We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoiled Weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort

Save Saved
You added The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9703 Collins Avenue, Bal Harbour, FL 33154   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spoiled Weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My friend was visiting out of town, so imagine my excitement when he told me I to stay at his hotel for the weekend, and that it would be at the St. Regis. I was in the midst of moving to another state and it seemed like the perfect way to end my love affair with Miami. Boy was I wrong!!
What I though would be a wonderful weekend got spoiled by the careless, abrasive and unknowledgeable attitude of one waitress at the pool area. What should have been a weekend of relaxation by the pool, turned into on huge complaining session due to Finalis( ?)
She was inattentive, rude when asked for anything, flustered the entire time ( clearly overwhelmed), didn't know the menu when we asked questions and worse of all absent.
My friend or I had to keep getting up from our chairs and get our own drinks at the bar several times. The drinks were delicious and the helpful barkeepers also suggested food to get, which was delicious, and definitely helped what seemed to be hopeless service situation.
We opted to spend the second day on the beach, where we found other welcoming and friendly service by Ashley and Phillip, with the luxury feel that we were wanting from the beginning. They were accommodating, gracious and always attentive. The managers were also very nice and professional, which is why we hesitated to complain about the terrible service, now realizing that I did a disservice to the future guest.
The rooms where clean and beautiful; J and G Grill was delicious, the service was spot on; the property is gorgeous and the rest of the staff was amazing, but this experience was my proof that One Bad Apple Spoils the Bunch!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalHarbourManager, Manager at The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Miriam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am very sorry your experience was not to the service levels we pride ourselves on here at The St. Regis Bal Harbour. I sincerely apologize for this, and I would like the opportunity to learn more about the situation. Could you kindly email your contact details to Dant.Hirsch@stregis.com? I look forward to speaking with you.

Sincerely,

Dant Hirsch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    96
    34
    18
    10
See reviews for
173
275
17
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The rooms are all very nice with a beautiful terrace and a very nice ocean view. The interior of the room is very nicely done and all the lighting, curtains is controlled electronically. Beds are very comfortable and service is impeccable when it comes to the valet, beach, and restaurants. However room service for breakfast was poor as everyday the order came with something missing or wrong.
The beach was unfortunately not clean and it is a pity that the staff does not spend time to clean it. The beach was not at the level of the property , especially when considering the prices ..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalHarbourManager, Manager at The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear David J,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry to hear you encountered repeated issues with your Private Dining orders. I will be sure to follow up with these teams on this. We appreciate all the feedback we receive, as it helps proactively address issues in the future, so thank you for sharing this with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Miami's best address.

Sincerely,

Dant Hirsch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

From the cleanliness to the exceptional service, The St Regis Bal Harbour is one of the finest. The rooms were spotless and the beds were comfortable. The pools are beautiful and the chairs are really comfortable. A true five star hotel with five star service. We were here in the summer so the hotel was not to busy. Anything we asked for , the answer was "absolutely". Price is pretty expensive but I would still highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalHarbourManager, Manager at The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Luv_totravel121,

Thank you for sharing the kind review of your recent stay. I am happy to hear we exceeded your expectations with a "perfect stay", and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dant Hirsch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed for a week over New Years. The hotel is new, having been built in the past few years. We were in a regular room (no upgrade) and it was spacious with a beautiful view of the ocean. It looks like they've designed the place so that all of the rooms have ocean views. Most important was that the bed and pillows were very comfortable, the room was quiet, and the blackout shades kept the room extremely dark when closed. The room also had a lot of nice small amenities including plenty of power outlets, large bath and shower, spacious closets, good sized fridge, large balcony with comfortable loungers and table. All very nice for a basic room.

The hotel has four pools. Two are reserved for condo owners, one is a family pool and one is adults only. We were staying without our daughter and so spent most of our time at the adult pool. Great to see that they enfored the adult-only rules since the family pool was very crowded with kids (our daughter would have loved it).

Servive was great. Everyone was attentive and knew us by name. Really nice staff.

My wife went for a massage at the spa and gave it top marks.

J&G restaurant was very good. The other restaurants (e.g. Fresca at the pool) were so-so. Definitely try the desserts at J&G.

We took one of the house cars to dinner one night and were pleasantly surprised when it pulled up and were realized that it was a Bentley (only in Miami!). Really nice ride.

The only potential negative is that the location is far from South Beath. It's great if you're looking for some quiet relaxation time but not ideal if you plan to spend a lot of time in SOBE.

We loved it and would definitely return.

Room Tip: I think they're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalHarbourManager, Manager at The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Alex F,

Thank you for taking the time to share details of your recent experience with us. We are happy to hear you had a great stay, and that our service and amenities made your stay memorable. We look forward to your next visit to Miami and Bal Harbour.

Sincerely,

Dant Hirsch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

It's a mega-splurge that felt on par with what a week in Europe would cost, but nonetheless, we absolutely loved our stay at the St. Regis during the week between Christmas and New Year's and will absolutely stay there when we head back to the Miami-area.

It's about a 45 minute drive to the most southern restaurants in South Beach (about 20 minutes to "The Dutch" at the W; about 15 minutes to "Cicconi's" at Soho House; and literally a one-minute walk to Bal Harbour Mall).

The resort itself is designed with a contemporary glam beach vibe with gorgeous etched mirrors covering the walls, marble floors and a state-of-the-art security system where you're required to scan your key card before you can take the elevator to any of the guest floors.

The Accommodations: We've been lucky enough to have stayed in A+ rooms and suites before, but the St. Regis Bal Harbour gets an A++ from us. These were absolutely the nicest, most well-appointed rooms we've ever stayed in. Period. They are all brand new (contemporary glam décor) with smart panels controlling all lights/drapery, etc. The closets are enormous and all suites and rooms seem to have the same type of covered loggia patio set up with double safety lock devices for the kids (deep patios with room for regular lounge chairs). Our suite 905 was ocean front with a gorgeous dining room, great room set up with a small kitchenette. There was an additional semi-private sitting room with a fold-out couch that was perfect for our 4-year-old son (this room had its own bathroom). The master suite had an additional smaller terrace and the largest resort-suite closet I've ever seen --- absolutely gorgeous mirrored doors with tons of functional closet space. The en suite master bath was enormous with double rain shower head, deep soaking tub and separate WC. All marble. Due to the weather in NYC, we had to extend our stay by one night and needed to transfer into a regular room due to capacity --- we ended up in what was supposedly the lowest level room in the place: Room 1509 with ocean front views, similar marble bathroom set up, beautiful closets and a sleeping area that was just as comfortable as the suite. Also, a wet bar. These rooms were just out of this world and the linens were absolutely top notch. We've never slept better.

The Service: A++. You could want for nothing at St. Regis. You're paying top price, and they deliver with top service.

The Beach: Sometimes a soft sandy beach in Miami is hard to come by at a resort, but the beach at St. Regis is pretty deep and very well cared for. They have complimentary loungers and 'clam loungers' with canopies for $50/day. Extremely good beach service with cocktails and beach bar food menu. Excellent.

The Pools: We spent most of our time at the family pool, which is wonderful. This pool doesn't have a gradual entry, but other than that, it's great. We were never in a hurry to save loungers in the mornings, even though the property was 100% sold out during our stay.

The Cabanas: The cabanas (aka "Villas") were $850/day and come with an unnecessary magnum of Veuve and complimentary fruit/sodas/water and a butler. These cabanas have a large flat screen TV, daybed, marble shower, marble WC, a patio dining table that seats 6 and two loungers. All of the staff that helped make our Cabana days great were exceptional. One stand-out would be Jefferson; he went above and beyond to make every penny we spent totally worth it. The cabanas are are a huge splurge and not necessary, but we found the cabanas particularly great on the rainy days and the super sunny days…allowed us to hang outside longer. Also, no one seemed to notice or be bothered by the fact that we had non-hotel guests in our cabanas on three different days. We were discreet about it and our guests/kids were all very well behaved, but it didn't seem to be an issue.

The Spa: Expensive but fabulous. My husband claims he had the best massage of his life by "Claudia." My mani-pedi was great.

The Turtle Club: This is the Kids Club. The actually "club" is a pretty small room with several games/puzzles and computers, but there's no rec center that is for families. They do a very nice job hosting camp activities and providing things for the kids to do. Daily, there were activities like sand art, hat decorating and cookie decorating (each for $10/child). It's adequate but not abundant ---- the St. Regis is meant to be an adult five star resort with stuff to do for kids; it's definitely not a kids resort.

We loved our daily happy hours in the lounge bar. The childrens menus were more than adequate and the service was incredible. We ate three dinners in the lounge; live music and our 4-year-old was very happy/comfortable here.

St. Regis vs. Aqualina: The bottom line for me is if you're looking for a five-star resort that is family friendly in the Miami area (and are willing to really splurge), the St. Regis Bal Harbour actually beats the Aqualina and any other resort you're considering in the Miami/South Beach area. Aqualina service, rooms and facilities are incredible; the Aqualina staff are extraordinary. However, 'access' to the facilities are more abundant at the St. Regis vs. Aqualina. The residents and hotel guests of Aqualina have to share facilities; and this is not the case at the St. Regis (each of the two St. Regis residence towers has their own gym and pool). The only separation Aqualina residents will have from hotel guests is if the residents live in the now-under-construction "Mansions;" otherwise, the many 'non-Mansion tower' residents at Aqualina will continue to fight over cabanas, lounge chairs and fitness facilities with the hotel guests and that became a big awkward problem for us at our last stay there, considering how expensive it is.

I absolutely feel St. Regis Bal Harbor is the #1 choice in the Miami area; no contest and we'll absolutely stay there again. However, even though our stay at the St. Regis was fabulous and we love the Miami scene (and being amongst friends who also vacation in the area), I think if we decide to head down to South Florida again with our four-year-old, we'll probably opt for The Breakers in West Palm Beach. Even though it's a much sleepier town, we feel for the same price point, they offer the most stimulating and best-run children's programs making it slightly easier for kids/parents while still giving the parents a real grown-up resort-like vacation.

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room in the place. Suite 905 was an A++. And Room 1509 (for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalHarbourManager, Manager at The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear RLA,

Thank you for your incredibly detailed review of your recent family vacation with us. I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay, and most importantly that you felt our service was A+. We take great pride in our guest service, and I will be sure to share this review with our entire team. We do hope you'll visit us again on your next trip to South Florida.

Sincerely,

Dant Hirsch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

First of all the Hotel which has to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The whole experience from start to finish was amazing. Any Europeans have a long journey to arrive here but you are welcomed so warmly and without hassle it removes all your tiredness from the journey. The rooms are extremely large and well appointed with the usual St Regis glitz and technology. An excellent choice of food at breakfast with attentive staff who cater for all diets and whims. Dinner at the J&G Restaurant was also excellent. The beach staff are amazing. They too look after you superbly, remembering your name, bringing you fruit and water during the day with nothing too much trouble. I had two spa treatments, a pedicure and a wrap both of which were excellent. The facilities in the spa are also of an extremely high standard and well laid out. On the beach side of the Hotel is a walking trail for about a mile which is used by many of the local residents in the morning, thats if you don't fancy the Hotel's gym(s), they have two, one for cardio and one for weights - amazing!
General info.
The Hotel itself is in an upmarket area of Miami about 15 minutes drive away from South Beach and Ocean Drive. The hotel organised a transfer from Miami Airport for us for $150. We took a taxi back to the airport from the Hotel and this cost $50. Across the road are all the top end designer boutiques with Saks and Nieman Marcus department stores. Also in this complex are two excellent restaurants as an alternative to that offered by the Hotel. One is French and the other Italian. Both are extremely busy and so it is advisable to ask the Hotel concierge to book them. There are also a couple of coffee shops on the first floor. Shopping is excellent at the Aventura Mall, about 15 minutes away, and if the Hotel Bentley is available the lovely chauffeur, I think his name is Lewis, will take you there - I kid you not! Unfortunately, he does not collect you! If you want an outlet mall, go to Sawgrass Mills. An express bus picks you up on the main road outside the hotel but it takes about an hour depending on the traffic. This place is massive - wear comfy shoes! Again the lovely concierge staff will book this for you.
Ladies - if you are intending to stay here, leave the Primark and H&M at home and bring Prada and D&G - or get your husband to buy it for you when you are there - this hotel is glitzy beyond belief in such a lovely way and so are the guests without even trying too hard. Gentlemen - just bring your credit cards because heaven on earth is expensive! Can't wait to return - with a whole new wardrobe!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalHarbourManager, Manager at The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear JerseyMrsC,

Thank you for the very kind and detailed review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you got to truly experience all of the amenities at the resort, including our wonderful spa, and that our staff made your stay extra special. I will be sure to share this feedback with our staff, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dant Hirsch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The St. Regis is an experience to behold. The hotel is brand new and ultra modern. I definitely appreciate the grandeur and modern style, but it lacks any warm at all. There is no where to really just lounge and enjoy the property. The rooms however, are the best I have ever experienced and I stay at 5 star resorts for work a half dozen times a year. Every single thing was thought of, right down to the mechanical draperies the glide back with the touch of your hand. The pools are wonderful and the pool staff was outstanding. We would definitely return for a short stay. The spa is the best I have every experienced. Worth the money.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room as they all face the ocean and have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalHarbourManager, Manager at The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear DonnaVB,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and that our service and design/decor impressed. We look forward to your next visit to Bal Harbour.

Sincerely,

Dant Hirsch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort

Address: 9703 Collins Avenue, Bal Harbour, FL 33154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Bal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bal Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an exclusive enclave in Bal Harbour with luxury oceanfront accommodations, quiet unwavering taste, anticipatory service and seductive amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Hotel Bal Harbour
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.