush. We informed the night manager on reception that the toilet was blocked and we needed someone to fix it. He told us that the maintenance manager was not on duty and we would have to wait until morning. We explained that waste was floating in the toilet and that it a) smelt and b) was unusable. He said we could take it up with the day manager the next day. We said that it was unacceptable and we wanted another room. He said there were no available Junior King rooms. Therefore, we asked whether there were any other rooms in the hotel. He advised that there was a suite, but it was an upgrade. We asked for that room, which, after some argument, he begrudgingly gave us. We then asked whether we could leave our bags in the other room until the morning rather than packing, as we were checking out that day. However, he told us that we had to move our bags if we wanted the other room. So, at 12:45am, we were forced to pack our bags and move them to the new room.

After a “wonderful” night, we packed our bags to check out. On arriving at reception, the day manager seemed amused by our problems the previous night. She also asked for $24 for a "resort fee" (resort appears exaggerated), which we were never told of. I remarked that was just another nail in the coffin - She simply laughed.

Overall, the rooms are okay (not great), but you would expect this from a hotel that holds itself out as a luxury boutique hotel. However, it is located under a noisy bridge and hardly Zen like. The staff are not helpful and have an amazing ability to say sorry but really tell you to go away. The hotel is not close to anything, despite their comments to the contrary. Surfside is at least a 10 minute walk away (so hope it is not raining) and South Beach and Miami are approximately $20+ in a cab. It is hard to find and you will find most cabs will not know where it is – we did not find one.

I will not be staying there ever again!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I stayed at The Quarzo in the beginning of May for one week family retreat. All I can say is WOW, from the clean modern lines of the decor, to the warm and friendly front desk staff, all the way to the ultra luxury one-bedroom suite I had reserved, it truly felt like home. The Housekeeping department is devoted to cleanliness every single day and it shows, we even met the hotel´s General Manager Fernando, in a very professional and welcoming manner he proceeded to interact with us, something rare in todays nice Hotels. The beach and its service was marvelous and also pampering, the rooms are more beautiful than the photos can show, cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Really nice modern hotel. rooms very spacious Location a little far out. Taxi ride to South beach about 15 or 20 mins or local bus was only $2 each but took a little longer. Bal Harbour is a beautiful area. Very nice shops and restaurants close by. Staff in hotel were very friendly and extremely helpful. The gardens at the hotel were beautiful with plenty of sun loungers and chill out beds

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bal Harbour Quarzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bal Harbour Quarzo

Address: 290 Bal Bay Drive, Bal Harbour, FL 33154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Bal Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Bal Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bal Harbour Quarzo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Hotel just steps from the Bal Harbour Beach, offers exquisite and over-sized Suites ranging from Junior Suites to One and Two-Bedroom Suite accommodations. Suites are equipped will full kitchens featuring Kitchen-Aid appliances, living/dining room, walk-in closets and dual private balconies. Bathrooms are tastefully appointed with imported granite countertops and modern glass bowl sinks. High-quality bedding linens. Consistency and excellence in guest services is our main priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Bal Harbour Quarzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bal Harbour Quarzo Hotel Bal Harbour
Bal Harbour Quarzo Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bal Harbour Quarzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;